Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Peter Gabriel

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Peter Gabriel Live Blood album cover
3.57 | 53 ratings | 1 reviews | 36% 5 stars

Excellent addition to any
prog rock music collection

Write a review

from partners
Live, released in 2011

Songs / Tracks Listing

DVD / Blu-ray
1. Intruder
2. Wallflower
3. The Boy In The Bubble
4. Apres Moi
5. The Drop
6. Washing Of The Water
7. The Book Of Love
8. Darkness
9. The Power Of The Heart
10. Biko
11. San Jacinto
12. Digging In The Dirt
13. Signal To Noise
14. Downside Up
15. Mercy Street
16. The Rhythm Of The Heat
17. Blood Of Eden
18. Red Rain
19. Solsbury Hill
20. In Your Eyes
21. Don't Give Up
22. The Nest That Sailed The Sky

Extra features:
23. ''Blood Donors'' - the story behind the project including an interview with Peter Gabriel
24. ''New Blood Live In London'' is a landmark release both for Peter Gabriel and indeed for Eagle

CD 1 - New Blood (Studio album)
1. The Rhythm of the Heat (5:41)
2. Downside Up (ft. Melanie Gabriel) (3:51)
3. San Jacinto (6:58)
4. Intruder (5:07)
5. Wallflower (6:25)
6. In Your Eyes (7:12)
7. Mercy Street (5:59)
8. Red Rain (5:15)
9. Darkness (6:10)
10. Don't Give Up (ft. Ane Brun) (6:40)
11. Digging in the Dirt (4:57)
12. The Nest that Sailed the Sky (3:54)
13. A Quiet Moment (4:48)
14. Solsbury Hill (bonus track) (4:35)

Total time 78:32

CD 2 - Live Blood (Live recording)
1. The Rhythm Of The Heat
2. Mercy Street
3. Digging In The Dirt
4. Signal To Noise
5. Intruder
6. Biko
7. San Jacinto
8. Solsbury Hill
9. In Your Eyes (feat. Sevara Nazarkhan)
10. Don't Give Up (feat. Ane Bun)

Line-up / Musicians

- Peter Gabriel / Vocals
- The New Blood Orchestra

Releases information

Release date: 23 April (Europe)/ 24 April (USA)

DVD+Blu-ray+2CD+book (2011)

DVD and Blu-ray have the same contents (filmed at Hammersmith Apollo in March 2011)

DVD Sound options: DTS Surround Sound, Dolby Digital 5.1, Dolby Digital Stereo
Blu-ray Sound options: DTS-HD Master Audio, Dolby Digital Stereo

Thanks to NotAProghead for the addition
and to Rune2000 for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy PETER GABRIEL Live Blood Music

More places to buy PETER GABRIEL music online

PETER GABRIEL Live Blood ratings distribution

(53 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(36%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(23%)
Good, but non-essential (28%)
Collectors/fans only (9%)
Poor. Only for completionists (4%)

PETER GABRIEL Live Blood reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by tarkus1980
3 stars A live album to cap off the "Peter goes orchestral" project was inevitable, but that doesn't mean it was really necessary. In person, I bet this would have been a lot of fun (especially since this album was recorded a while before the release of New Blood), and maybe if he hadn't released New Blood I would find more novelty here than I do, but as is this pretty much just rehashes the other orchestral albums, and what few additions this album does provide are more mixed than I might have guessed. There is a rather lovely rendition of "The Drop" here, with very sparse orchestration, and "Biko" works decently enough in this context to deserve repeated listens. Sadly, though, "Signal to Noise," the one Gabriel number here to have featured an orchestral in its original context, falls surprisingly flat, simply because the lack of chanting turns out to leave a glaring hole, and the minimalist backing vocals from Ane Brun and Melanie Gabriel simply aren't strong or interesting enough to fill it (this is actually a more general problem on the album than just this song; I didn't mind them too much on New Blood, and actually liked Ane quite a bit there, but they both come across as pretty second-rate here, and there are times when Melanie barely even gets to that level).

I don't want to go nuts and pretend that large parts of this aren't enjoyable. Everything that worked on New Blood basically works here ("San Jacinto" ends up pretty rousing in this setting, as do "Red Rain" and "Mercy Street"), and I actually like the rendition of "The Boy in the Bubble" (preceded by a hilarious spoken introduction, in which Peter first comes clean that the process of getting other people to cover his songs hadn't gone quite like he'd hoped it would, and then mentions that, for "The Boy in the Bubble" he "stripped all the African blood out of it, and we're left with another miserable white man's song") here more than on Scratch my Back, and overall the list of included songs is pretty decent. And yet, 2 hours and 20 minutes is an awful lot of time to spend listening to something like this, where everything gets pounded into the same general template, and I say that as somebody whose tolerance for late-period live albums that function as compilations is quite high.

Also, surprise surprise, "Don't Give Up" is no better live with an orchestra than in studio with an orchestra, and it was no better in studio with an orchestra than it was originally. What a gross way to finish the "regular" performances (there's a rendition of "The Nest That Sailed the Sky" to close out, and while it's basically just the original version it leaves a better taste in my mouth than what came before it).

Honestly, if he had just removed the covers (except maybe "The Book of Love"), thrown away the orchestra, and released a live album with the same track listing as found here but with his regular band, I probably would have ended up enjoying it significantly more. As is, as great as so many of the songs here are in their essence, and as well as Peter's voice continues to hold up, I just can't feel much enthusiasm for this.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of PETER GABRIEL "Live Blood"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.