Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Yochk'o Seffer


From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Yochk'o Seffer Condor album cover
3.00 | 2 ratings | 2 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2010

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD 1: Puma (69:48)
1. Miert (5:31)
2. Jo Hutazast Testver (6:53)
3. Izzad Testü Hold (6:23)
4. Ritualish Alkotas (7:30)
5. Sanglots (3:50)
6. Apaisement (3:00)
7. Rage (1:36)
8. Voyage (4:30)
9. Nap-Nap!!! (5:04)
10. Sikos Terep (5:28)
11. Rea (6:19)
12. Ontudat (4:32)
13. Menes (4:06)
14. Eszaki-Zür (5:06)

CD 2: Anaconda (71:24)
1. Bölcsö Dallama (7:20)
2. Rancos Profil (8:00)
3. 70-Szüz-II (6:30)
4. Testver II (6:57)
5. Bülent II Repüly-Madar (4:31)
6. Vagy (6:12)
7. Kigyo (5:12)
8. Knom-13 (9:50)
9. Szurd-Meg (2:37)
10. Sirato (8:30)
11. Anaconda (5:45)

CD 3: Condor (52:11)
1. Trabla n°12 (29:30)
2. Ima 2010 (22:41)

Total Time 193:23

Line-up / Musicians

- Yochk'o Seffer / saxophones (CD 1, CD 3); piano (CD 2)
- Jean-Pascal Molina / drums (CD 1)
- Joëlle Léandre / contrabass (CD 1)
- Sylvain Miller / saxophones (CD 2)
- Jean-Michel Goury / saxophones (CD 3)
- Laurent Matheron / saxophones (CD 3)
- Francois Causse / steel drums (CD 1, CD 3)
- Guerino Bellarosa / saxophones (CD 3)
- Adele Couzin / saxophones (CD 3)
- Zachary Pfau / saxophones (CD 3)
- Lucas Gaudin / saxophones (CD 3)
- Phil Pierick / saxophones (CD 3)
- Samuel Havard / saxophones (CD 3)
- Mark Michalak / saxophones (CD 3)
- Holly Decaigny / saxophones (CD 3)
- Vincent Dreyer / saxophones (CD 3)
- Coline Feler / saxophones (CD 3)
- Camille Maussion / saxophones (CD 3)
- Joel Diegert / saxophones (CD 3)

Releases information

Musea Parallele, MP 3210

Thanks to windhawk for the addition
and to SaltyJon for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy YOCHK'O SEFFER Condor Music

More places to buy YOCHK'O SEFFER music online

YOCHK'O SEFFER Condor ratings distribution

(2 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(0%)
Good, but non-essential (100%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

YOCHK'O SEFFER Condor reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by SaltyJon
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
3 stars I'm going to start this review off with a warning for you. If you don't like saxophone, or (very) long albums, I advise you to stay far away from this one. If neither of these elements bother you, then you'll most likely enjoy Yochk'o Seffer's newest album. In no way would I consider this Zeuhl - on the contrary, all of the tracks present (except on the third disc, which I'll get to in a bit) are jazzy duets for saxophone and piano, saxophone and bass, or saxophone and drums. As I said earlier - a LOT of saxophone. The quality of the performances of the all three discs of material here is great. All of the musicians who play on this one seem to be top-notch, though I haven't heard anything else by anyone except Seffer himself. As can be expected with an album of this length, though, the tracks start to sound similar over the course of things.

The third disc is a different story, though. The first track on it is a free jazzy, kind of classical influenced symphony - for fifteen saxophones! Definitely an interesting listen, and an enjoyable one for me. The second track here is a video performance of Ima. The music is great on this one too. I've listened to the original several times, and this is a good rendition of it.

This album is good, though it is definitely a challenging chunk of listening for most - most certainly, it's not a good starting point for Seffer's music, but it is a good one to pick up if you like the jazzier side of his material. Three stars seems fitting, as the first two discs do seem to drag a bit as they go on.

Review by Windhawk
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
3 stars Hungarian born composer, musician, sculptor and avant-garde artist Yochko SEFFER has a long and distinguished career in which he's been active in musical projects one way or the other for most of his life, and where his tenures in the bands Magma and Zao arguably can be said to be ones which have drawn the most attention. In 1976 Seffer initiated a solo career, with just over a dozen original productions issued in his name since then. Condor" is the most recent of these, and this massive 3-CD production was released by Musea Records on their Musea Parallele imprint in the fall of 2010.

"Condor" is a highly ambitious production, showcasing many different aspects of Yochko Seffer as an artist, composer and musician, including depictions of his own artwork in the booklet. With flawless performance and impeccable production, this is a high quality production, of the kind where your own musical taste will be the sole deciding factor for whether or not you'll enjoy it. And while the stylistic expressions covered explore territories ranging from classical to avant-garde jazz, I'd think that the primary audience for this release, other than existing fans of the artist, will be a jazz-oriented crowd, in particular those who have a deep and true affection for the saxophone.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of YOCHK'O SEFFER "Condor"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.