Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Golden Earring

Prog Related

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Golden Earring The Continuing Story of Radar Love album cover
4.00 | 10 ratings | 2 reviews | 20% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1989

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Radar Love (6:22)
2. The Vanilla Queen (9:15)
3. Candy's Going Bad (6:12)
4. She Flies On Strange Wings (7:22)
5. Ce Soir (6:16)
6. Mad Love's Coming (7:45)
7. Leather (5:00)
8. Clear Night Moonlight (3:33)
9. Lost And Found (3:55)
10. The Devil Made Me Do It (3:20)
11. Quiet Eyes (4:12)
12. Twilight Zone (7:55)

Total Time 71:07

Line-up / Musicians

- Barry Hay / vocals
- George Kooymans / guitars
- Rinus Gerritsen / bass
- Cesar Zuiderwijk / drums

Releases information

MCA Records

Thanks to progrules for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy GOLDEN EARRING The Continuing Story of Radar Love Music

More places to buy GOLDEN EARRING music online

GOLDEN EARRING The Continuing Story of Radar Love ratings distribution

(10 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of rock music(20%)
Excellent addition to any rock music collection(70%)
Good, but non-essential (0%)
Collectors/fans only (10%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

GOLDEN EARRING The Continuing Story of Radar Love reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by progrules
4 stars Quite a nice compilation this one by Hollands most famous rock band ever, Golden Earring. And no doubt their most progressive one as well. Because I believe Golden Earring is most of all a classic rock band with only slight progressive elements. Doesn't matter, they are here now and it gives me the opportunity to give my opinion about them. I will give a song by song review with short description.

1. Radar Love. Probably the most famous dutch rock song ever. What can you say, No.1 in the USA in 1973, the pride of Holland. But it also tells you we are dealing with pop (rock) music, this is not progressive at all in my opinion. Good song though, pity I heard it way too often by now. 3,5*

2. Vanilla Queen. This could be the song that got them over the line for inclusion on our site, if not at least a good example why they are here. And also a great song, one I didn't even know so well until lately. 4*.

3. Candy's going bad. Another one with progressive elements but not as much as previous track. And, coincidence or not, not as good either. 3,5*.

4. She flies on strange Wings. One of my all time favourites by this band. A real classic, a saw it on a live video once and I noticed the crowd was a bit bemused by the song probably because 80% of their fans are rock fans and this song is really progressive. Tremendous instrumental part in the middle. 4,25*.

5. Ce Soir. One of the lesser songs of this compilation. A common pop song actually, not impressive. 3*.

6. Mad love's comin'. Now we're back on (prog)track again. And again one of the better tracks. 3,75*.

7. Leather. This one is slightly progressive and worthwhile listening to. 3,5*

8/11. I will not do these one by one because they are all in the (classic) rock style and therefore not very interesting to talk about on PA. On average they are 3,25*. So not bad, not great either.

12. Twilight Zone. Another very famous one by the Earring (as we call them over here). Also went to the top in the States and slightly more a personal fav than Radar Love. Another one with a great instrumental break in the middle. 3,75*.

In my descriptions I was emphasizing quite strongly on progressiveness and I did that deliberately because after this summing up it appears that exactly half of the songs are more or less progressive. And that's important since we are a progressive site and I presume most of our readers are interested in the grade of progressiveness of a song when we are talking about a 50-50 band like Golden Earring. I come to almost exactly 3,5 on average with this one and once again I will have to let the gut feeling decide for the 3 or 4 stars. I'm not a big fan of this band but I have the greatest respect for them and so I should because they deserve it. Let's not forget: they achieve almost the same thing as the Stones. Ok, they are around since '62 and Earring 5 years shorter, but they have been around all the time (hardly any breaks or split ups or even change in line-up) and that deserves huge respect. It's a pity two of my favourite songs by them (Back Home and the superb Julie Driscoll/Bob Dylan cover This Wheel's on fire) are not on this compilation but all the other great ones are, so 4 stars for this. But beware, this is only prog RELATED.

Latest members reviews

4 stars If you need to start and maybe finish your Golden earring representation in your music collection this is probably the best start. First you get all the well known material and in full versions e.g. no single edit of Twilight Zone here. Earring are not a prog rock band in the vein of classical ... (read more)

Report this review (#1526769) | Posted by uduwudu | Monday, February 8, 2016 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of GOLDEN EARRING "The Continuing Story of Radar Love"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.