Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Kimmo Pörsti

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Kimmo Pörsti Wayfarer album cover
3.85 | 33 ratings | 2 reviews | 21% 5 stars

Excellent addition to any
prog rock music collection

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2020

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Arrival (3:00)
2. Heaven's Gate (6:15)
3. Creer, Crecer (4:55)
4. Connection Lost (5:29)
5. Morning Mist (4:42)
6. Thunkit (6:22)
7. Wayfarer (4:54)
8. Cruz del Sur (10:19)
9. Witch Watch (6:51)
10. This Day Is Yours (5:51)
11. Heavy Winter (3:29)
12. Icy Storm (5:28)
13. Mika (5:18)

Total Time 72:53

Line-up / Musicians

- Kimmo Pörsti / producer, drums & percussion (all except 7), keyboards (1,4,5,7,10,12,13), bass (4,5,12,13), guitars (5,13)

- Marek Arnold / soprano saxophone (9,10), keyboards (10)
- Dave Bainbridge / guitars (2,6), keyboards (6)
- Marco Bernard / bass (2,3,8,10)
- Carmine Capasso / guitars (5)
- Jenny Darren / vocals (5,7,12)
- Rodrigo Godoy / vocals & guitars (3), vocals & percussion (8)
- Hitomi Iriyama / violin (2,12)
- Olli Jaakkola / flute (2,7,13)
- Steve Mauk / keyboards (10)
- Kev Moore / vocals (10)
- Jose Manuel Medina / keyboards, orchestration (2)
- Rafael Pacha / guitars (4,5,7,10), whistles, recorders, etc. (4,5)
- Otso Pakarinen / keyboards (1,10)
- Hanna Pörsti / flute (5,12)
- J-P Rantanen / keyboards (11)
- Kari Riihimäki / guitars (1,12)
- Jari Riitala / guitars (1,6,9), keyboards & bass (6,9)
- Jaime Rosas / keyboards (3,8)
- Jan-Olof Strandberg / bass (7,11)

Releases information

CD: Seacrest, SCR-1025.

Thanks to Matti for the addition
and to projeKct for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy KIMMO PÖRSTI Wayfarer Music

More places to buy KIMMO PÖRSTI music online

KIMMO PÖRSTI Wayfarer ratings distribution

(33 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(21%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(42%)
Good, but non-essential (30%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (6%)

KIMMO PÖRSTI Wayfarer reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Matti
4 stars Wayfarer is a solo album by the Finnish drummer and producer Kimmo P'rsti, who's perhaps best known from THE SAMURAI OF PROG (hopefully some of you are also aware of the jazzier instrumental act MIST SEASON and the poppier prog band PAIDARION). His first solo effort was released as Maahinen in 1997, but it's not exactly a prog album. Wayfarer is a fine continuation of all things Kimmo has done with TSOP and his other bands. I think the best comparison would be Two Worlds Encounter (2016) which was credited to "Paidarion Finlandia Project" and featured several international guests such as vocalists Jenny Darren and Kev Moore who appear also here. And the large international cast of prog-oriented musicians on this album is of course a logical continuation of the marvelous TSOP tradition, if on a slightly smaller scale, obviously.

The 73-minute, beautifully packaged album starts with 'Arrival', one of Kimmo's own compositions. 'Heaven's Gate' is a gorgeous, slightly Camel-like instrumental written by Jose Manuel Medina from Spain. 'Creer Crecer' and 'Cruz del Sur' composed by Jaime Rosas and sung by Rodrigo Codoy were originally made for the Colossus' conceptual sets Decameron II and Paradiso, respectively. Other composing collaborators include Rafael Pacha and Finnish multi- instrumentalist Jari Riitala. Unless one deals with each 13 tracks in detail (which I choose not to do), it would be exhausting and in the end a bit pointless to give credit to all fine musicians featured on this album! The music has a good deal of stylistic variety: for example some folky elements here and the grandiosity of symphonic prog there. The production is excellent but that comes as no surprise if you're familiar with TSOP or Paidarion.

Despite the diversity and the wide cast of composers and collaborators, Wayfarer succeeds to be pretty coherent album. The release feels in every way a true labour of love, full of sincere spirit and emotion. Six of the 13 tracks are instrumentals, some of them very elegant and beautiful especially when flute is involved. The album's only female vocalist Jenny Darren is featured on three songs: 'Wayfarer' and 'Icy Storm' are mellow pieces not so far from the style of Paidarion's debut album Hauras silta.

I hate to say this, but actually there is one track I rather skip, 'This Day Is Yours', because I really don't like Kev Moore's stuffy voice. All in all Wayfarer is a beautiful, easily enjoyed album, warmly recommended to the fans of TSOP, despite this effort being less symphonic. But definitely no less inspired, and it's really great to witness Kimmo's skills in composing more than is possible within the TSOP context.

Latest members reviews

4 stars Wonderful solo album for one of the most hardworking and inspired musicians in the prog business-Mr Kimmo Porsty,the drummer of THE SAMURAI OF PROG-the brilliant multinational band which delivers album after album,sensational music to the delight of good music lovers!This album is something s ... (read more)

Report this review (#2419178) | Posted by Ovidiu | Monday, July 13, 2020 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of KIMMO PÖRSTI "Wayfarer"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.