Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


The Who


From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

The Who Maximum R&B Live album cover
3.48 | 14 ratings | 1 reviews | 57% 5 stars

Write a review

Buy THE WHO Music
from partners
DVD/Video, released in 2009

Songs / Tracks Listing

Disc 1
1. Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere (Richmond Blues & Jazz Festival, 1965)
2. So Sad About Us (Marquee Club, 1967)
3. A Quick One, While He's Away (Monterey Pop Festival, 1967)
4. Happy Jack (London Coliseum, 1969)
5. Can't Explain * (London Coliseum, 1969)
6. Young Man Blues (Isle of Wight Festival, 1970)
7. I Don't Even Know Myself (Isle of Wight Festival, 1970)
8. My Generation (Amsterdam, Holland, 1972)
9. Substitute (Charlton Football Club, 1974)
10. Drowned (Charlton Football Club, 1974)
11. Bell Boy (Charlton Football Club, 1974)
12. My Generation Blues (Charlton Football Club, 1974)
13. Dreaming From The Waist (Cleveland, 1975)
14. Baba O'Reilly * (Kilburn, 1977)
15. Sister Disco (Shepperton Studios, 1979)
16. Who Are You (Shepperton Studios, 1979)
17. 5.15 (International Ampitheatre, Chicago, 1979)
18. My Wife (International Ampitheatre, Chicago, 1979)
19. Music Must Change (International Ampitheatre, Chicago, 1979)
20. Pinball Wizard (International Ampitheatre, Chicago, 1979)
21. Behind Blue Eyes (Concert for Kampuchea 1979)
22. Love Reign O'er Me (Shea Stadium, 1982)
23. Won't Get Fooled Again * (Shea Stadium, 1982)
24. Boris The Spider (Giants Stadium, 1989)
25. I Can See For Miles (Giants Stadium, 1989)
26. See Me, Feel Me (Giants Stadium, 1989)

+ Interviews

Disc 2
Full Concert - Germany 28th March 1981
1. Intro *
2. Substitute *
3. I Can't Explain *
4. Baba O'Riley *
5. The Quiet One *
6. Don't Let Go The Coat *
7. Sister Disco *
8. You Better You Bet *
9. Drowned *
10. Behind Blue Eyes *
11. Another Tricky Day *
12. Pin Ball Wizard *
13. Who Are You *
14. 5:15 *
15. My Generation *
16. Won't Get Fooled Again *
17. Summertime Blues *
18. Twist And Shout *
19. See Me, Feel Me *

+ Pete Townsend interviews

* Unreleased material

Line-up / Musicians

- Roger Daltrey / vocals
- Pete Townshend / guitars and vocals
- John Entwistle / bass and vocals
- Keith Moon / drums and percussion
- Kenney Jones / drums

Releases information

Re-release from the 1994 VHS 30 Years OF Maximum R & B by Universal Music.

Thanks to progshine for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy THE WHO Maximum R&B Live Music

More places to buy THE WHO music online

THE WHO Maximum R&B Live ratings distribution

(14 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of rock music(57%)
Excellent addition to any rock music collection(14%)
Good, but non-essential (21%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (7%)

THE WHO Maximum R&B Live reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by fuxi
3 stars A gorgeous two-DVD set which shows the somewhat disconcerting evolution of The Who from garage band to The Greatest Rock Band in the World (rivalled only by the Stones) and then on to burnt-out money-spinners. As an overview of the band's history, this is in many respects superior to THE KIDS ARE ALRIGHT. It also has a clear advantage over the more recent AMAZING JOURNEY DVD in that only complete and uninterrupted song material is used. (And lots of it, too!) The interviews with (mainly) Messrs. Townshend, Daltrey and Entwistle are illuminating, but the set only covers the first thirty years of the band's history. As a consequence, it ends with their late 1980s decline and says nothing about their 21st century resurrection. It can also be pointed out in favour of AMAZING JOURNEY that the surviving band members there sound even more wistful and self-critical than here.

The SECOND DVD included here is a fine registration of a 1981 German gig by the Kenney Jones incarnation of the band, which I (like so many other Europeans) experienced live on TV when it was originally broadcast. No matter what you think of the FACE DANCES era, the band are in great form and give first-rate performances of "You Better You Bet", "Drowned", "Behind Blue Eyes" and many other classic tracks.

But most people will be buying this set for the first DVD. This originally appeared on video in the 1990s, but sound and image have now been cleaned up (as far as possible), and you're left with what must be the most varied archive of the Who's concert material so far compiled. I particularly enjoyed the mid-1970s stuff, especially "Dreaming from the Waist" (although the images here are VERY grainy) and "Bell Boy" with Keith Moon on drums and vocal. It's also delightful to have "Music Must Change" from 1979 (a mind-blowing, even proggy, performance this is) and "Behind Blue Eyes" performed very movingly at the Concert for Kampuchea. Even "Love Reign O'er Me" from Shea Stadium (1982) brings a tear to my eye. But the 1989 tracks from Giants Stadium (with Townshend on acoustic guitar throughout) are a real downer; did I see Daltrey end this particular concert with a gesture of despair?

When MAXIMUM R&B LIVE originally appeared on video, it also had first rate 1970 live material on it from Tanglewood (especially "Water" and "I Don't Even Know Myself"). This has now been omitted. Let's hope the entire Tanglewood concert will be released some day, as I really don't enjoy the Isle of Wight material from the same year, which has Moon using double bass drum throughout.

If you're a true Who fan, you will of course also need THE KIDS ARE ALRIGHT, since that particular DVD includes not only The Who at Woodstock, but also a superior version of the astonishing "Young Man Blues", and last but not least, the best ever version of A QUICK ONE (probably the band's most exhilerating live performance ever).

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of THE WHO "Maximum R&B Live"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.