Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Jukka Tolonen

Jazz Rock/Fusion

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Jukka Tolonen On The Rocky Road - A Retrospective 1971 - 1997 album cover
2.14 | 3 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2000

Songs / Tracks Listing

Disc 1
1. Tiger
2. Elements: Earth, Fire, Water, Air
3. Windermere Avenue
4. Tanja
5. Impressions Of India
6. Phantastes
7. See You (Missing My Crazy Baby)
8. The Sea
9. Aurora Boralis
10. Together
11. Django

Disc 2
1. On The Rocky Road
2. Sun Love
3. Tears
4. Mountain Stream
5. Follow The Light
6. Heavy Shit
7. Memories
8. Last Mohican
9. Cinderella
10. Windy Wednesday Blues
11. Little Love Song
12. Big Time Jam
13. Separation
14. Punta Arabi
15. Gipsy

Line-up / Musicians

- Jukka Tolonen / Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Piano, Mini-Moog, Synthesizers, Bass, Vocals, Calimba, Cowbell

Various sets of musicians, featuring e. g.
- Esa Kotilainen / organ, Synths
- Pekka Pohjola / Bass
- Reino Laine / drums
- Pekka Pöyry / Saxes, Flute
- Sakari Kukko / Sax, Flute

Releases information

Siboney LXCD625. On the 35th anniversary of Tolonen's career, this double album provides an overview of his works.

Thanks to Matti for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy JUKKA TOLONEN On The Rocky Road - A Retrospective 1971 - 1997 Music

More places to buy JUKKA TOLONEN music online

JUKKA TOLONEN On The Rocky Road - A Retrospective 1971 - 1997 ratings distribution

(3 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(33%)
Good, but non-essential (33%)
Collectors/fans only (33%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

JUKKA TOLONEN On The Rocky Road - A Retrospective 1971 - 1997 reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Matti
2 stars The premier Finnish guitar hero (of the 70's at least) JUKKA TOLONEN needs no introduction. Speaking of his compilations, this 2CD set is the only one I'm familiar with, so I can't compare it to others, but nevertheless I have quite mixed feelings about it.

There are various ways to make a compilation, concerning the track choices and the quantitative representation of the albums, and the running order too. Even though I normally prefer a chronological approach, I'm not complaining about the way it's broken here within each disc. The 1st CD [66:15] contains material from the albums Tolonen! (71), Summer Games (73), The Hook (74), Hysterica (75) and A Passenger to Paramaribo (77). Five strong albums, all of which could have been represented more heavily. Curiously even the liner notes mention how the four first solo albums are THE classics.

The 2nd CD [66:12] is compiled from notably weaker and musically very varied albums between the years 1979-1996. Maybe seven albums or so, and each represented with multiple tracks. (To illustrate my point, imagine a Gentle Giant compilation in which the 1st CD thinly covers the first five awesome albums and the 2nd CD contains only material from the later poor albums. Their magnificent 2CD compilation "The Edge of Twilight" contains only five classic albums nearly completely.)

This Tolonen compilation emphasizes the many-sided nature of the guitarist's output, and how he's a superb guitarist in whatever kind of music. The problem is that anyone regarding the early fusion albums to be the main interest (as every JT connoisseur is guaranteed to do) will find a lot of stuff in the latter CD terribly uninteresting and boring. At least I do. More or less straight-forward, totally unoriginal guitar rock, often with vocals -- also by Tolonen himself who certainly is no strong as a vocalist -- and even some reggae tunes. I haven't listened to his 80's/90's albums, but in the light of the choices here, several of them wouldn't have deserved this much representation. The guitar heroics take over the composing and arranging values.

Also the visual looks are ather cheap. The 1st CD alone could be worth 3½ stars (there's a 13-minute waste of space and not all choices are the best possible), but especially in a prog site the second CD lowers my rating to mere two stars. I'm being rather merciless and over-critical, I know...

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of JUKKA TOLONEN "On The Rocky Road - A Retrospective 1971 - 1997"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.