Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Anthony Phillips

Symphonic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Anthony Phillips Missing Links, Volume 4 - Pathways & Promenades album cover
2.63 | 21 ratings | 1 reviews | 10% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Studio Album, released in 2009

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. The Golden Road to Samarkand (1:32)
2. Promenade (4:01)
3. Sceptred Isle (2:45)
4. Danza Cuccaracha (5:41)
5. Fallen Idol (2:21)
6. Cascades (2:07)
7. Sky Dawn (6:15)
8. Misty Mountains (2:33)
9. It's All Greek to Me (2:26)
10. Haven From The Sea (2:23)
11. Heavenly Gene (2:17)
12. Ironclad (2:37)
13. Water Gardens (2:35)
14. Night Train (1:01)
15. Sleeping Giant (1:38)
16. Sombrero (2:36)
17. Irish Lament (1:26)
18. Aurora (3:02)
19. Without You (1:38)
20. Sad Exodus (2:29)
21. Summer of Love (3:09)
22. Light Rain (3:18)
23. Halycon Days (5:53)

Total Time: 65:53

Line-up / Musicians

- Anthony Phillips / keyboards, piano, guitar, composer & producer

- Joji Hirota / percussion (23)

Releases information

A collection of tracks previously only released on compilations, along with some previously unreleased Library Music (tracks 3,6,9,13,14,17,19)

Artwork: Jon Price with Anthony Phillips (photo)

CD Voiceprint Records - VP526CD (2009, UK)

Thanks to tendst for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy ANTHONY PHILLIPS Missing Links, Volume 4 - Pathways & Promenades Music

No release results - showing artist results instead
The Geese & The GhostThe Geese & The Ghost
Esoteric Antenna 2015
Archive Collection, Vol. 2Archive Collection, Vol. 2
Extra tracks
Field DayField Day
Esoteric 2018
$22.85 (used)
Geese & The GhostGeese & The Ghost
United States of Distribution 2008
$14.99 (used)
Private Parts and Pieces 9 & 10Private Parts and Pieces 9 & 10
Floating World 2011
$41.02 (used)
Wise After the Event:Deluxe EditionWise After the Event:Deluxe Edition
Cherry Red 2016
$25.58 (used)
Private Parts & Pieces I-Iv: 5 Deluxe Clamshell Boxset /  Anthony PhillipsPrivate Parts & Pieces I-Iv: 5 Deluxe Clamshell Boxset / Anthony Phillips
$38.37 (used)
Harvest Of The Heart~An Anthology: Deluxe Remastered 5 Box Set /  Anthony PhillipsHarvest Of The Heart~An Anthology: Deluxe Remastered 5 Box Set / Anthony Phillips
$56.03 (used)

More places to buy ANTHONY PHILLIPS music online Buy ANTHONY PHILLIPS & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

ANTHONY PHILLIPS Missing Links, Volume 4 - Pathways & Promenades ratings distribution

(21 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(10%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(19%)
Good, but non-essential (57%)
Collectors/fans only (10%)
Poor. Only for completionists (5%)

ANTHONY PHILLIPS Missing Links, Volume 4 - Pathways & Promenades reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Epignosis
2 stars Missing Links Volume Four: Pathways & Promenades is "a collection of tracks by Ant previously only released on compilations, along with a selection of some previously unreleased Library Music tracks." Perhaps "library music" might be an accurate description. Largely what is contained in this collection of pithy instrumentals are elegant tracks one might hear as part of a film, in an elevator, on hold on the telephone, or over the speakers at a buffet. Many of these pieces seem like nice ideas Anthony Phillips had for introductions or foundations, but instead of developing them into something truly breathtaking, chose to record and release them as they were. Nothing here is appalling, but nothing is particularly enjoyable save a few acoustic guitar pieces. In short, this could very well be the next installment of Pure Moods.

"The Golden Road to Samarkand" Airy synthesizers create soft, meditative music- something the listener should get used to hearing if set on listening to this album completely.

"Promenade" Gorgeous acoustic guitars are woven into a rich tapestry of bright music.

"Sceptred Isle" Symphonic synthesizer provides a graceful bit of music that would be at home in dramatic cinema.

"Danza Cuccaracha" This is a delicate classical guitar piece- one that is incredibly dynamic and worthy of all five-and-a-half minutes.

"Fallen Idol" One may expect sleepy washes of a synthesizer pad.

"Cascades" There's more delicate synthesizer here, this time in new age fashion.

"Sky Dawn" Placid twelve-string guitar and harmonics sooth the listener with an all-too-familiar chord progression and some succulent layers of notes.

"Misty Mountains" Yet another synthesizer pad piece, this one partly has the sound of a distant feminine choir.

"It's All Greek to Me" Evoking a Mediterranean feel with faux-Greek instrumentation, this piece uses both synthesizer and guitars.

"Haven From The Sea" Genesis wants a home by the sea, but Phillips wants a haven from it! Expect more keyboard suffusions.

"Heavenly Gene" How many of these "interludes" are necessary or even desired? Yes, this track consists of more delicate keyboard business.

"Ironclad" Rising synthesizer pad makes up this superfluous track.

"Water Gardens" Using synthetic sounds and chimes, this creates a pleasant atmosphere like everything else here, but nothing remarkable.

"Night Train" More soft atmospheric bits adorn this track.

"Sleeping Giant" This is a dark bit of thick synthesizer pad.

"Sombrero" Having the feel of a cinematic war epic, this piece uses more thick keyboard, this time accompanied by a thundering kettle drum.

"Irish Lament" Very simple piano offers a pleasing and ephemeral melody.

"Aurora" Watery keyboards with piercing notes and sputtering tones makes for another ambient bit of music.

"Without You" This is similar to "Irish Lament," in that it is a piano piece, only this time there's a very somber melody involved.

"Sad Exodus" Using deep synthesizer pad, this piece made me nod off.

"Summer of Love" Much like the previous track, this longer work uses a breathier pad.

"Light Rain" While it does not rescue the album from absolute tedium, the percussion does add a bit of variety, and the electric piano is a welcome respite from the amateurish synthesizer excursions this album is drenched with.

"Halycon Days" If the listener was not sound asleep by this point in the album, there is no question that REM is well on its way (and I mean that quite literally, so don't expect any alternative rock to pop up in the music). Inundated with serene keyboards and the occasional distant clean electric guitar note, this final piece marks the end of a long and peacefully painful sojourn.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of ANTHONY PHILLIPS "Missing Links, Volume 4 - Pathways & Promenades"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives