Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Experimental/Post Metal

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Hypno5e Alba - Les ombres errantes album cover
4.55 | 29 ratings | 4 reviews | 52% 5 stars

Essential: a masterpiece of
progressive rock music

Write a review

Buy HYPNO5E Music
from partners
Studio Album, released in 2018

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Who Wakes Up from This Dream Does Not Bear My Name (11:10)
2. Cuarto del Alba (7:11)
3. L'ombre errante (2:07)
4. Night on the Petrified Sea (10:58)
5. The Wandering Shadows (7:33)
6. Los Heraldos Negros (10:21)
7. Ojos Azules (3:06)
8. Calling (4:08)
9. Agua (1:59)
10. Light of Desert and the Shadows Inside (15:33)

Total Time 74:06

Line-up / Musicians

- Emmanuel Jessua / guitar, vocals
- Jonathan Maurois / guitar
- Gredin / bass
- Théo Begue / drums

Releases information

First full length movie directed by singer and guitar player Emmanuel Jessua, his band has turned down their amps, or switched them off entirely, to provide the stunning 75 minutes soundtrack for this ambitious project.

Label: Pelagic Records
Format: CD, Digital, Vinyl
April 6, 2018

Thanks to mbzr48 for the addition
and to projeKct for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy HYPNO5E Alba - Les ombres errantes Music

HYPNO5E Alba - Les ombres errantes ratings distribution

(29 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(52%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(21%)
Good, but non-essential (17%)
Collectors/fans only (10%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

HYPNO5E Alba - Les ombres errantes reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by BrufordFreak
COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
5 stars Beautiful acoustic guitar-based soundtrack music inspired by (or meant to accompany?) Bolivian-born band- member Emmanuel Jessua's film, Alba - Les Ombres Errantes.

1. "Who Wakes Up From This Dream Does Not Bear My Name" (11:10) great sound, great music, diminished by the weak vocals. Reminds me a lot of a gentler, better recorded AGALLOCH. (17.5/20)

2. "Cuarto Del Alba" (7:11) several sections of film dialogue within the softer sections of music, in Bolivian Spanish and French! (13.5/15)

3. "L'ombre Érrante" (2:07) piano and synth interlude (4.5/5)

4. "Night On The Petrified Sea" (10:58) the voice of the Spanish-speaking female narrator over the first 85 second of the song make one fully aware that this album was intended as a soundtrack to a film or story. The music that follows is excellent--especially the acoustic guitar work. Even the singing is pretty good here. The song builds toward the end of the fourth minute until a slide guitar solo takes over the lead at the 4:05 mark. Vocal "ahhs" are nice as are the delicate harmony vocals in the next section. Another narration passage in the eighth minute leads into a slightly more dynamic instrumental section before almost music drops out for a different female narrator--this one in French--speaking over some very eerie, unsettling ambient music. (18/20)

5. "The Wandering Shadows" (7:33) percussions and strings open this one before the full band joins in with a gorgeous motif and vocal melody. The instrumental sections between the vocal sections are even better. The French dialogue inserted in the quiet places makes it even more interesting for the contrasts. And then singing in English in the second verse followed by another gorgeous instrumental section during the fourth minute. My favorite song on the album. (15/15)

6. "Los Heraldos Negros" (10:21) quite a dynamic and moody piece, changing pace and tones several times over the course of its ten minutes while displaying the guitarist's Spanish guitar virtuosity. Up till the seven minute mark when the spoken soundtrack joins in there is an amazingly stressful sense of the pressure or at least presence of Time pushing the song (and the listener) along. It's really difficult to explain, but it's there and it's disturbing. Amazing! My other top three song. (19/20)

7. "Ojos Azules" (3:06) gorgeous layered acoustic folk music over which multiple voices sing in equally gorgeous harmonies. Another top three song for me. (10/10)

8. "Calling" (4:08) drums, bass, and electrified dobro-sounding guitar open this one before multiple layered vocals burst in singing in English. Amazing how multiple languages are used with such facility throughout this album. (9/10)

9. "Agua" (1:59) high pitched synth drone over which echoed acoustic guitar is played. (4/5)

10. "Light Of Desert And The Shadows Inside" (15:33) Ulver-esque (26.25/30)

Total Time 74:06

I must admit, this music is gorgeous and as a film soundtrack I'm quite impressed and awed by this effort and production. I've said it before: This is the kind of purpose I feel progressive rock music has always served well.

A-/five stars; a minor masterpiece of folk-inspired progressive rock soundtrack music.

Latest members reviews

5 stars HYPNO5E - ALBA ? Les hombres errantes This review makes some general observations on the album, and henceforth comments track by track. My first observation is about something I truly admire on a band: their ability to make an album different from their usual style. "Alba" is a symphonic ... (read more)

Report this review (#2969395) | Posted by arymenezes | Friday, November 24, 2023 | Review Permanlink

5 stars 'Twas after I heard the film soundtrack 'Alba - Les Ombres Errantes' (2018) by Hypno5e that I learned they have been active as a French prog metal band since 2003. It was actually their acoustic-based alter-ego, A Backwards Glance on a Travel Road, led by Emmanuel Jessua (ABGoaTR, same members a ... (read more)

Report this review (#2778586) | Posted by nylonstrings | Thursday, July 21, 2022 | Review Permanlink

4 stars Hypno5e is an experimental/post metal band from Montpellier, France, established in 2003. Their music is considered to be all-in-one with the visual arts, because the band's personnel are also professionals in the film industry. Their idea is to combine sound and space imagination, give it an abstra ... (read more)

Report this review (#1912413) | Posted by mitarai_panda | Thursday, April 5, 2018 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of HYPNO5E "Alba - Les ombres errantes"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.