Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Miles Davis

Jazz Rock/Fusion

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Miles Davis The Complete On the Corner Sessions album cover
4.73 | 16 ratings | 2 reviews | 69% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2007

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD 1
1. On The Corner (unedited master) 19:25
2. On The Corner (take 4) 5:15
3. One And One (unedited master) 17:55
4. Helen Butte/Mr. Freedom X (unedited master) 23:19
*5. Jabali 11:04*

CD 2
1. Ife 21:33
2. Chieftain 14:37*
3. Rated X 6:50
4. Turnaround 17:16*
5. U-Turnaround 8:27*

CD 3
1. Billy Preston 12:33
2. The Hen 12:55*
3. Big Fun/Holly-wuud (take 2) 6:32*
4. Big Fun/Holly-wuud (take 3) 7:07*
5. Peace 7:01*
6. Mr. Foster 15:14*

CD 4
1. Calypso Frelimo 32:04
2. He Loved Him Madly 32:13

CD 5
1. Maiysha 14:51
2. Mtume 15:08
3. Mtume (take 11) 6:51*
4. Hip-Skip 18:59*
5. What They Do 11:44*
6. Minnie 3:53*

CD 6
1. Red China Blues 4:06?
2. On The Corner/New York Girl/Thinkin' Of One Thing And Doin' Another/Vote For Miles 19:54
3. Black Satin 5:15
4. One And One 6:09
5. Helen Butte/Mr. Freedom X 23:14
6. Big Fun 2:32
7. Holly-wuud 2:54

Total time: 6:47:13

*Previously unissued

Line-up / Musicians


* Miles Davis - organ
* Cedric Lawson - electric piano
* Reggie Lucas - electric guitar
* Khalil Balakrishna - electric sitar
* Michael Henderson - bass guitar
* Al Foster - drums
* James Mtume Foreman - percussion
* Badal Roy - tabla
* Sonny Fortune - flute
* Carlos Garnett - soprano saxophone


* Miles Davis - trumpet, electric piano, organ
* Dave Liebman - flute
* John Stubblefield - soprano saxophone
* Pete Cosey - electric guitar
* Reggie Lucas - electric guitar
* Michael Henderson - bass guitar
* Al Foster - drums
* James Mtume Foreman - percussion


* Miles Davis - trumpet, organ
* Dave Liebman - soprano saxophone, flute
* Sonny Fortune - flute
* Pete Cosey - electric guitar
* Reggie Lucas - electric guitar
* Dominique Gaumont - electric guitar
* Michael Henderson - bass guitar
* Al Foster - drums
* James Mtume Foreman - percussion

Releases information

Label: Columbia
Producer: Teo Macero

Recorded: Columbia Studio E (& B)(NYC) June 1972- May1975; March 9, 1972; June 1, 1972; June 6, 1972; June 12, 1972; August 23, 1972; September 6, 1972; December 8, 1972; January 4, 1973; July 26, 1973; September 17, 1973; September 18, 1973; June 19, 1974; October 7, 1974; November 6, 1974; May 5, 1975

Thanks to rocktopus for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy MILES DAVIS The Complete On the Corner Sessions Music

More places to buy MILES DAVIS music online

MILES DAVIS The Complete On the Corner Sessions ratings distribution

(16 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(69%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(12%)
Good, but non-essential (6%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (12%)

MILES DAVIS The Complete On the Corner Sessions reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Neu!mann
5 stars Now the truth can finally be told: Miles Davis was actually German.

Okay, maybe not. But any fan of early '70s Krautrock will hear a definite connection between these 'On the Corner' sessions and the ethno-kosmiche improvisations of CAN, circa 'Tago Mago' and 'Ege Bamyasi'. Both share the same rhythmic drive and relentless 'shamanic funk' (borrowing a phrase from the always quotable Julian Cope), here filtered through what might be described as a more streetwise American perspective, and with all the history of Davis' long, groundbreaking career behind it.

The music here comprises the bulk of material heard on the albums 'On the Corner' (included in its entirety), 'Get Up With It', and 'Big Fun'. But a large part of these six total CDs has never been released, although certain themes will be familiar to fans of Davis' concert repertoire from the time. The entire set can almost be considered the studio equivalent of the same uncompromising musical grooves heard on 'Agharta', 'Pangaea', and 'Dark Magus', his trilogy (likewise six discs altogether) of ferocious live albums from the mid-1970s.

How ahead of its time was the 1972 'On the Corner' album? After more than thirty years (at this writing) its influence is only beginning to be appreciated. And hearing the unedited tapes, in more or less chronological order, is nothing less than a revelation. These raw sessions put the achievement of the finished 'On the Corner' in a more positive light, not only illuminating an often maligned and misunderstood album, but also clarifying Davis' entire career trajectory post-'Bitches Brew'.

But did he really imagine this music would have the same commercial appeal as James Brown or Sly Stone? The completed 'On the Corner' was as far away from the Pop and Rock mainstream as the classical avant-garde experiments of Karlheinz Stockhausen, the album's other obvious influence (and another German, please take note). The music here is obviously no longer Jazz, but neither is it Rock, or Jazz-Rock, or any other kind of Fusion: Davis was inventing genres, not combining them.

Over the course of six full discs, and nearly seven total hours of music, you can expect to hear a few meandering improvisations (on Disc Five in particular). But let's face it: listening to Miles Davis jamming is always a privilege, no matter how unstructured the performances might be. This box set will demand a major investment of your time, attention and money. But nobody claiming to be a fan of electric Miles can afford to be without it.

Latest members reviews

5 stars Complete on the Corner Sessions is a fantastic compilation of all Miles Davis session recorded between 1972 and 1975. Part of this music was originally released on albums like On The Corner, Big Fun and Get Up With It but most of the material on this compilation is completely new. All the session ... (read more)

Report this review (#264763) | Posted by cataclysta | Sunday, February 7, 2010 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of MILES DAVIS "The Complete On the Corner Sessions"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.