Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Miles Davis

Jazz Rock/Fusion

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Miles Davis Miles Davis Quintet: The Complete Studio Recordings, 1965-'68 album cover
4.97 | 10 ratings | 1 reviews | 90% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1999

Songs / Tracks Listing

Disc 1
1. E.S.P. (5:33)
2. R.J. (3:59)
3. Eighty-One (6:17)
4. Little One (7:23)
5. Iris (8:33)
6. Agitation (7:51)
7. Mood (8:52)
8. Circle (5:54)
9. Orbits (4:38)
10. Dolores (6:23)
11. Freedom Jazz Dance (7:12)

Disc 2
1. Gingerbread Boy (7:48)
2. Footprints (9:48)
3. Limbo (5:28)
4. Limbo (7:19)
5. Vonetta (5:38)
6. Masqualero (7:05)
7. Masqualero (8:53)
8. The Sorcerer (5:11)
9. Prince Of Darkness (6:27)
10. Pee Wee (4:48)
11. Water Babies (5:08)

Disc 3
1. Nefertiti (7:55)
2. Capricorn (8:32)
3. Madness (1:56)
4. Hand Jive (6:51)
5. Hand Jive (8:17)
6. Hand Jive (8:57)
7. Madness (6:45)
8. Madness (7:33)
9. Sweet Pea (8:03)
10. Fall (6:38)
11. Pinocchio (5:08)

Disc 4
1. Pinocchio (5:09)
2. Riot (3:05)
3. Thisness (5:51)
4. Circle In The Round (33:35)
5. Water On The Pond (7:10)
6. Fun (4:09)
7. Teo's Bag (5:58)
8. Teo's Bag (5:54)

Disc 5
1. Paraphernalia (12:39)
2. I Have A Dream (6:44)
3. Speak Like A Child (2:28)
4. Sanctuary (8:52)
5. Side Car I (5:05)
6. Side Car II (3:35)
7. Country Son (13:52)
8. Country Son (14:42)
9. Black Comedy (6:24)

Disc 6
1. Black Comedy (7:27)
2. Stuff (17:00)
3. Petits Machins (Little Stuff) (8:07)
4. Tout de Suite (14:40)
5. Tout de Suite (14:06)
6. Filles de Kilimanjaro (12:01)

Line-up / Musicians

- Miles Davis / Trumpet
- Wayne Shorter / Saxophone
- Herbie Hancock / Piano
- Ron Carter / Bass
- Tony Williams / Drums

Releases information

CD Columbia/Legacy 67398

Thanks to DocB for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy MILES DAVIS Miles Davis Quintet: The Complete Studio Recordings, 1965-'68 Music

More places to buy MILES DAVIS music online

MILES DAVIS Miles Davis Quintet: The Complete Studio Recordings, 1965-'68 ratings distribution

(10 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(90%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(10%)
Good, but non-essential (0%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

MILES DAVIS Miles Davis Quintet: The Complete Studio Recordings, 1965-'68 reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Neu!mann
5 stars The best way to trace the astonishing evolution of Miles Davis from cool jazz artiste to avant-rock agitator is to travel back in time to before the epiphany of 'Bitches Brew', and explore his jazz roots. And the best method for jump-starting that epic journey is with this comprehensive boxed set, which collects every studio session of the trumpeter's legendary Second Great Quintet (Davis, Wayne Shorter, Herbie Hancock, Ron Carter, and Tony Williams) and arranges them in chronological order over six full compact discs.

The complete set includes five studio albums, from 'ESP' through 'Miles in the Sky', plus unreleased songs and alternate takes, as well as material from the same era first heard years later in the arbitrary anthologies of 'Water Babies' (1976) and 'Directions' (1981), here placed in proper context. Altogether it adds up to a whopping fifty-six total tracks and 440 minutes of peerless jazz performance: a vast amount of music to digest in a single sitting, but an essential slice of musical history in the making.

However it isn't until the midpoint of Disc Four that the first hints of true Fusion occur, in the gently epic 33-minute 'Circle in the Round' (a full seven minutes longer than the version released over a decade later on the compilation album of the same name). Joe Beck's electric guitar was only a tentative addition to the quintet, but its effect here, after more than three hours of straight acoustic jazz, is almost startling.

Traditional jazz purists will of course hear this as the Beginning of the End. And doctrinaire Prog Rock fans may find themselves well out of their comfort zone, always a good place for any true Proghead to be. Davis was still a long way from the revelation of 'Bitches Brew', and even further from the thermonuclear street funk of 'On the Corner'. By the end of this massive collection the music isn't discernibly different than it was at the start, and yet a threshold has been well and truly crossed.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of MILES DAVIS "Miles Davis Quintet: The Complete Studio Recordings, 1965-'68"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.