Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Tori Amos

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Tori Amos Tales Of A Librarian album cover
3.73 | 18 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2003

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Precious things
2. Angels
3. Silent all these years
4. Cornflake girl
5. Mary
6. God
7. Winter
8. Spark
9. Waydown
10. Professional widow
11. Mr. Zebra
12. Crucify
13. Me and a gun
14. Bliss
15. Playboy mommy
16. Baker Baker
17.Tear in your hand
18. Sweet deams
19. jackie´s strength
20. Snow cherries from France

Line-up / Musicians

- Tori Amos / vocals, piano
- Carlo Nuccio / drums
- Will McGregor / bass
- Steve Caton / acustic & electric guitar
- Eric Rosse / keyboards programming
- Jake Freeze / rat pedal
- Matt Chamberlain / drums
- Jon Evans / bass
- Mac Aladin / guitar
- Nick Decaro / strings arranged
- John Phillip Shenale / finger cymbal
- Paulinho Da Costa / percussion
- George Porter Jr. / bass
- Justin Meldal-Johnsen / bass
- Darryyl Lewis, jack Timble,
Mark Sterling, James Crawford Jr.
Marvin, Sterling, Gus McField Jr.
Sam Berfect / gospel choir
- Alan Friedman / drum programming
- Manu Katche / drums
- The Black Dyke Mills Band
- Ed Green / drums
- Jef Scott / bass
- Eric Williams / ukelele
- Nancy Shanks, Tina Gullickson / backgrounds
- Al Perkins / pedal street
- The sinfonia of Londres conducted by David Firman

Thanks to CJSrans for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy TORI AMOS Tales Of A Librarian Music

More places to buy TORI AMOS music online

TORI AMOS Tales Of A Librarian ratings distribution

(18 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(56%)
Good, but non-essential (39%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (6%)

TORI AMOS Tales Of A Librarian reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Matti
4 stars This is a compilation up to the year 2003 in Tori's career, and to my opinion it's just about as good as it can be. As many as 20 songs have been fit in, two of them brand new if I remember right. (And they are very good too.) Choices are perhaps unsurprising if you know her discography well, but at least to me this selection represents the kind of Tori Amos that I like. Of course it won't be enough for any other than an occasional listener, but it leaves one free to continue to all directions - and from 2004 onwards there wouldn't even be any overlaps, starting from the very recommendable Scarlet's Walk.

An interesting feature is the way Tori has "categorized" her songs into the Dewey classification system used in libraries, and the whole classification (the hundred divisions) is seen in the leaflet. Examples: 'Me And A Gun' > 360 Social Problems and Social Services > 36.2 Act of Rape. 'Way Down' > 150 Psychology > 154 Subconscious and Altered States. 'Cornflake Girl' > 170 Ethics > 177 Ethics of Social Relations (Betrayal). This is much more original and listener- activating way to reveal some topics of her songs than to write a sentence or two of each track.

As a starting point compilation this is very recommendable, but not a total waste of money to a fan either.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of TORI AMOS "Tales Of A Librarian"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.