Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Secret Chiefs 3


From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Secret Chiefs 3 Satellite Supersonic Vol.1 album cover
3.00 | 5 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2010

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. UR - Circumambulation
2. ISHRAQIYUN - Balance of the 19
4. UR - Kulturvultur
5. ISHRAQIYUN - Balthassar : Melchior : Kaspar
6. ELECTROMAGNETIC AZOTH - The Left Hand of Nothingness
7. UR - Anthropomorphisis : Boxleitner
8. NT Fan - The Secret Mausoleum of Mankind: Fetish Miniatures of the Suicided Races (previously unreleased)

Line-up / Musicians


Releases information

1,2 and 6 are digital remixes of previously released vinyl versions, 5 has not been previously released, 7 is the original UR version, and 3 and 4 are extended (original) versions remixed for digital

Web Of Mimicry - WOM039

Thanks to snobb for the addition
and to snobb for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy SECRET CHIEFS 3 Satellite Supersonic Vol.1 Music

More places to buy SECRET CHIEFS 3 music online

SECRET CHIEFS 3 Satellite Supersonic Vol.1 ratings distribution

(5 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(20%)
Good, but non-essential (60%)
Collectors/fans only (20%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

SECRET CHIEFS 3 Satellite Supersonic Vol.1 reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by snobb
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
3 stars This album is not just regular SC 3 release. As everyone interested in their music knows SC 3 is a team of always changing musicians with ex- Mr. Bungle guitarist Trey Spruance as project leader.

Whenever they play very eclectic music, based on some different elements (as trash metal, electronic avant-garde and Eastern folk, between others), SC 3 in fact was a common name for 7 different projects, so called "satellite bands" (The seven bands are The Electromagnetic Azoth, UR, Ishraqiyun, Traditionalists, Holy Vehm, Forms, and NT Fan).

2004's Book of Horizons was the first SC3 album to feature the sub-groups under their own names. So far four of the sub-groups have released 7" singles and Traditionalists have delivered a full-length album.

This compilation contains re-worked compositions from obscure vinyl singles (of UR, Ishraqiyun and Electromagnetic Azoth), as well as some previously unreleased materials. The last album's composition "The Secret Mausoleum of Mankind: Fetish Miniatures of the Suicided Races" is 1998 recorded and never released song by NT Fan.

Music on this album is mostly electronic avant -garde mixed with Arabic and Oriental folk elements, and often combined with rock traditions. No trash metal or any other radical hardcore elements are presented though. In all, the sound fluctuates between accessible Arabic -rock with electronic sounds and loops and more free form electronic noise based compositions. Not very complex, and often interesting listening, but a bit unfocused and bulky. Really interesting release for band's fans though - all included material was obscure collectors items till now.

My rating is 3+.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of SECRET CHIEFS 3 "Satellite Supersonic Vol.1"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.