Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Peter Gabriel

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Peter Gabriel Revisited album cover
3.30 | 18 ratings | 1 reviews | 17% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1992

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. On The Air {5:34)
2. Modern Love {3:35)
3. Indigo {3:33)
4. Solsbury Hill {4:21)
5. Perspective {3:27)
6. Waiting For The Big One {7:17)
7. Animal Magic {3:31)
8. Humdrum {3:24)
9. D.I.Y. {2:48)
10. Mother Of Violence (3:14)
11. Slowburn (4:36)
12. Exposure (4:17)
13. Moribund The Burgermeister (4:17)
14. Flotsam And Jetsam (2:20)
15. Here Comes The Flood (5:52)

Total Time:62:08

Line-up / Musicians

- Bayete / keyboards
- Roy Bittan / keyboards
- Tim Capello / saxophone
- Josef Chirowski / keyboards, percussion, synthesizer
- Larry Fast / synthesizer
- Robert Fripp / banjo, guitar (classical), guitar (electric)
- Peter Gabriel / flute, keyboards, piano, recorder, synthesizer, vocals, vocals (background), voices
- Steve Hunter / guitar, guitar (rhythm), pedal steel
- Tony Levin / bass, Chapman stick, tuba, vocals (background)
- George Marge / recorder
- Jerry Marotta / drums, vocals (background)
- Sid McGinnis / guitar (acoustic), guitar (electric), guitar (steel), mandolin, vocals (background)
- Allan Schwartzberg / drums
- Dick Wagner / guitar, vocals (background)

Releases information

CD (USA) Atlantic 82429-2
Cassette (USA) Atlantic 82429-4

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
and to Guillermo for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy PETER GABRIEL Revisited Music

PETER GABRIEL Revisited ratings distribution

(18 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(17%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(33%)
Good, but non-essential (44%)
Collectors/fans only (6%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

PETER GABRIEL Revisited reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by daveconn
3 stars Excuse me, this ain't the trip I hoped it'd be. While some of these selections are still fondly remembered ("Solsbury Hill", "Here Comes The Flood"), revisiting GABRIEL's first two albums is a little like meeting those mountain relatives in the Ozarks, many of whom would find themselves pushed to the periphery (or back row) in the family snapshot. Atlantic retained the US distribution rights to Peter GABRIEL 1 and 2, drawing generous amounts from both, digitally remastering them, and releasing what in theory would have been the best parts of Peter's first two efforts distilled. Except that "Revisited" somehow manages to be less interesting than either of Peter's first two records. While the first pair from GABRIEL were uneven, they did build a palpable intensity from beginning to end.

By comparison, "Revisited" skips between the two willy nilly without stoking the fire for what should have been a powerful closing, "Here Comes The Flood". ("Home Sweet Home", which ended his second album, is inexplicably left off of this compilation.). The remastered sound is okay, but only in a handful of cases (e.g., "Humdrum", "Slowburn") does it represent an audible improvement over the original vinyl versions. If I take umbrage with "Revisited" (and I do), it's because the compilation does more harm than good. A shortcut to GABRIEL's early work is a disservice; fans should hear them in their entirety. The remastered sound isn't enough of a carrot for anyone looking to upgrade their vinyl, and relative neophytes duped into buying this on the heels of "Us" would have been better served by "Shaking The Tree". "Revisited" remains the last GABRIEL disc you need to own, since it brings nothing to a discussion of GABRIEL's work (whereas the live Slowburn is at least of historical significance). And I have an aversion to cash-in compilations like this.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of PETER GABRIEL "Revisited"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.