Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Little Tragedies

Symphonic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Little Tragedies Magic Shop album cover
4.10 | 56 ratings | 4 reviews | 30% 5 stars

Excellent addition to any
prog rock music collection

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2009

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Overture (5:12)
2. Christmas Eve (1:54)
3. Little Gnomes (4:01)
4. Pathway to the Magic Shop (1:48)
5. Opening Fanfare (0:45)
6. Shepherd Boys (3:03)
7. Malvina & Piero (1:51)
8. The Sheriff (3:06)
9. Little Cooks (3:19)
10. Tango (3:31)
11. Matryoshka Dolls (2:38)
12. The Minstrel (4:25)
13. Moraziana (3:39)
14. The Star Gazer (3:56)
15. The Wizard (5:24)
16. Closing Fanfare (0:40)
17. Finale (4:26)
18. The Organ Grinder (4:28)
19. Epilogue (3:49)

Total Time 61:55

Line-up / Musicians

- Gennady Ilyin / keyboards, bass drum (11, 18)
- Alexander Malakhovsky / guitar
- Aleksey Bildin / soprano & baritone saxophones
- Oleg Babynin / bass guitar
- Yuri Skripkin / drums

- Andrew Konchakov / tuba
- Alexander Mamontov / trumpet

Releases information

Music and arrangements by Gennady Ilyin
Recorded in August 2008 in Kursk, Russia, in the LT Studio

Available, since November 2009, for free streaming and downloading (in mp3, WAV and FLAC formats) on the band's official website.
- for streaming:
- for downloading:

THE STORY BEHIND THE MUSIC written by Gennady Ilyin (highly recommended for reading before submitting a review) is available on LT official website:

Thanks to NotAProghead for the addition
and to NotAProghead for the last updates
Edit this entry


More places to buy LITTLE TRAGEDIES music online

LITTLE TRAGEDIES Magic Shop ratings distribution

(56 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(30%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(36%)
Good, but non-essential (21%)
Collectors/fans only (12%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

LITTLE TRAGEDIES Magic Shop reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Bob Greece
5 stars I have not written any reviews for a long time but I am writing this one as this album is my favourite prog release of 2009 and I want to share it with you all and promote this album a bit - it doesn't have any reviews yet. The abum is available for free download from the Little Tragedies website. Little Tragedies are a Russian band and usually sing in Russian, which might be a problem for some listeners but in the case of this album, there will be no such problem as it is totally instrumental. The album is also a Christmas album. However, as there are no lyrics and no traditional Christmas tunes, it is an album that you can listen to throughout the year. If the cover art were changed, you could be forgiven for thinking that it is not a Christmas album at all. In terms of music, it is difficult to pick out favourite tracks as they do sound quite similar to each other. The music is mainly quite melodic and cheerful although it does stray towards fusion territories sometimes (tracks 1, 8 and 14) but this is quite rare. For those of you who like harder-edged prog, you might prefer to start with these tracks. The main feeling I have when listening to album is that it really is magic - it makes you feel that you are going to a magic shop - or even a magic funfair. I am reminded of Tchaikovsky's Nutcracker sometimes by the tunes. So give this album a try if you want to be transported to a magic place - you do don't you?

Latest members reviews

4 stars This Russian formation was founded in the late Eighties by composer/keyboard player Gennady Lliyn, he is the brainchild of Little Tragedies. My first musical encounter with Little Tragedies was shortly after the release of their fourth studio album entitled Return (2005). From the very first mom ... (read more)

Report this review (#1938298) | Posted by TenYearsAfter | Sunday, June 10, 2018 | Review Permanlink

3 stars A free album from these Russian masters of orchestral symphonic prog. The Christmas tree type of pine tree on the front cover gives the rather wrong impression that this is a Christmas album. It is not and Little Tragedies has slightly shot themselves in the foot with this artwork. The music ... (read more)

Report this review (#380674) | Posted by toroddfuglesteg | Saturday, January 15, 2011 | Review Permanlink

5 stars Free for downloading full album ? Great ! I came across their music by Prog Archives' random mp3 play with checking some articles, and I heard beautiful guitars. I thought it is a song of The Enid which I didn't know till then, so I checked the name and player of the music, and I found that t ... (read more)

Report this review (#303251) | Posted by Katsuhisa | Sunday, October 10, 2010 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of LITTLE TRAGEDIES "Magic Shop"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.