Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Mostly Autumn

Prog Folk

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Mostly Autumn Pass the Clock album cover
4.66 | 34 ratings | 2 reviews | 62% 5 stars

Essential: a masterpiece of
progressive rock music

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2009

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD 1 - Something For The Spirit (69:13)
1. Fading Colours (8:28)
2. Ghost in Dreamland (3:04)
3. Pure White Light (4:29)
4. Distant Train (4:50)
5. Answer the Question (5:00)
6. Evergreen (7:59)
7. The Second Hand (4:26)
8. Storms over Still Water (7:40)
9. Paper Angels (4:18)
10. Tearing at the Faerytale (6:49)
11. Pass the Clock (12:10)

CD 2 - Something For The Campfire (68:54)
1. Yellow Time (5:13)
2. Prints in the Stone (3:47)
3. Eyes of the Forest (2:47)
4. Boundless Ocean (5:45)
5. Shindig (3:01)
6. Blakey Ridge / When Waters Meet (2:12)
7. Winter Is King (5:16)
8. Which Wood? (2:41)
9. At Last to Rivendell (2:06)
10. Simple Ways (6:12)
11. On the Wings of Gwaihir (4:49)
12. Steal Away (4:42)
13. Bitterness Burnt (4:59)
14. Shrinking Violet (8:32)
15. Goodbye Alone (6:52)

CD 3 - Something For The Candlelight (74:51)
1. Night Sky (9:28)
2. Silver Glass (7:05)
3. Half the Mountain (5:19)
4. Carpe Diem (8:08)
5. Hollow (6:12)
6. Passengers (6:06)
7. Gap Is Too Wide (11:11)
8. Glass Shadows (11:16)
9. Heroes Never Die (10:06)

Total Time 212:58

Line-up / Musicians

- Bryan Josh / lead & backing vocals, lead, rhythm, acoustic & 12-string guitars, keyboards, piano
- Heather Findlay / lead & backing vocals, acoustic & 12-string guitars, percussion
- Iain Jennings / keyboards, backing vocals
- Liam Davison / electric, acoustic & 12-string guitars, slide guitars, backing vocals
- Anne-Marie Helder / flutes, keyboards, acoustic & 12-string guitars, backing vocals
- Andy Smith / basses
- Henry Bourne / drums
- Olivia Sparnenn / backing vocals, percussion
- Kev Gibbons / low whistle, high whistle
- Allan Scott / drums
- Iain Jennings / keyboards, vocals
- Bob Faulds / violins
- Stuart Carver / bass
- Angela Goldthorpe / flute, recorders, backing vocals
- Jonathan Blackmore / drums

Releases information

To mark 10 years of Mostly Autumn the band have put together a 3 disc album which is a stunning representation of their work over this time.

Re-mastered songs beautifully presented in a package which contains 3 discs for 3 moods

Thanks to progshine for the addition
and to projeKct for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy MOSTLY AUTUMN Pass the Clock Music

More places to buy MOSTLY AUTUMN music online

MOSTLY AUTUMN Pass the Clock ratings distribution

(34 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(62%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(26%)
Good, but non-essential (3%)
Collectors/fans only (6%)
Poor. Only for completionists (3%)

MOSTLY AUTUMN Pass the Clock reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Muzikman
5 stars Mostly Autumn has been one of the most productive progressive rock bands over the last ten years. They also quickly became one of the best even though flying slightly under the radar initially did not position them ideally or fairly. Most deservingly that changed and now its over ten years later and we have Pass The Clock-1998-2008, a collection of 35 remastered tracks spanning that timeframe.

Bryan Josh (lead and backing vocals, lead guitar, rhythm guitar, acoustic guitar, 12 string guitar, keyboards, piano), Heather Findlay (lead and backing vocals, acoustic guitar, 12 string guitar, piano, recorders, percussion), Iain Jennings (keyboards, piano), Anne-Marie Helder (flutes, keyboards, piano, acoustic guitars, backing vocals), Liam Davison (rhythm guitar, acoustic guitar, 12 string guitar, slide guitars, backing vocals), Andy Smith (bass guitars), Gavin Griffiths (drums) and Olivia Sparnenn (backing vocals, percussion) make up the current Mostly Autumn lineup.

Mostly Autumn's sound is very atmospheric with a combination of keyboards, guitars, bass, various forms of percussion, flutes and dreamy vocals provided by Heather Findlay and David Gilmour like vocalizations from Bryan Josh. Their overall sound has always reminded me of Pink Floyd, but much of what they do is very original and memorable. I discovered this band early in their career around 2000 or thereabouts and immediately was captivated with what they had to offer. Since then I have reviewed a lot of their work including lavishly presented DVD sets and high end CDs for optimal sound. You can always count on a great quality presentation from this band.

Pass The Clock-1998-2008 seems like it could be overkill with 3 CDs and 35 tracks, however that is far from the case. If you are a solid band like Mostly Autumn it's not hard to come up with select tracks over a ten year period, the difficulty lies in choosing which tracks to include in such a comprehensive set. It seemed like an insurmountable task for the band to choose the tracks, but it did come together and the final piece was remastering everything. The final results are jaw dropping sounds that even the most astute prog-rock enthusiast would find difficulty in criticizing. The packing is top notch featuring a high quality cardboard three piece gatefold CD holder with liner notes and the necessary thanks to the important supporters of the band.

I suppose packaging is the least important in most cases, however when you are talking about progressive rock listeners it happens to go hand in hand with the music. Mostly Autumn has never been a band to feature futuristic or spacey designs on their album covers like Yes or Uriah Heep for instance, they are lower key and their artwork reflects a more subtle message while fitting the band's approach and name.

This is an outstanding collection of tracks, not one dinger in the lot folks and a quintessential snapshot of one of the most excellent perhaps underrated prog-rock bands in the world.

Fans should know as well that two volumes of Live 2009 are now available from the band.

5/5 Stars

Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck,© For Questions Or Comments About This Review Send An Email To [email protected]

Latest members reviews

5 stars I haven't known Mostly autumn until I got a recommendation from Amazon. I listened to some of the music here at prog archives and then I bought this extra ordinary compilation. The songs are all great, remastered and sound up to date. There are 3 Cd's and they are all mesmerizing. The music is ... (read more)

Report this review (#483360) | Posted by progshachar | Saturday, July 16, 2011 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of MOSTLY AUTUMN "Pass the Clock"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.