Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Herbie Hancock

Jazz Rock/Fusion

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Herbie Hancock Gershwin's World album cover
3.84 | 25 ratings | 1 reviews | 16% 5 stars

Excellent addition to any
prog rock music collection

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 1998

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Overture (Fascinating Rhythm) (0:54)
2. It Ain't Necessarily So (4:46)
3. The Man I Love (5:57)
4. Here Come De Honey Man (3:59)
5. St. Louis Blues (5:50)
6. Lullaby (11:03)
7. Blueberry Rhyme (3:31)
8. It Ain't Necessarily So (Interlude) (1:24)
9. Cotton Tail (4:44)
10. Summertime (4:38)
11. My Man's Gone Now (1:55)
12. Prelude in C# Minor (4:45)
13. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in G, 2nd Movement (9:12)
14. Embraceable You (4:38)

Total Time 66:38

Line-up / Musicians

- Herbie Hancock / piano, arrangements

- Joni Mitchell / vocals (3,10)
- Stevie Wonder / vocals & arrangements (5), harmonica (5,10)
- Kathleen Battle / soprano vocals (12)
- Chick Corea / piano (7)
- Eddie Henderson / trumpet (2)
- Kenny Garrett / alto saxophone (2,4,8)
- James Carter / tenor (2) & soprano (4) saxophones
- Wayne Shorter / tenor saxophone (3,9,10)
- Marlon Graves / guitar (4), percussion (11)
- Charles Curtis / cello (12)
- The Orpheus Chamber Orchestra / 16 violins, 6 violas, 3 cellos, 2 basses, English horn, 2 bassoons, oboe, 2 horns, flute & 2 clarinets (6,13)
- Martha Caplin / concertmaster (6,13)
- Ira Coleman / bass (2,3,8-10,12)
- Alex Al / bass (5)
- Bakithi Kumalo / bass (11), guitar (12)
- Terri Lyne Carrington / drums (2,3,5,9)
- Madou Dembelle / djembe (1,2)
- Bireyma Guiye / percussion (1)
- Cheik Mbaye / percussion (1)
- Cyro Baptista / percussion (1,4,8,11,12)
- Massamba Diop / talking drum (1,2)
- Robert Sadin / percussion programming (4,11), arrangements & producer

Releases information

Songs of George and Ira Gershwin

Artwork: Istvan Banyai with James Minchin (photo)

CD Verve Records ‎- 314 557 797-2 (1998, US)

Thanks to clarke2001 for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy HERBIE HANCOCK Gershwin's World Music

HERBIE HANCOCK Gershwin's World ratings distribution

(25 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(16%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(52%)
Good, but non-essential (24%)
Collectors/fans only (4%)
Poor. Only for completionists (4%)

HERBIE HANCOCK Gershwin's World reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by snobb
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
4 stars From mid-70-s through 80-s till second part of 90-s Herbie Hancock recorded just a few strong albums. He changed his musical direction from funk-jazz to funk-disco to r'n'b and soul based pop-jazz to hip hop and techno during this time, with rare albums in more classic be- bop, post-bop or jazz fusion style. It looks that starting from late 90-s he returned back to his roots ( in part at least), and you can find more interesting works here. Even if less innovative, it is often much more listenable music. Gershwin's World is more or less what you expect from album name. But based on very classic jazz tunes, musicianship is enough modern and almost always interesting. No big band sound or be-bop retro replicas. It isn't avantgarde jazz for sure, but very tasteful post-bop and contemporary jazz. Near some Hancock old mates ( Eddie Henderson, Chick Corea, Wayne Shorter), most surprising guest is Jony Mitchell, singing two songs ( incl. Summertime). Her voice there shows how far she is from her folksy beginning of singer's career. Steve Wonder adds harmonica on few more songs. Orpheus Chamber Orchestra teamed with Hancock on Maurice Ravel composition. The music varies from post-bop through almost symphonic compositions with slight jazzy arrangements to contemporary jazz songs. For sure, this music is far away from Hancock experiments of early career time, but it is more mature demonstration what he reached during these decades. Not too attractive album for innovative fusion fans, it is a great classic album for more conservative jazz lovers.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of HERBIE HANCOCK "Gershwin's World"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.