Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Symphonic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Transatlantic KaLIVEoscope album cover
4.43 | 71 ratings | 3 reviews | 63% 5 stars

Essential: a masterpiece of
progressive rock music

Write a review

from partners
DVD/Video, released in 2014

Songs / Tracks Listing

DVD / BluRay - Live in Cologne
1. Into the Blue (26:12)
2. My New World (17:29)
3. Shine (7:22)
4. The Whirlwind Medley (29:34)
5. Beyond the Sun (4:24)
6. Kaleidoscope (31:30)
7. Neal & Roine Duet (3:41)
8. We All Need Some Light (5:56)
9. Black as the Sky (8:43)
- Encore:
10. Medley: All of the Above / Stranger in Your Soul (26:06)

DVD Total Time 160:57

Bonus DVD / Bonus features on Blu-ray
1. Into the Kaleidoscope - A behind the scenes look at: Kaleidoscope World Tour 2014 (81:52)
2. Band Interviews (22:31)
3. Bonus Live Performances:
3.1. Nights In White Satin (Live in Tilburg) (7:46)
3.2. Sylvia (with Thijs van Leer - Live in Tilburg) (3:46)
3.3. Hocus Pocus (with Thijs van Leer - Live in Tilburg) (7:53)

Additional extras on DVD: Mike Portnoy vs Neal Morse in "Name That Beatles Tune"

CD 1 - Live in Tilburg (53:40)
1. Into the Blue (27:49)
2. My New World (18:28)
3. Shine (7:23)

CD 2 - Live in Tilburg (66:32)
1. The Whirlwind Medley (30:12)
2. Beyond the Sun (4:50)
3. Kaleidoscope (31:30)

CD 3 - Live in Tilburg (62:39)
1. Neal & Roine Duet (4:34)
2. We All Need Some Light (6:05)
3. Black as the Sky (7:22)
4. Nights in White Satin (8:09)
5. Sylvia (4:46)
6. Hocus Pocus (7:09)
7. Medley: All of the Above / Stranger in Your Soul (24:34)

3CD Total Time 182:51

Line-up / Musicians

- Neal Morse / vocals, keyboards, acoustic guitars
- Roine Stolt / vocals, guitars
- Mike Portnoy / drums, vocals
- Pete Trewavas / bass, vocals
- Ted Leonard / guitars, keyboards, percussion, vocals

Releases information

Radiant, October 27, 2014

Available in 4 versions:
1. BluRay (Cologne - 1 disc)
2. Special Edition Digipak (3 Tilburg audio CDs + Cologne DVD)
3. Ltd. Deluxe Edition Box Set (Cologne DVD + 3 Tilburg audio CDs + Cologne BluRay + Bonus DVD)
4. Ltd. Deluxe Edition Box Set + A Proggy Christmas Bundle (2012 "A Proggy Christmas" CD by Neal Morse, available only via Radiant website)

Thanks to mbzr48 for the addition
and to projeKct for the last updates
Edit this entry


TRANSATLANTIC KaLIVEoscope ratings distribution

(71 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(63%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(31%)
Good, but non-essential (6%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)


Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by rdtprog
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Heavy, RPI, Symph, JR/F Canterbury Teams
4 stars what have started as a side project is now 15 years later a permanent band with 4 albums and live dvds, the latest "Kalivesoscope" is taken from the album title "Kaleidoscope". To illustrate the concept, the band decide to include in the back a screen with visuals of constant moving forms. The band started their career live tour with medleys of covers because they didn't have enough material to make it a complete concert. Now they have to do medleys of their own songs, because they have too much material. So the band played a "Whirlwind" medley and a encore of medley of "All of the Above" and Stranger in Your Soul". The songs are long, but they did squeeze in some shorter and lighter song to get a nice flow to the show.

When you know all of the previous albums and songs from the band, it's normal to enjoy a bit more the new songs from the latest album. The music has always been a continuation of Neal Morse's solo music with long symphonic epic, but in song like "Behind The Sun", Roine Stolt can brings his output from Flower Kings. Ted Leonard of Spock's Beard and Enchant replace Daniel Gildenlow playing guitars and vocals. We can appreciate his nice voice despite the more present vocals of Neal Morse. It was interesting to include in the extras some covers versions of "Sylvia" and "Hocus Pocus" with Thijs Van Leer of Focus, taken from another show in Tilburg. The extras also contains a interview and a behind the scenes of the world tour with a long segment of the Progressive Nation at Cruise with Adrian Belew and Jon Anderson playing with the band. Mike Portnoy would say in the interview that, it was one of his top show in his career.

Review by ProgShine
COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
5 stars First of all, my edition is not the one pointed on PA. I have the 3 CD+DVD edition.

Anyway, by now everyone that pay attention on Neal Morse's career know that he's into the 'one studio album, one tour, one live album' situation. Of course that in one of his big projects, Transatlantic, would not be different! KaLIVEoscope (2014) was released following their tour to support their new studio album Kaleidoscope (2014) released earlier this year.

You might argue that we don't need yet another Transatlantic live album, after all this if their 5th (against 4 studio albums). But truth is, each tour has a different taste. I own Whirld Tour 2010 (2010) and I can say that KaLIVEoscope (2014) feels different, by many reasons.

First, this time we don't have Daniel Gildenlow as the 5th member of the band, as he was still recovering from his skin disease. Instead we have Ted Leaonard (Enchant & Spock's Beard) playing guitars, keyboards and singing (very well by the way). Second, the band changed the tracklist for this tour so they could play the new tunes and also play songs they weren't playing for some time such as 'My New World', there's even some Focus on the bill too. Unfortunately we don't have 'Duel With The Devil' but as it was always present in the past live albums I can understand why it's out this time.

3 CDs may seem too much but for Transatlantic is needed as their show is almost 3 hours long. The cherry on the top of the cake is the DVD that comes in the box. The nice thing about this set is that the CD was recorded in Tilburg (Netherlands) and the DVD in Cologne (Germany), this makes the experience of watching and listening unique instead of just a repetition.

Despite the weak joke with the name of the album KaLIVEoscope (2014) is a highlight for 2014, a year that for me was very weak in new releases, this album comes as a joy for as this ears are tired of the so called 'new prog'.

Go for it without reservations! Very recommended.

Latest members reviews

3 stars This one is a bit tough for me: three stars seems a bit rough, while anything higher is unjustified. Well, consider this a 3.5 rating then. I discovered Transatlantic only two years ago, shortly after getting acquainted with Spock's Beard music, and I was lucky enough to experience them live ... (read more)

Report this review (#1349565) | Posted by Ieshee1i | Tuesday, January 20, 2015 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of TRANSATLANTIC "KaLIVEoscope"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.