Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


The Samurai Of Prog

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

The Samurai Of Prog Bernard & Pörsti: Gulliver album cover
3.83 | 127 ratings | 3 reviews | 23% 5 stars

Excellent addition to any
prog rock music collection

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2020

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Overture XI (7:42)
2. Lilliput Suite (17:53)
3. The Giants (8:42)
4. The Land of the Fools (14:30)
5. Gulliver's Fourth Travel (10:17)
6. Finale (3:11)

Total Time 62:15

Line-up / Musicians

- Marco Bernard / Rickenbacker & Shuker basses
- Kimmo Pörsti / drums & percussion

- Andrea Pavoni / keyboards
- Kari Riihimäki / guitars
- Marek Arnold / saxophone
- Oliviero Lacagnina / keyboards
- Marco Vincini / vocals
- Ruben Álvarez / electric guitar
- Rafael Pacha / acoustic & classical guitars, recorders
- Marc Papeghin / French horn, trumpet
- Olli Jaakkola / flute, piccolo
- Tsuboy Akihisa / violin
- Mimmo Ferri / keyboards
- Carmine Capasso / guitars
- Alessandro Di Benedetti / keyboards
- Daniel Fäldt / vocals
- Federico Tetti / guitars
- Massimo Sposaro / guitars
- Luca Scherani / keyboards
- Stefano Galifi / vocals
- Steve Unruh / vocals, violin
- Marcella Arganese / guitars
- Alessandro Lamuraglia / keyboards

Releases information

Artwork: Ed Unitsky

CD Seacrest Oy ‎- SCR-1023 (2020, Finland)

Thanks to TSoP2018 for the addition
and to projeKct for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy THE SAMURAI OF PROG Bernard & Pörsti: Gulliver Music

THE SAMURAI OF PROG Bernard & Pörsti: Gulliver ratings distribution

(127 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(23%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(37%)
Good, but non-essential (27%)
Collectors/fans only (10%)
Poor. Only for completionists (2%)

THE SAMURAI OF PROG Bernard & Pörsti: Gulliver reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Matti
4 stars (NB: The Samurai Of Prog is NOT "Crossover Prog", it's SYMPHONIC PROG, more and more clearly with each release, but I won't trouble the Symph team again on this matter.)

TSOP, this time namely bassist Marco Bernard and drummer Kimmo Pörsti from Finland (American Steve Unruh only guests here), continue producing multi-nationally composed and played first-rate symphonic concept albums with an amazing album per year phase. In 2019 came the anime/manga inspired Toki No Kaze, which I felt was the finest TSOP release so far. For me, this brand new album based on Jonathan Swift's classic satire isn't taking that place, but this is actually the most coherent TSOP album ever, with an easy-to-follow single narrative entity, dealing with Samuel Gulliver's adventures in four different imaginary lands.

There are six tracks on this 62-minute album. 'Overture XI' (7:42) is an instrumental composed by and featuring Andrea Pavoni on keyboards. Vintage keyboards dominate this RPI-flavoured piece, until the electric guitar (Kari Riihimäki) starts soloing after a pastorally quiet moment, later to be joined by Marek Arnold's saxophone. Excellent symphonic prog track!

'Lilliput Suite' (17:53) is the longest piece, divided into six movements. Composition and keys by Oliviero Lacagnina, and a wider guest list (e.g. violin, flute, trumpet). The music strongly resembles the Foxtrot-era GENESIS -- partly due to the Gabriel- esque vocals of Marco Vincini -- with some ELPish organ work and orchestral arrangements thrown in. The movement changes are not as seamless as they could be, but overall this is a fine symphonic prog epic in a classic style. It's important that there are delicate moments between more majestic parts, and lots of instrumental sections.

'The Giants' (8:42) is an instrumental symph prog piece, composition and keys by Mimmo Ferri. The excellent arrangement gives various instruments their own turns to play powerful melodies. 'The Land of the Fools' (14:30) is written by keyboardist Alessandro Di Benedetti and sung by Daniel Fäldt from Simon Says. I'm not very fond of the vocals as the lyrics occasionally feel too central, but on the numerous and lengthy instrumental sections the music is very versatile and nuanced, sometimes reminding of e.g. Flower Kings, sometimes Happy The Man. The delicate piano is in a classical / jazz mould. Beautiful, fusiony or Camel-like guitar parts by Federico Tetti and Massimo Sposaro.

On Luca Scherani -composed 'Gulliver's Fourth Travel' (10:17) vocalist-violinist Steve Unruh shares the bilingual vocals with Stefano Galifi from Museo Rosenbach. This very RPI-ish, dynamic piece is, especially in a dramaturgic sense, reminiscent of Genesis around 1972-4, plus the lovely violin. The album ends with Alessandro Lamuraglia's instrumental 'Finale' that indeed has a bold atmosphere of a grande finale.

As I said, "Gulliver" is a coherent album, despite sharing the composion duties between six various keyboardists. I wouldn't be surprised at all if several TSOP listeners named this one their favourite (well, the only preceding reviewer already did). As always, Ed Unitsky has done terrific job on the covers and the booklet.

Latest members reviews

5 stars Sensational new album from 2 of the amazing musicians of THE SAMURAI OF PROG-KIMMO PORSTY and MARCO BERNARD!The music on this amazing album is simply outstanding....vintage prog rock of the highest quality!Top prog rock and some amazing musicians involved in this ambitious project!The final re ... (read more)

Report this review (#2419175) | Posted by Ovidiu | Monday, July 13, 2020 | Review Permanlink

4 stars This could easily be my favorite TSOP (-1) album. Aiming the compositions at a common theme creates a musical cohesiveness that works really well throughout the entire album. Sure, there is plenty to recognize from vintage prog, but nothing borrowed. Kimmo Porsti and Marco Bernard have put together ... (read more)

Report this review (#2314036) | Posted by Danlsch | Saturday, February 8, 2020 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of THE SAMURAI OF PROG "Bernard & Pörsti: Gulliver"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.