Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Jethro Tull

Prog Folk

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Jethro Tull A (La Mode) - The 40th Anniversary Edition album cover
4.36 | 40 ratings | 4 reviews | 65% 5 stars

Essential: a masterpiece of
progressive rock music

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2021

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD 1 - Original Album and Associated Tracks (Steven Wilson stereo remix)
1. Crossfire (4:05)
2. Fylingdale Flyer (4:35)
3. Working John, Working Joe (5:07)
4. Black Sunday (6:42)
5. Protect and Survive (3:37)
6. Batteries Not Included (3:52)
7. Uniform (3:33)
8. 4.W.D. (Low Ratio) (3:44)
9. The Pine Marten's Jig (3:25)
10. And Further On (4:25)

Total Time 43:05

Associated tracks:
11. Crossfire (extended version) (4:39)
12. Working John, Working Joe (take 4) (5:16)
13. Cheerio (early version) (0:39)
14. Coruisk (6:29)
15. Slipstream Introduction (2:51)

CD 1 Total Time 62:59

CD 2 - Live at the LA Sports Arena November 12, 1980 (Part 1) (Steven Wilson stereo remix) (52:10)
1. Slipstream Introduction (3:01)
2. Black Sunday (7:07)
3. Crossfire (3:59)
4. Songs from the Wood (4:51)
5. Hunting Girl (6:04)
6. The Pine Marten's Jig (3:43)
7. Working John, Working Joe (4:17)
8. Heavy Horses (7:29)
9. Musicians Introductions (1:55)
10. Skating Away on the Thin Ice of the New Day (3:28)
11. Instrumental (incl. flute solo) (6:16)

CD 3 - Live at the LA Sports Arena November 12, 1980 (Part 2) (Steven Wilson stereo remix) (55:54)
1. Trio Instrumental (5:08)
2. Keyboard Solo (7:58)
3. Batteries Not Included (4:14)
4. Uniform (incl. drum solo) (6:48)
5. Protect and Survive (incl. violin solo) (6:24)
6. Bungle in the Jungle (5:31)
7. Encore Intro - Guitar and Bass Instrumental (3:01)
8. Aqualung (9:48)
9. Locomotive Breath / Instrumental / Black Sunday (reprise) (7:02)

CD 2 and CD 3 Total Time 109:04

DVD 1 - Original Album and Associated Tracks (Audio Only)
Contains Steven Wilson's 2020 remix of the album and 5 associated tracks in DTS and Dolby AC 3, 5.1 surround, and stereo 96/24 LPCM. Flat transfers of the original LP master in 96/24 LPCM

DVD 2 - Live at the LA Sports Arena November 12, 1980 (Audio Only Steven Wilson Remixes)
Contains Steven Wilson's 2020 mix of the concert in DTS and Dolby AC 3, 5.1 surround and stereo 96/24 LPCM

DVD 3 - Slipstream Video (Audiovisual, with audio tracks remixed by Steven Wilson in DTS and Dolby AC 3, 5.1 surround and stereo 96/24 LPCM)
1. Introduction (3:27)
2. Black Sunday (6:23)
3. Dun Ringill (2:37) *
4. Fylingdale Flyer (4:03) *
5. Songs from the Wood (3:35)
6. Heavy Horses (7:25)
7. Sweet Dream (4:04) *
8. Too Old to Rock 'n' Roll (5:37) *
9. Skating Away (3:36)
10. Aqualung (8:57)
11. Locomotive Breath (6:25)
12. Credits (1:05)

Total Time 57:14

* music videos

Line-up / Musicians

- Ian Anderson / vocals, flute
- Martin Barre / electric guitar
- Dave Pegg / bass
- Mark Craney / drums

- Eddie Jobson / keyboards, electric violin

Releases information

DVD-sized case-bound book filled with an extensive history of the album, track-by-track annotations by Ian Anderson, rare photographs and more

3CD+3DVD Chrysalis ‎- 0190295127497 (April 16. 2021, Germany)

Thanks to NotAProghead for the addition
and to NotAProghead for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy JETHRO TULL A (La Mode) - The 40th Anniversary Edition Music

JETHRO TULL A (La Mode) - The 40th Anniversary Edition ratings distribution

(40 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(65%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(28%)
Good, but non-essential (5%)
Collectors/fans only (2%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

JETHRO TULL A (La Mode) - The 40th Anniversary Edition reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Warthur
4 stars This boxed-set presentation of Jethro Tull's contentious A album not only includes Steven Wilson giving the album (and associated studio tracks) a new mix to tease out the hidden virtues often overlooked in previous appreciations of it, and not only includes the "Slipstream" film (mixing and matching live footage with music videos, but it also includes the full audio, at last available in non-bootleg form, of the LA Sports Arena show from November 1980.

Though this show was the source of the live material in Slipstream, the film ended up only capturing a fraction of the set, which may well be the true prize of this collection. The A-era lineup of Jethro Tull was fairly shortl-lived, but this show offers a refreshing new take on much of the material from the album, plus classics from the Tull repertoire adapted to the style of the other material (and the needs of the somewhat tweaked lineup). This works better than expected, and the energetic performance adds life to the A material which the rather mannered production of the studio album can obscure, (Black Sunday here is an absolute belter).

It's only prevented from being a five-star set by the fact that, ultimately, A wasn't quite a five star album... but if the studio set had captured something of what was on display at the LA Sports Arena show, perhaps it would have been.

Latest members reviews

4 stars In the comprehensive and captivating liner notes we can read that initially the A album was meant as a solo project by Ian Anderson (that explains the A), but in the end the record company decided that releasing A as a new Jethro Tull album was commercially more interesting. And that "A was an a ... (read more)

Report this review (#2594792) | Posted by TenYearsAfter | Thursday, September 16, 2021 | Review Permanlink

4 stars Having acquired a little disposable income, I preceded to do just that and deposited it on this "A" 40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition 6 disc set remixed by Steven Wilson. The main reason being that I liked, if not loved, the album and was annoyed by the noisy, somewhat harsh and congested sound mix ... (read more)

Report this review (#2542189) | Posted by SteveG | Wednesday, May 12, 2021 | Review Permanlink

5 stars The new improved sound of this remix really makes me notice how good songs such as working John and crossfire are. Didn't take much notice before. Crossfire has a cool extended ending as well. I love coruisk as well. Should have been on the album instead of Batteries I think. Then we have the classi ... (read more)

Report this review (#2527079) | Posted by dr prog | Sunday, March 21, 2021 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of JETHRO TULL "A (La Mode) - The 40th Anniversary Edition"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.