Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Jazz Rock/Fusion

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Nucleus Torrid Zone - The Vertigo Recordings 1970-1975 album cover
4.08 | 5 ratings | 1 reviews | 40% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2019

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD 1:
--- "Elastic Rock" (1970) ---
1. 1916
2. Elastic Rock
3. Striation
4. Taranki
5. Twisted Track
6. Crude Blues (Pt. 1)
7. Crude Blues (Pt. 2)
8. 1916 - The Battle of Boogaloo
9. Torrid Zone
10. Stonescape
11. Earth Mother
12. Speaking for Myself, Personally, in My Own Opinion, I Think.
13. Persephone's Jive
--- "We'll Talk About It Later" (1970) ---
14. Song for the Bearded Lady
15. Sun Child
16. Lullaby for a Lonely Child
17. We'll Talk About It Later

CD 2:
1. Oasis
2. Ballad of Joe Pimp
3. Easter 1916
--- "Solar Plexus" (1971) ---
4. Elements I & II
5. Changing Times
6. Bedrock Deadlock
7. Spirit Level
8. Torso
9. Snakehips' Dream

CD 3:
--- "Belladonna" (1972) ---
1. Belladonna
2. Summer Rain
3. Remadione
4. May Day
5. Suspension
6. Hector's House
--- "Labyrinth" (1973) ---
7. Origins
8. Bull Dance
9. Ariadne
10. Arena

CD 4:
1. Exultation
2. Naxos
--- "Roots" (1973) ---
3. Roots
4. Images
5. Caliban
6. Whapatiti
7. Capricorn
8. Odokamona
9. Southern Roots and Celebration
--- "Under the Sun" (1974) ---
10. In Procession
11. The Addison Trip
12. Pastoral Graffiti
13. New Life
14. A Taste of Sasparilla

CD 5:
1. Theme 1 - Sasparilla
2. Theme 2 - Feast Alfresco
3. Theme 3 - Rites of Man
--- Snakehips Etcetera" (1975) ---
4. Rat's Bag
5. Alive and Kicking
6. Rachel's Tune
7. Snakehips Etcetera
8. Pussyfoot
9. Heyday

CD 6:
--- "Alleycat" (1975) ---
1. Phaideaux Corner
2. Alleycat
3. Splant
4. You Can't Be Sure
5. Nosegay

Line-up / Musicians

Releases information

Remastered 6-CD box set. Esoteric Recordings, ECLEC62663.
Date of release: 29th March 2019.

Thanks to Matti for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy NUCLEUS Torrid Zone - The Vertigo Recordings 1970-1975 Music

More places to buy NUCLEUS music online

NUCLEUS Torrid Zone - The Vertigo Recordings 1970-1975 ratings distribution

(5 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(40%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(60%)
Good, but non-essential (0%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

NUCLEUS Torrid Zone - The Vertigo Recordings 1970-1975 reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Matti
4 stars NUCLEUS and its frontman, trumpetist Ian Carr (the albums we are now dealing with have both the band name and Carr's name on top of them, in various combinations) were among the leading acts in the British jazz fusion scene in the early seventies. Those listeners that are into the [post-Third] jazz era of SOFT MACHINE, are most likely already familiar with Nucleus -- and if not, in Nucleus they will surely find another band to appreciate. In fact several musicians who had played in Nucleus joined Soft Machine: Karl Jenkins, Roy Babbington, Allan Holdsworth, John Marshall... This brand new Esoteric Recordings release Torrid Zone is a 6-disc (in total 6 h 20 min) box set containing nine Nucleus/Carr albums released by Vertigo in 1970-1975: Elastic Rock, We'll Talk About It Later, Solar Plexus, Belladonna, Labyrinth, Roots, Under the Sun, Snakehips Etcetera and Alleycat.

The 48-page booklet features the album informations and an essay written by rock journalist Sid Smith. Since the chronological continuum of the albums understandably divides many of them into two discs -- one disc having material from as many as three albums -- at least the booklet could have been slightly more systematically edited; for example the album covers are in many cases placed somewhere else, in the middle of the essay. Also I wish, as usual, that the track lengths were marked. Especially when they vary a lot, it would be good to know whether you're listening to a brief or a 15-minute piece.

In a nutshell, Nucleus played instrumental fusion/jazz-rock in which jazz is the dominant part of the equation. Trumpet, flugelhorn, saxes and flutes are central in the arrangements, but also guitar is often essential. Some of these albums are entirely composed by Ian Carr and some have many composers. Releasing nine albums in five years, what a work ethic Ian Carr had! No wonder that the line-up was under a constant change. The best known albums especially in prog circles are the first two that share the same line-up (e.g. guitarist Chris Spedding and reeds/keys player Karl Jenkins). Elastic Rock is seen as one of the most noteworthy fusion albums all time. Excuse me for not going into album-by-album analysis or into describing music in a more detailed fashion, I'll just pick up some interesting notions. Solar Plexus is, according to Carr's original liner notes, "based on two short themes which are stated at the beginning ('Elements I & II'). The first theme is angular and has a slow, crab-like movement: the second theme is direct, simple and diatonic". There are two shorter pieces exploring both themes, while 'Snakehip's Dream' "tries to fuse both themes". That long piece which Carr had been developing for a whole year was a sort of a musical blueprint for future Nucleus releases.

The Ian Carr album Belladonna features a relatively compact small group of six musicians. For me one of the most interesting albums here is Belladonna's follower Labyrinth (1973), a more "widescreen" work which was inspired by the Greek myth of the the Minotaur. Vocalist Norma Winstone has quite a big role on a couple of tracks. This album also features another celebrated trumpetist, Kenny Wheeler. BTW, drummer Tony Levin is just a name-sake of the famous bassist. Roots (1973) uses the vocals of Joy Yates, to a lesser extent. For the next album Under the Sun (1974) the whole line-up around Carr was changed (e.g. reeds player Bob Bertles, keyboardist Gordon Beck and guitarists Jocelyn Pitchen and Ken Shaw). The two final Vertigo albums albums, Snakehips Etcetera and Alleycat (both 1975) are funkier in style.

Ian Carr's most productive years as a musician ended during the 80's for health reasons. Alzheimer's disease led to his death in 2009. Today he is a notable forefigure for the new British jazz generation. This package of nine albums is a great hommage to his timeless work.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of NUCLEUS "Torrid Zone - The Vertigo Recordings 1970-1975"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.