Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Anthony Phillips

Symphonic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Anthony Phillips Missing Links, Volume 2 - The Sky Road album cover
2.98 | 37 ratings | 2 reviews | 8% 5 stars

Good, but non-essential

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 1994

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Exile (4:56)
2. Lifeboat Suite (10:32) :
- I) Opening Theme
- Ii) Sunday Morning
- Iii) Another Shout
- Iv) Across The Sandbar
- V) Storm Warning: Kim Waits
- Vi) The Rescue Of Janet C
- Vii) Let Not The Deep Swallow Me Up
- Viii) Closing Theme
3. The Bitter Suite (10:00) :
- I) Part I
- Ii) Part Ii
4. Across The River Styx (0:45)
5. A Flock Of Souls (1:46)
6. Along The Towpath (2:03)
7. The Sky Road (1:41)
8. Tears On A Rainy Day (5:01)
9. Tiwai: Island Of The Apes (3:46) :
- I) Bats
- Ii) In The Firmament
10. Wild Voices, Quiet Waters Suite (4:39)
- I) Twilight On The Lake
- Ii) Winterloons
- Iii) Waterstar
11. Serenita (2:12)
12. Timepiece (1:52)
13. Field Of Eternity (Excerpts From Original Version) (4:01)
14. The Beggar And The Thief (6:36)

Total Time: 59:50

Line-up / Musicians

- Anthony Phillips / vocals, keyboards, guitars, composer & producer

- David Thomas / guitar (14)
- Ronnie Gunn / harmonium (14)
- Martin Robertson / soprano sax (8)
- Joji Hirota / cymbals (2)

Releases information

Subtitled "A Collection of Archive, Commission & Unreleased Album Material"

Artwork: Roger Hunt with Anthony Phillips (photo)

CD Brainworks Records ‎- BWKD 212 (1994, UK)

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy ANTHONY PHILLIPS Missing Links, Volume 2 - The Sky Road Music

ANTHONY PHILLIPS Missing Links, Volume 2 - The Sky Road ratings distribution

(37 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(8%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(22%)
Good, but non-essential (54%)
Collectors/fans only (16%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

ANTHONY PHILLIPS Missing Links, Volume 2 - The Sky Road reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by kev rowland
3 stars This is subtitled 'The Sky Road ? A Collection Of Archive, Commission & Unreleased Album Material'. Anthony Phillips probably never has a review that doesn't contain within it somewhere the fact that he was a founding member of Genesis; so let this not be an exception. As may be gathered from the above, the music contained on this album was written for it, and one piece goes back as far as 1969! The most recent songs come from 1991, and there are notes telling the listener where each song originally comes from, some rationale, and when it was written and recorded.

The number of most interest to Genesis fans will be "The Beggar and the Thief" which was originally committed to tape with Mike Rutherford in 1969. However, that version is now 'lost' and this version was recorded without him in 1973. It is one of the few songs to feature vocals and overall this album is interesting, but mostly atmospheric as opposed to dynamic. It is useful as background music, and music to relax to, but not one to which I would be turning very readily.

Originally appeared in Feedback #63, July 01

Latest members reviews

2 stars The title of the album suggessts that this would be a non-essential music potentially spanning several years or decades and it is so. Various periods, styles and instruments keep the record from being repetitive or monotonous. However, it does not necessarily mean that the record is memorable or ... (read more)

Report this review (#2242886) | Posted by sgtpepper | Saturday, August 10, 2019 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of ANTHONY PHILLIPS "Missing Links, Volume 2 - The Sky Road"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.