Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Syzygy Cosmos and Chaos (2013) 20th Anniversary Compendium album cover
3.33 | 8 ratings | 4 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review

Buy SYZYGY Music
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2014

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Cosmos (Guitar Prelude in E Major) (1:18)
2. Poetry in B Minor (for solo piano) (1:15)
3. Guitar Etude No. 1 (D Major) (2:21)
4. Guitar Etude No. 2 (G Major) (4:10)
5. Tautology (for guitar & bass) (3:55)
6. The Tone Row (for keyboard & guitar) (2:15)
7. Voyager (5:23)
8. Circadian Rhythm (3:36)
9. Closure (7:14)
10. Strange Loop II (6:22)
11. Mount Ethereal (7:34)
12. Chaos (Fantasia on drums) (1:47)
13. Opus No. 1 (Witsend Quartet - 1984) (5:46)
14. Opus No. 3 (Witsend Quartet - 1984) (6:01)
15. Strange Loop II (live 2010) (6:38)
16. Mount Ethereal (live 2010) (8:03)

Total Time 73:38

Line-up / Musicians

- Carl Baldassarre / guitars, vocals
- Sam Giunta / keyboards
- Paul Mihacevich / drums, percussion
- Al Rolik / bass, vocals
- Mark Boals / vocals (15,16)
- Gary Priebe / bass (13,14)
- Roman Zmudzinski / drums (13,14)

Releases information

CD FHL Records 8 27770-11233 3 (2014 US)

Thanks to rivertree for the addition
and to projeKct for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy SYZYGY Cosmos and Chaos (2013) 20th Anniversary Compendium Music

SYZYGY Cosmos and Chaos (2013) 20th Anniversary Compendium ratings distribution

(8 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(38%)
Good, but non-essential (62%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

SYZYGY Cosmos and Chaos (2013) 20th Anniversary Compendium reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Rivertree
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator / Band Submissions
3 stars Now this a really unique affair! In 2013 the band celebrated the 20th anniversary of their debut 'Cosmos And Chaos', and - without question - this is a valuable cause to release something special for the progressive rock community. Hence they do us the favour to provide a retrospective which features re-mastered, re-performed and even re-discovered band material, summed up by the motto 'Music For The Ears, Mind & Soul'. Alongside with the disc comes a nice book, just a compendium if you will, offering some interesting informations and neat personal insights. This is signed by the musicians on top of it, who are Carl E Baldassare (guitar) and Sam Giunta (keyboards) in particular, as they are founding members as well as the main composers, but also drummer Paul Mihacevic and Al Rolik (bass), who are longtime companions in the meanwhile.

What should one expect from an anniversary statement in terms of the music? Neither a remake of their fantastic live album 'A Glorious Disturbance', that figures, nor really new song material as such. So much the more we are going back to the band's start basically, this related with the fact that they had a kick off under another moniker, namely Witsend. The two previously unreleased songs Opus No. 1 and Opus No. 3 are of the rarest and earliest type hereby, and concerning the timeline there's another leap of 10 years backwards to accomplish. Former members Gary Priebe (bass) and Roman Zmudzinski (drums) are involved on this occasion. Here they are proving compositional and technical skills at any rate. The sound quality though, while being recorded on cassette tape, is obviously lacking of fidelity.

The song titles by the way are pointing to their classical and symphonic tinged roots, I'm quite sure. And it goes on in this way with some miniatures, which means short solo works on guitar and piano, and then going over to some duets and later on to several common debut album excerpts.which are showing the band in full power. Finally it's a real benefit to add two live cuts from 2010 to the collection. The compositions are shining in all its glory, featuring five musicians (a singer is on board too) in top form. As for that I strongly recommend to get in touch with 'A Glorious Disturbance'. However, this nicely packed anniversary compilation is a must have for fans either way, and surely a good starter if you are going to become aquainted with the early creative period of this band.

Review by Windhawk
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
3 stars While the US band SYZYGY didn't official form until 2003, the band has a history going back many years. Initially all the way back to 1980 and a band called Abraxas, but more in case here is the prehistory of the band lasting from 1984 until 2003, when they were known as Witsend. Witsend released one album in the almost 20 years of its existence, namely "Cosmos & Chaos", which saw the light of day in 1993. This 2014 release by Syzygy revisits the album 20 years on, and while recorded in 2013, this production wasn't officially available until 2014, when it was self-released by Syzygy.

Syzygy has been a project in the works and in development for multiple decades, and the album "Cosmos & Chaos" was a first important step for them when it was issued in 1993 under the Witsend moniker. This anniversary edition is a slight improvement over the original release in sound. A pleasant affair that merits a check by those who are intrigued by bands exploring the meeting points between classic progressive rock and hard rock, as well as existing fans of both Syzygy and Witsend.

Latest members reviews

4 stars Caveat: Regardless of how much I love a band or album (and Syzygy is one of my very favorite progressive rock bands), I am not the biggest fan of remastered albums unless the original had glaring production flaws. So, what do I think of this new 2014 reissue of Syzygy's "Cosmos and Chaos" al ... (read more)

Report this review (#2439358) | Posted by Squire Jaco | Wednesday, August 19, 2020 | Review Permanlink

4 stars It says that diamonds are eternal,ant that's a true statement!That's the same thing with this timeless album,which has been re-released 20 years after it's birth!Man...20 years since COSMOS AND CHAOS saw the light of day!What can I say now,20 years after...Only that this album didn't get any t ... (read more)

Report this review (#1370577) | Posted by Ovidiu | Friday, February 20, 2015 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of SYZYGY "Cosmos and Chaos (2013) 20th Anniversary Compendium"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.