Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Riutta Sinun täytyy elää vielä kerran album cover
3.96 | 7 ratings | 1 reviews | 43% 5 stars

Write a review

Buy RIUTTA Music
from partners
Studio Album, released in 2016

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Pyhäjoki (4:45)
2. Valkoinen kohina (6:29)
3. Takaisin pimeään (4:54)
4. Sykli (8:00)
5. Kahdeksan minuuttia (6:15)
6. Terminaattori (6:09)
7. Lorenz (2:19)
8. Anteeksi nimessä ja veressä (6:36)

Total Length 45:41

Line-up / Musicians

- Henri Turunen / vocals, guitars, keyboards
- Mikko Vuorela / guitars, keyboards
- Antti Takalo / bass
- Jarkko Kangas / drums, keyboards

- Juha-Heikki Niemi / trumpet & flugelhorn (1, 2)
- Antti Näpänkangas / trombone (1, 4)
- Laura Näpänkangas / backing vocals (5)

Releases information

(C) Luova Records 2016.

Thanks to Matti for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy RIUTTA Sinun täytyy elää vielä kerran Music

More places to buy RIUTTA music online

RIUTTA Sinun täytyy elää vielä kerran ratings distribution

(7 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(43%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(29%)
Good, but non-essential (14%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (14%)

RIUTTA Sinun täytyy elää vielä kerran reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Matti
4 stars Northern Finnish band RIUTTA released their debut Kaikki On Hyvin in 2013. Being now signed to the new Luova Records they have finally made a follow-up; the title means "You Must Live One More Time". The good-looking cover design is By Henri Turunen (vcals,guitars, keyboards). This album is a clear improvement over the debut: the songs are more atmospheric and the sound mellower and more balanced.

Three of the four members play keyboards in addition to their primary instrument, but actually keys remain quite unnoticeable in the background, while the more or less distorted guitar dominates, though not at all too much. There's a slight Post-Rock feel and the rather melancholic atmosphere could be compared to bands such as PORCUPINE TREE and RADIOHEAD. The opener named by a river operates between edginess and dreamy softness - like the album in general. One must consciously concentrate on sparse lyrics - and be a speaker of Finnish language! - and notice the powerfu imagery ("I push you to the bottom") to fully sense the emotional depth, as the Steven Wilson -like frail vocals are very far from insistent sharpness.

The longest, 8-minute track 'Sykli' has a relatively extended instrumental passage with harmonium-sounding keyboards. 'Kahdeksan minuuttia' (= 8 Minutes) in which "the sun won't rise anymore" is my favourite song with its distinctive drum pattern and the guest appearance of female backing vocals. 'Lorenz' is an acoustically oriented, delicate little song. The vocal distortion in the final track sounds tiringly passé, but as a whole this album is a winner that grows on the listener.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of RIUTTA "Sinun täytyy elää vielä kerran"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.