Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Session Unikuva album cover
3.05 | 2 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 1974

Songs / Tracks Listing

Side A
1. Unikuva (7:19)
2. Sunny Blue (4:12)
3. Jäätelöprinsessa (3:37)
4. Tahdon Olla Kanssasi (2:43)
Side B
1. Torstin Tanssi (3:06)
2. Persialaisella Torilla (6:34)
3. Syksy (4:32)
4. Serenadi Huomiselle (2:57)

Total Time 35:00

Line-up / Musicians

- Mane Hyytiä / alto saxophone
- Hannu Kaikko / bass
- Juha Tykkälä / drums, voices
- Timo Heikkilä / guitars
- Osmo Seppälä / organ, electric piano
- Ari Pukkila / tenor saxophone, alto saxophone
- Leena Wiehn / voices (A1)

Releases information

LP EMI Odeon 5E062-35032 (1974)

Thanks to damoxt7942 for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy SESSION Unikuva Music

More places to buy SESSION music online

SESSION Unikuva ratings distribution

(2 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(50%)
Good, but non-essential (50%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

SESSION Unikuva reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Matti
3 stars The Finnish band Session were founded in the early 70's in a small southern Finnish town of Kouvola from the ashes of a band called Horizon. Session's first achievement was becoming third in the national contest for bands, in December 1972. (The second was Tabula Rasa!) Session played guitar rock influenced e.g. by Allman Brothers Band, and their debut single 'Sanni Blue / Pääsky' (1973), released by Love Records, is regarded as one of the finest Finnish debut sigles in that style. The same sessions produced also a rock instrumental version of Albert Ketelbey's "In a Persian Market".

The vocalist and 2nd guitarist Jokke Seppälä was replaced by Osmo Seppälä on organ and electric piano, while the singing duties were given to drummer Juha Tykkälä. Having been dropped out by Love Records, Session self- produced their only album Unikuva which was distributed by EMI. The short, Finnish-language album contains 'Sanni Blue' and the Ketelbey cover plus six other tracks.

The 7+ minute title track proceeds as an organ/sax oriented instrumental before the arrival of the guesting female voice. Elsewhere, Tykkälä as a vocalist reminds me of a rough version of Kirka (highly popular Finnish vocalist at the time and later, too), but he suits fairly well into the soul flavoured rock. The compositions are mainly by bassist Hannu Kaiko, whose bass sound is very distinctive on the album.

Due to weak success Session collapsed in the spring of 1975. Several members joined Danny, the Finnish entertainment music icon. Even though Session wasn't exactly a progressive rock band when it comes to the song structures, their sole album does have a certain vintage charm.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of SESSION "Unikuva"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.