Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Progressive Metal

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Lab˙rinth No Limits album cover
2.28 | 16 ratings | 2 reviews | 12% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 1996

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Mortal sin (5:26)
2. Midnight resistance (5:35)
3. Dreamland (3:48)
4. Piece of time (2:48)
5. Vertigo (3:40)
6. In the shade (4:10)
7. No limits (6:45)
8. The right sign (4:14)
9. Red zone (3:44)
10. Time has come (5:16)
11. Looking for... (3:10)

Bonus tracks on Pick Up release:
12. Call me (4:02)
13. Miles away (6:05)

Total Time: 48:36

Line-up / Musicians

- Frank Andiver / drums
- Chris Breeze / bass
- Anders Rain / guitars
- Ken Taylor / keyboards
- Joe Terry / lead vocals
- Olaf Thörsen / guitars

Releases information

Cd. Underground Symphony US 007

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy LABYRINTH No Limits Music

More places to buy LABYRINTH music online

LABYRINTH No Limits ratings distribution

(16 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(12%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(12%)
Good, but non-essential (38%)
Collectors/fans only (31%)
Poor. Only for completionists (6%)

LABYRINTH No Limits reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Marc Baum
3 stars Song writing-wise "No Limits" is an album which mixes progressive-flavoured songs with straightforward, more or less conventional Power Metal songs and, unfortunately, some songs that sound out of place compared to the rest of the material. The whole package comes with some admirable musicianship; the disc is full of spectacular guitar work (solos!!) and Joe Terry’s (Fabio Lione's pseudonym on this album, he went to the famous epic metal band Rhapsody after this album) role as vocalist probably couldn’t have been played by anyone else.

The progressive-flavoured songs are arguably the best songs on here, as they provide some magical moments and make things quite original. An excellent example is "Midnight Resistance" which successfully interweaves dream-like magical moments with some faster parts. The title song is another such song. It starts with a fantastic intro, and proceeds in similar fashion to "Midnight Resistance" in building up the song. "In the Shade" sounds almost out of place with its Progressive-Thrash-tinged riffing (which isn’t representative for the album). Nonetheless, it’s one of the better songs.

You can find some straightforward Power Metal in songs like "Mortal Sin", which apart from its intro is basically an up-tempo Power Metal song. "Dreamland", which has some excellent riffing, is another such song, with flowing and straight to the point song writing. "Piece of Time" is no different; a pretty simple, melodic song with no stops and a refrain that’s often repeated throughout the song.

Then there are the weaker songs, and it’s quite surprising to find them here, since the rest of the material is so excellent. "Vertigo" is one of those songs. It’s almost a techno-metal song and the keyboard and vocal style is horrible. "The Right Sign" is similar. It’s hard to call it a Metal song simply due to the keyboard playing. The last two songs "Time Has Come" and "Looking For", although not horrible, are two pretty uninspired – and unnecessary – ballads/outros.

Throughout the disc, there’s a pretty heavy usage of keyboards. If you don’t like keyboards, you just won’t like "No Limits", but us who don’t mind, will find that the keyboards serve an important role, and for the most part gets the job done, even if there are some questionable influences present.

All in all, "No Limits" could probably have used a little bit more work on the song writing as the consistency is somewhat lacking, but when the album does work it provides some magical and downright amazing moments which have virtually no counterpart in Metal. It’s a shame that the band never went on to perfect this style of music as the results would have been interesting, but as it happened, their follow-up "Return To Heaven Denied" marked a departure to a more conventional form of Power Metal.

album rating: 6.5/10 points = 67 % on MPV scale = 3/5 stars

point-system: 0 - 3 points = 1 star / 3.5 - 5.5 points = 2 stars / 6 - 7 points = 3 stars / 7.5 - 8.5 points = 4 stars / 9 - 10 points = 5 stars

Review by UMUR
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
1 stars Ha ha this is so laughable I´m about to explode. To think that I once listened to this and found it listenable is just a joke. This is the most cheesy italien power metal band around. To think that Fabio Leone ( called Joe Terry here, which is even more of a joke) from Rhapsody fronts the band on "No Limits" is really weird. What was he doing in a band like this. Surely bandboss Olaf Thörsen (ha ha, what is that for an italien name) can play and to a certain degree compose, but it all drowns in bad production and cheesy eighties keyboard power metal.

This one is ONLY for the completists ( are there any for such a band ????). Fans of Rhapsody should stay clear even though Fabio is in this band. It has nothing to do with Rhapdody. The standard is so low that I grind my teeth in despair.

Please save me from this terrible album.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of LABYRINTH "No Limits"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.