Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Project: Patchwork

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Project: Patchwork Re|Flection album cover
3.72 | 54 ratings | 3 reviews | 19% 5 stars

Excellent addition to any
prog rock music collection

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2018

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. (P)reflection (2:08)
2. Struggle and Agony (8:09)
3. Yearning for Confraternity (7:02)
4. Worried Citizens (9:21)
5. Fear of Loss (6:16)
6. First Disorder (7:21)
7. Inferno (6:05)
8. Last Horizon (3:22)
9. Of Sheeps and Wolves (9:28)
10. A Winter's Tale (9:55)
11. Reflection (2:57)

Total Time 72:04

Line-up / Musicians

- Gerd Albers / acoustic & electric guitars, drums, backing vocals
- Peter Koll / spoken word (1), backing vocals (9)

- Larry Brödel / vocals (3,5)
- Jessica Schmalle / vocals (2,8,11)
- Magdalena Buchel / vocals (4,6)
- Melanie Mau / vocals (10)
- Lars Begerow / vocals (2,9)
- Olaf Kobbe / vocals (4,7)
- Damaris Halbach / backing vocals
- Volker Wichmann / backing vocals
- Martin Schnella / guitars, backing vocals
- John Mitchell / guitar solo (2)
- Markus Steffen / guitar solo (3)
- David M. Scholtz / guitar solo (4)
- Stephan Pankow / guitar solo (6)
- Marek Arnold / keyboards, woodwinds (2,4-6,9)
- Jürgen Borchert / keyboards (6,7)
- Hendrik Hottenbacher / keyboards (2,4,10)
- Johannes Hahn / piano
- Matthias Bangert / bass (3,7,10)
- Stefan Drees / bass (2,4,8)
- Matthias Becker / bass (5,6,9)
- Niklas Kahl / percussion (2,5,8)

Releases information

Artwork: Verena I. Fontana & Dave Mola

CD Progressive Promotion Records - PPR-061 (2018, Germany)

Digital album (March 31, 2018)

Thanks to mbzr48 for the addition
and to projeKct for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy PROJECT: PATCHWORK Re|Flection Music

PROJECT: PATCHWORK Re|Flection ratings distribution

(54 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(19%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(41%)
Good, but non-essential (33%)
Collectors/fans only (2%)
Poor. Only for completionists (6%)

PROJECT: PATCHWORK Re|Flection reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by kev rowland
4 stars Project: Patchwork is a studio project that has been put together by two German musicians, Gerd Albers and Peter Koll, along with the odd friend. This is the second album, and this time they have used less personnel than on the debut, so only 22 additional players and singers this time round. I noted that this had been recorded by Marek Arnold, Martin Schnella and Peter Koll, and given that the first two are bandmates in a few different outfits, it is not surprising that we have a polished outcome (Marek also mixed the album). A quick glance through the names involved and I spotted John Mitchell (on the road with Arena as I write this) and Melanie Mau, who most recently has been involved with Martin and Marek on the Art Rock Project ('Stay' is still my single favourite song of the year to date).

With so many different musicians and voices it is often hard to provide an album that doesn't come across as a hotchpotch of styles, let alone a patchwork, but somehow this has been pulled together into something that is incredibly melodic. I have been fortunate to hear most of Marek's work recently, and I can hear that he has had a major part to play in the arrangements and the way that the album has come out in the end. This is a polished piece of work that fans of Flaming Row and Seven Steps to the Green Door will be looking out for. There is a strong piano base at times, with good keyboards and guitars which allow the singers to be full of confidence. Listening to this has made me realise that I am yet to write a review for the debut, and that I really need to set to and give it some serious listening, as after hearing this I want to find out more. Melodic progressive rock with strong guitars and great vocals, this is a delight.

Review by Windhawk
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
4 stars German venture PROJECT: PATCHWORK is the creative vehicle of composer and musician Gerd Albers. Following many years of work he released his debut album as Project: Patchwork in 2015, aided by a score of fellow musicians. Three years later we find this project signed to German label Progressive Promotion Records, who released the second album by this venture in the first half of 2018.

This is a venture I regard as one still in development, but it is developing nicely and to the point of now having the qualities needed to possibly entice a larger crowd. If you tend to enjoy music of the kind that resides on the borders between hard rock, progressive rock and folk music, Project: Patchwork's second album is one that merits an inspection. A few levels shy of the quality of the Ayreon's of this world, but a good and diverse album.

Latest members reviews

3 stars Gerd Albers and Peter Koll released 'Tales of a Hidden Dream' in 2015 and continue with 'Reflection'. A reflection on the world in which we live, so a lot of questions! From this album 20, I say twenty singers, musicians have come together to finalize this disc after 8 years and 3 recording stud ... (read more)

Report this review (#2741248) | Posted by alainPP | Monday, May 2, 2022 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of PROJECT: PATCHWORK "Re|Flection"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.