Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography

A-Z LIVE 2011



From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Marillion A-Z Live 2011 album cover
3.66 | 28 ratings | 1 reviews | 43% 5 stars

Excellent addition to any
prog rock music collection

Write a review

from partners
Live, released in 2012

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Asylum Satellite #1
2. Born to Run
3. Cannibal Surf Babe
4. Deserve
5. Especially True
6. Fantastic Place
7. Gazpacho
8. Half the World
9. Jigsaw
10. King
11. The Last Century For Man
12. Marbles III
13. No Such Thing
14. The Only Unforgivable Thing
15. Pseudo Silk Kimono
16. Quartz
17. The Release
18. Sugar Mice
19. Three Minute Boy
20. Under the Sun
21. A Voice From The Past
22. The Wound
23. XTC Senses Working Overtime
24. You're Gone
25. Zeparated Out

Line-up / Musicians

- Steve Rothery / Guitar
- Steve Hogarth / Vocals
- Mark Kelly / Keyboards and samples
- Ian Mosley / Drums
- Pete Trewavas / Bass

- Dave Gregory / Guest guitar on XTC Senses Working Overtime

Releases information

From the Saturday concert of the Port Zeeland Marillion Weekend 2012.

Thanks to Warthur for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy MARILLION A-Z Live 2011 Music

More places to buy MARILLION music online

MARILLION A-Z Live 2011 ratings distribution

(28 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(43%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(36%)
Good, but non-essential (14%)
Collectors/fans only (4%)
Poor. Only for completionists (4%)

MARILLION A-Z Live 2011 reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Warthur
3 stars The Marillion Weekend conventions are a great source of unusual live sets from the band, but the flipside of that is that precisely because the concert structures they try out at them are so experimental sometimes the experiments don't quite work. Such was the case for this selection from the Saturday night of the 2011 weekend, which features the band running through a set of songs in alphabetical order, from A to Z.

The band are clearly in a playful, cheeky mood this evening, because they do cheat a few times, though in perfectly appropriate and interesting ways each time - "I" stands in for the first intermission (it's a 25 song set, of course they needed multiple intermissions), X turns out to be a cover version of XTC's Senses Working Overtime with Dave Gregory (former star guitarist of XTC) guesting, and Z is Zeparated out - a crazy version of Separated Out from Anoraknophobia, with selected segments of Led Zeppelin classic songs slipped in here and there to spice things up.

Though the album has a great ambience, at the same time the epic length of the concert means that it is wearing, and the alphabetical concept means that at points the transitions in mood are rather abrupt and the setlist doesn't flow as well as it otherwise might.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of MARILLION "A-Z Live 2011"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.