Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Jethro Tull

Prog Folk

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Jethro Tull Benefit - 50th Anniversary Enhanced Edition album cover
4.46 | 31 ratings | 1 reviews | 74% 5 stars

Essential: a masterpiece of
progressive rock music

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2021

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD 1 - ORIGINAL ALBUM (Steven Wilson Stereo Remixes)
1. With You There To Help Me
2. Nothing To Say
3. Alive And Well And Living In
4. Son
5. For Michael Collins, Jeffrey And Me
6. To Cry You A Song
7. A Time For Everything?
8. Inside
9. Play In Time
10. Sossity; You're A Woman

Associated Recordings:

11. Singing All Day
12. Sweet Dream
13. 17
14. Teacher (UK Single Version)
15. Teacher (US Album Version)
16. My God (Early Version)
17. Just Trying To Be

1. Singing All Day
2. Sweet Dream(UK single 'A' side)
3. 17 (UK single 'B' side)
4. The Witch's Promise (EUR single double 'A' side)
5. Teacher (UK Single Version) (EUR single double 'A' side)
6. Teacher (US Album Version) ( US single 'B' side)
7. Inside (UK Single 'A' side)
8. Alive And Well And Living In (UK Single 'B' side)
9. A Time For Everything ( US single 'B' side)

Original 1969-1970 Stereo Mixes:
10. Sweet Dream
11. 17
12. The Witch's Promise (UK single double 'A' side)
13. Teacher (UK Single Version)(UK single double 'A' side)
14. The Witch's Promise (US promo single 'A' side)
15. Teacher (US Album Version) (US promo single 'B' side)

1971 Stereo Remixes:
16. Singing All Day
17. Sweet Dream
18. The Witch's Promise
19. Teacher (US album Version)

Original Radio Spots:
20. Benefit Radio Spot #1
21. Benefit Radio Spot #2

CD 3 - LIVE AT TANGLEWOOD 1970 (Steven Wilson Stereo Remix)
1. Introduction And Tuning
2. Nothing Is Easy
3. My God (incl. Flute Solo)
4. With You There To Help Me / By Kind Permission Of
5. Dharma For One (incl. Drum Solo (edited))
6. We Used To Know
7. Guitar Instrumental
8. For A Thousand Mothers

1. Introduction And Tuning
2. My Sunday Feeling
3. My God (incl. Flute Solo)
4. To Cry You A Song
5. With You There To Help Me / By Kind Permission Of
6. Sossity; You're A Woman / Reasons For Waiting
7. Nothing Is Easy
8. Dharma For One (incl. Drum Solo)
9. We Used To Know
10. Guitar Instrumental
11. For A Thousand Mothers

DVD 1 - Steven Wilson's 2013 remix of the album and 5 extra tracks in DTS and Dolby AC 3 5.1 surround and stereo 96/24 LPCM
Flat transfers of the original UK+US LP master in 96/24 LPCM
& Additional tracks Sweet Dream, 17 & The Witch's Promise

DVD 2 - The 1970 Fillmore at Tanglewood Concert on video with Steven Wilson's 2020 audio remix in stereo and 5.1 surround.

Line-up / Musicians

- Ian Anderson / vocals, flute, electric (6) & acoustic guitar, keyboards, producer
- Martin Barre / electric guitar
- Glenn Cornick / bass, Hammond
- Clive Bunker / drums, percussion

- John Evan / piano, organ
- David Palmer / orchestral arrangements

Releases information

4CD+2DVD Chrysalis
PLG UK (November 5, 2021)

Thanks to masked for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy JETHRO TULL Benefit - 50th Anniversary Enhanced Edition Music

JETHRO TULL Benefit - 50th Anniversary Enhanced Edition ratings distribution

(31 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(74%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(26%)
Good, but non-essential (0%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

JETHRO TULL Benefit - 50th Anniversary Enhanced Edition reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Warthur
4 stars Presenting the Steven Wilson remix of the studio album, plus associated songs from the era, plus the usual host of extras we've come to expect from these deluxe editions, this anniversary release of Benefit includes not one but two live performances, both from the US. First there's the Live In Tanglewood set from July 1970; Tull were opening for The Who on this one, so deliver a boisterous and energetic rendition of their material, perhaps playing up to the expectations of Who fans; it ends up working a treat.

A month or so later sees Tull in Chicago, playing a similar setlist. This one's sourced from the soundboard; somewhat suffering from tape his, it perhaps is emerging as a "beat the bootlegs" measure, but it does at least show that the storied Tanglewood performance was no fluke - the band really were on fire at this time.

Both live shows are notable for early appearances of My God, which would feature on the coming Aqualung - more evidence that Tull's creativity was really coming to the boil here, with classic new material coalescing rapidly.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of JETHRO TULL "Benefit - 50th Anniversary Enhanced Edition"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.