Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Kimmo Pörsti

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Kimmo Pörsti Past and Present album cover
3.90 | 12 ratings | 1 reviews | 25% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2021

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Awakening (2:10)
2. At Lombardy Convent (8:40)
3. Changewinds (5:40)
4. Fused (5:04)
5. Sorrow and Recovery (6:26)
6. Dance of the Miststress (5:05)
7. Darker Places (5:47)
8. Kati (5:21)
9. Second Arrival (1:52)
10. Past and Present (6:10)
11. Nucleo Antirapina (4:35)

Total Time 56:50

Line-up / Musicians

- Kimmo Pörsti / drums & percussion, bass, keyboards, acoustic guitars

- Rafael Pacha / guitars (1,3,5,6,7,9), sequencer (1), bass (3,9), recorders (5), keyboards (3,6,7), low whistle & tin whistle (6)
- Ton Scherpenzeel / synth solo (5,6), keyboards (6), organ solo (7)
- Jan-Olof Strandberg / bass (6,7,8,10)
- Hanna Pörsti / flute (3,5,8)
- Carlos Espejo / vocals (3)
- Jari Riitala / electric guitars, keyboards, bass (4)
- David Myers / keyboards, nylon guitar (2)
- Kari Riihimäki / electric guitars (2)
- Cathy Anderson / cello (2)
- Christine Chesebrough / violin (2)
- Sara Traficante / flute (2)
- Paula Pörsti / backing vocals (3)
- Marco Bernard / bass (5)
- Dan Schamber / vocals (7)
- Marek Arnold / alto & tenor saxophones (7)
- Marc Papeghin / trumpet (7)
- Bo Hallgren / keyboards, synth solo (8)
- Thomas Berglund / electric guitars (8)
- Petteri Hirvonen / electric guitars (10)
- Otso Pakarinen / synthesizers (10)
- Risto Salmi / saxophone (10)
- Kimmo Tapanainen / keyboards (10)

Releases information

CD: Seacrest Oy (Finland), SCR - 1032

Thanks to Matti for the addition
and to Matti for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy KIMMO PÖRSTI Past and Present Music

More places to buy KIMMO PÖRSTI music online

KIMMO PÖRSTI Past and Present ratings distribution

(12 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(25%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(25%)
Good, but non-essential (50%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

KIMMO PÖRSTI Past and Present reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Matti
4 stars Kimmo Pörsti from Finland has been very active as a prog producer, perhaps most notably as a key member in The Samurai Of Prog, but this enormous productivity hasn't led to artistic compromises. Last year he released the excellent album Wayfarer under his own name, and with this new instrumentally oriented album it is further proved how gifted and versatile musician, producer and composer he is (if there still was any doubt of that!). Far from being a mere drummer, to say the least, also in the means of handling various instruments.

For this album his closest collaborator was Spanish guitarist/multi-instrumentalist and composer Rafael Pacha -- who was also in the core quartet of The Guildmaster, another project produced by Kimmo Pörsti. Numerous guest musicians appear only on one track each, with the exception of bassist Jan-Olof Strandberg, Dutch prog veteran Ton Scherpenzeel (the leader of Kayak) and flautist Hanna Pörsti, each of them appearing on three or four tracks. To explain the album title, five tracks out of eleven are reworkings of earlier pieces from various projects.

'Awakening' is a nice, laid back opening piece with a focus on Pacha's electric guitar. 'At Lombardy Convent' is composed by the regular TSOP contributor, keyboardist David Myers, and originally appeared on the various artists 4-CD project Decameron III. Apart from its vintage prog sounding middle section it is a highly elegant and mellow piece featuring also flute, cello and violin.

There are only two songs with vocals. 'Changewinds' is sung by Carlos Espejo and the jazz-flavoured 'Darker Places' by Dan Schamber. Well, they bring variety, but neither of these vocal tracks is among my favourites on the album.

'Fused' is an enjoyable and lively fusion piece composed and performed [with Kimmo on drums] by multi- instrumentalist Jari Riitala. Those who are familiar with the mellow fusion of Pörsti's former band MIST SEASON will certainly enjoy his composition 'Sorrow and Recovery' with lots of flute. Two Mist Season originals are reworked for this album, the folky 'Dance of the Miststress' and the dreamily beautiful 'Kati'. Pörsti's composition 'Past and Present' originally appeared on Jan-Olof Strandberg's fusion album Made in Finland (2012), and the hectic album closer 'Nucleo Antirapina' on an album of Otso Pakarinen who plays keyboards, guitars and bass [with Kimmo on drums].

Although Past and Present may appear as a slightly patchy, gathered-together sort of an album, it offers first-rate instrumental prog/fusion worth four stars. Ed Unitsky has once again done great artwork throughout the lavish package.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of KIMMO PÖRSTI "Past and Present"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.