Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Prog Folk

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Tenhi Folk Aesthetic 1996-2006 album cover
4.06 | 10 ratings | 2 reviews | 30% 5 stars

Write a review

Buy TENHI Music
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2007

Songs / Tracks Listing

Disc 1
1. Näkin Laulu (6:52)
2. Havuisissa Salcissa (9:18)
3. Tenhi (6:52)
4. Hallavedet (7:38)
5. Hailjaiscksi Lampi Jää (8:12)
6. Tuulennostatus (1:50)
7. Kielo (10:42)
8. Ciwenkierto (6:26)

Disc 2
1. Kansienranta (6:00)
2. Tuulenkaato (7:31)
3. Linnuit (5:34)
4. Suortua (4:00)
5. Etäisyyksien Taa (5:04)
6. Sydänvalkea (4:26)
7. Korvenraivaajat (4:21)
8. Kuoppa (5:29)
9. Kielo (12:28)
10. Niin Auer Hiljaa Vie (7:36)

Disc 3
1. Häie (4:14)
2. Luo Varjo (11:07)
3. Koiranlainen Peura (6:44)
4. Suruiksi Soi (8:54)
5. Sarahdus (6:36)
6. Tuuli Varista (7:42)
7. Laule (1:24)
8. Vasen (9:38)
9. Neidiie (4:00)

Total Time 3:00:39

Line-up / Musicians

- Tyko Saarikko / vocals, piano, harmonium, synth, guitar, percussions, didgeridoo, mouth harp, udu
- Ilmari Issakainen / drums, piano, guitar, bass, percussions, backing vocals
- Ilkka Salminen / vocals, guitar, bass, harmonium, percussions

Additional/session musicians:
- Eleonora Lundell / violin
- Inka Eerola / violin
- Jaakko Hilppö / backing vocals
- Janina Lehto / flute
- Tuukka Tolvanen / vocals
- Veera Partanen / flute

Releases information

3-CD Compilation of rare and unreleased material
- Including a 76 page booklet

Thanks to Zebedee for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy TENHI Folk Aesthetic 1996-2006 Music

More places to buy TENHI music online

TENHI Folk Aesthetic 1996-2006 ratings distribution

(10 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(30%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(70%)
Good, but non-essential (0%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

TENHI Folk Aesthetic 1996-2006 reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Matti
4 stars You don't expect very much from a compilation featuring rare and unrealeased material, if the band in question already isn't important to you, do you? I had heard just one studio album by this Finnish folk-rock group, and while I certanly enjoyed some tracks, I thought on the long run they always sound too much the same for wider appreciation. And why go through listening rarities when there are proper albums waiting to be heard? Well, I was wrong. This is amazing three hours of dark and atmospheric Prog Folk and I'm very glad I borrowed it (even if I first felt frustrated when I tried to read the track titles and other texts, all printed with tiny, old-fashioned hard-to-read fonts).

Rather than being a fan-oriented thing, a place to find throwaway material that didn't make it to the albums, this is an ambitious large-scale document of the band's ten-year history. I would have wished for some kind of discographic information to better see how this all relates to the existing output, but that's a minor fault. This is full of spellbinding progressive folk, often in a very slow tempo, and although TENHI's music isn't very progressive (in a symphonic sense), it seems that the long tracks - roughly ten minutes - are the finest. I'm not getting into details, but I guarantee that if you have heard something by this band and have enjoyed it, this is definitely worth listening.

PS. Tenhi is said to mean the village elder.

Review by Warthur
4 stars In terms of sheer value, Tenhi's Folk Aesthetic compilation offers a real treasury for fans of the band, featuring three CDs of material, each offering a different approach to unearthing the band's vault.

CD1 presents a set of mini-releases from early in the band's career. First up is Kertomuksia, Tenhi's first demo, which mostly consists of material which would be rerecorded for their first two albums, aside from "Tenhi" itself, but it remains an interesting starting point for the band which reveals their command of atmosphere from an early stage in their development. It's followed up by the more self-assured Hallavedet, which raises the question "How long must a single run before it becomes an EP?" It boasts only two tracks but has a nearly 16 minute running time. Compared to their debut demo, this shows a bit more polish, as well as incorporating a greater use of vocals. CD1 is rounded off with Airut;Ciwi. Centred around the epic Kielo, this mini-release from Tenhi finds them getting closer to their creative peak but still not yet attaining it.

The second disc's collection of alternate versions, demos, and unreleased songs holds up remarkably well for such an odds-and-sods collection, a credit to the consistent quality of Tenhi's work as well as the distinctiveness of their titular folk aesthetic. The collection is rounded off with Kaski, an entire unreleased album, whose laid-back, almost folk- ambient style and vocal experiments makes me very glad it was saved from the cutting room floor because it can sit with pride next to the rest of Tenhi's discography.

If you're a Tenhi superfan, this would clearly be an essential release for you; looking at things with a bit more perspective, though, this isn't a five-star collection simply because the material here isn't consistently of five-star quality - but then again, it doesn't really dip below four stars either. As far as vault-raiding collections go, that's doing pretty well.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of TENHI "Folk Aesthetic 1996-2006"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.