Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Various Artists (Concept albums & Themed compilations)

Various Genres

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Various Artists (Concept albums & Themed compilations) Wondrous Stories - A Complete Introduction To Progressive Rock album cover
3.17 | 5 ratings | 1 reviews | 40% 5 stars

Write a review

Boxset/Compilation, released in 2010

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD1: (75:48)
1. Sam Gopal / Season Of The Witch
2. Colosseum / Walking In The Park
3. Nucleus / Song For The Bearded Lady
4. Van Der Graaf Generator / Darkness II/II
5. Comus / Diana
6. Jethro Tull / Aqualung
7. Atomic Rooster / Devil's Answer
8. Dr. Z / Evil Woman's Manly Child
9. Jan Dukes De Grey / Mice And Rats In The Loft
10. Curved Air / Back Street Love
11. Yes / Roundabout
12. Caravan / Golf Girl
13. Aprhodite's Child / The Four Horsemen

CD2: (77:18)
1. ELP / From The Beginning
2. Mike Oldfield / Tubular Bells
3. Gong / Oily Way
4. Rare Bird / Epic Forest
5. Beggars Opera / MacArthur Park
6. Gentle Giant / In A Glass House
7. Magna Carta / Lord Of Ages
8. Gryphon / Opening Move
9. Fruupp / The Seventh Secret
10. Supertramp / School
11. Riск Wakeman / Merlin The Magician
12. Barclay James Harvest / Child Of The Universe

CD3: (77:41)
1. Yes / Wondrous Stories
2. Steve Hillage / Hurdy Gurdy Man
3. Camel / Air Born
4. ELP / Fanfare For The Common Man
5. Rush / A Farewell To Kings
6. Manfred Mann's Earth Band / The Mighty Quinn
7. Jon Anderson / Some Are Born
8. Barclay James Harvest / Mocking Bird
9. Camel / Sasquatch
10. Mike Oldfield / Five Miles Out
11. Jethro Tull / Pussy Willow
12. Emerson, Lake & Powell / Touch & Go
13. The Moody Blues / I Know You're Out There Somewhere
14. Marillion / Jigsaw

CD4: (78:14)
1. Pallas / Eyes In The Night
2. Rush / The Weapon
3. It Bites / The Old Man And The Angel
4. World Trade / The Moment Is Here
5. Dream Theater / Pull Me Under
6. Queensryche / I Am I
7. Opeth / The Drapery Falls
8. Spock's Beard / Stranger In A Strange Land
9. Coheed & Cambria / Ten Speed (Of Gods Blood & Burial)
10. The Reasoning / Awakening
11. The Mars Volta / Since We've Been Wrong
12. Eureka / Going Home
13. IQ / Frequency

Line-up / Musicians

See track list for artists.

Releases information

Universal, 0600753277621. A 4-disc compilation, not to be confused with the 2-disc set of the same name; these share only a couple of the same tracks.
Original release dates: 1969 - 2009. Includes a 36-page booklet.

Thanks to Matti for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy VARIOUS ARTISTS (CONCEPT ALBUMS & THEMED COMPILATIONS) Wondrous Stories - A Complete Introduction To Progressive Rock Music


VARIOUS ARTISTS (CONCEPT ALBUMS & THEMED COMPILATIONS) Wondrous Stories - A Complete Introduction To Progressive Rock ratings distribution

(5 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(40%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(0%)
Good, but non-essential (60%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

VARIOUS ARTISTS (CONCEPT ALBUMS & THEMED COMPILATIONS) Wondrous Stories - A Complete Introduction To Progressive Rock reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Matti
3 stars For some reason this release was unadded. It's an ambitious 4-CD compilation attempting to represent four decades of prog, from 1969 to 2009. I haven't met such projects before: it is more common to ignore recent times. So, here's a set that includes b o t h old classics like YES ('Roundabout', 'Wonderous Stories'), ELP ('From The Beginning', 'Fanfare for the Common Man'), VDGG ('Darkness'), CAMEL ('Airborn', 'Sasquatch'), JETHRO TULL ('Aqualung' live, 'Pussy Willow'), CARAVAN ('Golf Girl'), GENTLE GIANT ('In a Glass House'), many more notable prog acts from the seventies such as COLOSSEUM, CURVED AIR, COMUS, GRYPHON, GONG, Mike OLDFIELD, BJH, with some less obvious choices too such as SUPERTRAMP ('School'), FRUUPP ('Seventh Secret'), RUSH, MAGNA CARTA ('Lord Of The Ages') etc, a n d later generation bands from MARILLION, PALLAS, SPOCKS BEARD and IQ to DREAM THEATER, OPETH, MARS VOLTA etc. (all of them hosting the fourth disc except Marillion's 'Jigsaw' that ends the third). For the most part, the work is done quite well, but there are several choices that give a bad taste to an advanced old school prog listener.

The package itself is very handy and pleasant, from the economic packing featuring a Roger Dean artwork to short band introductions and illustrations. The band choices from the classic era are quite orthodox even if there are no three giants of GENESIS, PINK FLOYD and KING CRIMSON (and also several songs are already usual visitors in compilations), with some happy exceptions of course. (Again I argue against the habit of including two tracks from many artists, because that takes space away from artists not included!) The Foreword could have tried to open up the history of Prog, but it remains a very vague and uninformative one-pager. Also for the contents the set unsucceeds to give a deep picture of Prog and its subgenres. One thing that strikes me is the lack of European Prog. Only APHRODITE'S CHILD come from a non-English speaking country! No Italy, no Germany or Scandinavia. Such a shame.

I personally got very little material new to me from the first three CD's (and sadly many of those few I didn't know didn't please me); that means I ran through these discs very quickly without evaluating them as listening experiences, perhaps only giving a smile here and there for choices I myself could have chosen too. My hopes concerned mostly the fourth disc, which also gave me biggest disappointments. The compiler seems to favour Metal- oriented contemporary prog, but also the tracks by IT BITES and WORLD TRADE were nearly disgusting and not very progressive, to be honest. I also wished something good from THE REASONING (featuring ex-Karnataka vocalist Rachel Cohen), but the track was heavy and had more male than female vocals.

Similar bad track choices water down the inclusion of JON ANDERSON ('Some Are Born' from 1980's Song Of Seven, blah) and THE MOODY BLUES. The most ridiculous detail in the band introductions is their overproduced disco-rock hit 'I Know You're Out There Somewhere' (1987) talked about as symphonic prog. I'm not kidding.

Well, in waiting for a better set spanning four decades, I suppose I can give this three stars even with several disappointing moments.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of VARIOUS ARTISTS (CONCEPT ALBUMS & THEMED COMPILATIONS) "Wondrous Stories - A Complete Introduction To Progressive Rock"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.