Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Manfred Mann's Earth Band

Eclectic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Manfred Mann's Earth Band Mann Alive album cover
3.49 | 24 ratings | 5 reviews | 8% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Live, released in 1998

Songs / Tracks Listing

Disc 1: 67:36
1. Martha's Madman (10:06)
2. Times they are a changin (6:36)
3. You Angel You (4:09)
4. Father of Day, Father of Night (10:26)
5. For You (3:43)
6. It's a Fine Line (1:32)
7. Demolition Man (7:15)
8. Nothing Ever Happens (4:46)
9. She Was (3:40)
10. Blinded by the Light (8:59)
11. Davy's on the Road Again (6:24)

Disc 2: 38:50
1. I'll Give You (2:15)
2. Shelter from the Storm (6:26)
3. Redemption Song (3:38)
4. The Mighty Quinn (6:52)
5. Demolition Mann (short version) (3:06)
6. Blinded by the light (short version) (4:54)
7. Redemption Song (3:50)
8. Instrumedicine Song (4:06)
9. Sikelele 1 (3:43)

Total Time: 106:26

Line-up / Musicians

- Steve Kinch / bass
- Manfred Mann / keyboards, vocals on "Blinded"
- Noel McCalla / vocals
- Mick Rogers / guitar, vocals
- Chris Thompson / vocals
- John Trotter / drums

Releases information

2xcd. Virgin 7243 8 46083

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
Edit this entry


MANFRED MANN'S EARTH BAND Mann Alive ratings distribution

(24 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(8%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(42%)
Good, but non-essential (42%)
Collectors/fans only (8%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)


Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by ZowieZiggy
3 stars This third live album of the Mann is not significantly different from the other ones but slightly better overall.

OK, it is a double one which could mean that the fan would get the chance to get a full concert available. But there is nothing as such.

The second CD is called "Encore & More". Not the best way to describe a live set...Half a concert and about half of repeated tracks BUT in a shorter format for most of the song.

Some exception like the great "Shelter From The Storm" from their latest studio album (Vengeance) which is by far my fave track from this second CD. And to have two versions of the very average Marley "Redemption Song" is not a great experience.

I have never liked "Demolition Man": nor "The Police" original, nor the Mann studio version, nor any live versions. On the contrary of course of a jewel like "Blinded By The Light". A great pop song, with feeling like I enjoy a lot. And the shorter version works very well since it avoids some useless repetitions.

But there are other enjoyable songs on this live album like "Davy's On The Road Again" with its heavy & pumping organ play, the hard and soul-ish "The Mighty Quinn" and a good (but not exceptional) rendition of "Father Of Day, Father Of Night" (even if the great guitar of the studio version is not really on par). The fully expanded version of "Blinded" on the first CD is also well achieved. As the spacey instrumental She Was (one of my fave, but too short).

There are also some down points, unfortunately (Nothing Ever Happens, Sikelele).

All in all, this is probably the best Mann live album available. Three stars.

Latest members reviews

3 stars I must admit when purchasing this album from the record store, I was looking very much forward to getting home and giving it a blast. The recording is good, but this album lacks more of the early stuff. Once again just like Budapest, it covers more of the Chris Thompson period. There are track ... (read more)

Report this review (#125376) | Posted by intruder369 | Sunday, June 10, 2007 | Review Permanlink

4 stars If you have seen MM's EB on stage, with the last singer ( Noel Mc Calla) these 2 CDs are a good transcription of Manfred Mann music in concert. It' an interesting way to discover all Manfred Mann' s Earth Band career 'cause all titles on those CDs were written from the end of the 60'ies ( Mig ... (read more)

Report this review (#41204) | Posted by jipé | Monday, August 1, 2005 | Review Permanlink

4 stars This is the second Earthband Live Album. I read the Interview with Manfred Mann, and he didn't really likes this record. Why ever... But it sounds like a typical Earthband Live Concert, has a lot of variation in the songs and..... i stop here, it's just Manfred Mann Feeling. This album is no ... (read more)

Report this review (#28179) | Posted by | Sunday, May 23, 2004 | Review Permanlink

4 stars I have always had a soft spot for MMEBs early 70s albums, the later period (from 'Watch' an later) being to "easy-listening" for my taste. However, as a LIVE band, now that's a different story. The role of Mann & co as composers of prog music may undoubtedly be argued, the best tracks on their album ... (read more)

Report this review (#28178) | Posted by | Thursday, March 4, 2004 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of MANFRED MANN'S EARTH BAND "Mann Alive"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.