Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Anthony Phillips

Symphonic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Anthony Phillips Anthony Phillips & Joji Hirota: Missing Links, Volume 3 - Time & Tide album cover
3.60 | 36 ratings | 3 reviews | 6% 5 stars

Excellent addition to any
prog rock music collection

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 1997

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Amazonas (1:22)
2. Peruvian Plains (1:07)
3. Manatee Garden (2:41)
4. Turtle Race (4:02)
5. Indio Wedding (2:42)
6. Underwater Forest (1:58)
7. Fiesta Del Charangos (2:22)
8. Slow Hand Sloth (1:51)
9. River Chase (1:03)
10. Sacred Kingdom (2:02)
11. African Dream (1:29)
12. Bedouin Train (2:26)
13. Sandstorm (3:08)
14. Kalahari March (2:53)
15. Songoku (3:51)
16. Schuan Journey (3:19)
17. Slow Boat To China (4:16)
18. Back In The Land Of Dragons (2:07)
19. Shadow Puppet (3:22)
20. Sea Jewel (3:07)
21. End Theme For Five (1:03)
22. Minnow Dance (1:02)
23. Sunken Galleons (1:57)
24. Haunting The Dark Sea (2:00)
25. Time And Tide (2:11)
26. Okavanga (2:08)
27. Under Desert Stars (1:17)
28. Lost In A Desert Night (1:25)
29. Blue Lagoons (2:34)

Total Time: 66:45

Line-up / Musicians

- Anthony Phillips / keyboards, guitars, charango, amandocello, composer & co-producer
- Joji Hirota / percussion, flutes, recorder, shakuhachi, composer & co-producer

- Gue Yue / Chinese flute (15,16)

Releases information

Sub-titled "Television & Library Music 1992-1997"

Artwork: Anthony Phillips (photo)

CD Blueprint ‎- BP272CD (1997, UK)

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy ANTHONY PHILLIPS Anthony Phillips & Joji Hirota: Missing Links, Volume 3 - Time & Tide Music

ANTHONY PHILLIPS Anthony Phillips & Joji Hirota: Missing Links, Volume 3 - Time & Tide ratings distribution

(36 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(6%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(44%)
Good, but non-essential (39%)
Collectors/fans only (11%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

ANTHONY PHILLIPS Anthony Phillips & Joji Hirota: Missing Links, Volume 3 - Time & Tide reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Hibou
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
4 stars Anthony Phillips is a rare bird: he has given us some clever little medieval tunes in the 70s, some pop albums in the 80s, even some classically-tinged music in the 90s. However, "Time and Tide" doesn't fit into any of these categories. Calling it 'progressive' would be stretchting it ; calling it 'rock', even more so. What we have here are snippets of music written for various TV projects and especially for a wildlife documentary entitled "Creatures of the Magic Water". And the music on "Time and Tide" is very fluid indeed. It is made up of 29 instrumentals averaging 2 minutes each. A word of caution to you progsters if you crave long epics: this is not the kind of concept album to sink your teeth into: more like a box of miniature chocolates you want to savour gently, deliberately, letting each delicate morsel melt slowly into your mouth.

Although all tracks are extremely short, each one is complete in itself and beautifully crafted, creating vivid images of the "Amazonas", "Peruvian Plains", "Underwater Forests", "Blue Lagoons" and other equally enchanted "Sacred Kingdoms" in the listener's mind. The instruments that stand out are Phillips' own keyboards, 12-string guitar and percussion; the flute and the recorder also feature prominently (played by Joji Hirota), as do some occasional Chinese instruments (played by Guo Yue).

If you can appreciate music that is not 'prog' in the strictest sense (or 'rock', for that matter), you'll find this album absolutely charming. And in case you were inclined to think so, there is absolutely NO WAY you can label it as 'New Age': it is far too engaging and absolutely not meant for passive listening. If ever you find the "Private Parts & Pieces" series a little too classically tinged for your tastes, chances are you'll enjoy "Time and Tide". As a prog rock album, it scores 'no star'. As a gem from the deepest recesses of Neptune's underwater kingdom, it shines like four.

Latest members reviews

3 stars Third release with missing pieces has multiple layers to offer from meditative/ambient music in the first tracks to guitar- based more conventional pieces. "Turtle Race" has unusual to its name, fast percussions and quiet synth textures. Some of the tracks have a world-music ,vibe to it: South ... (read more)

Report this review (#2242893) | Posted by sgtpepper | Saturday, August 10, 2019 | Review Permanlink

4 stars After a full 2 years of diving into Phillips' discography, (and reeling in a bountiful amount of gems) I've now decided to review EACH Phillips album, in hopes that more people will discover his underground legacy. Now, this quest has just begun, since it takes months (at least!) to have a defin ... (read more)

Report this review (#1130962) | Posted by Raccoon | Wednesday, February 12, 2014 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of ANTHONY PHILLIPS "Anthony Phillips & Joji Hirota: Missing Links, Volume 3 - Time & Tide"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.