Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Various Artists (Label Samplers)

Various Genres

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Various Artists (Label Samplers) Sumer Is Icumen In (The Pagan Sound of British and Irish Folk 1966-75) album cover
4.00 | 1 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2020

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD 1 - "Upon a Lammas Night" (78:15)
1. Third Ear Band: Lark Rise (2:50)
2. Magnet: Corn Rigs (2:38)
3. Traffic: John Barleycorn (6:23)
4. Midwinter: Sanctuary Stone (4:09)
5. Vulcan's Hammer: The Keys of Canterbury (5:45)
6. The Celebrated Ratliffe Stout Band: The Wood-Gathering Man (2:29)
7. Steeleye Span: Twa Corbies (2:07)
8. Folkal Point: Lovely Joan (2:28)
9. Strawbs: Canon Dale (alternative version) (3:41)
10. Kevin Coyne: White Horse (4:14)
11. Meic Stevens: Yorric (8:48)
12. The Young Tradition: Lyke Wake Dirge (2:47)
13. Amber: Swan in the Evening (4:38)
14. Synanthesia: Minerva (4:15)
15. The Minor Birds: The Parting Glass (3:49)
16. Parameter: Virgin Childe (2:52)
17. Carolanne Pegg: The Sapphire (3:59)
18. Dry Heart: Cabin on the Clifftop (3:49)
19. Mighty Baby: Winter Passes (3:11)
20. Mike Oldfield: On Horseback (3:23)

CD 2 - "Book of Shadows" (78:52)
1. Fairport Convention:Tam Lin (7:14)
2. Gallery: Let No Man Steal Your Thyme (2:31)
3. Tim Hart & Maddy Prior: False Knight on the Road (3:01)
4. Lal Waterson: The Scarecrow (demo version) (3:49)
5. Chimera: Silver Man (2:54)
6. Shirley Collins & The Albion Country Band: The White Hare (2:45)
7. Horden Raikes: Mad Tom of Bedlam (3:50)
8. The Sallyangie: The Song of the Healer (3:05)
9. Bridget St. John: Lizard-Long-Tonque-Boy (alt. version) (3:10)
10. Dr. Strangely Strange: Strings in the Earth and Air (1:53)
11. Jan Dukes De Grey: Sorcerers (2:43)
12. Dave & Toni Arthur: Green Grass (1:53)
13. Simon Finn: Where's Your Master Gone? (3:15)
14. Oberon: Nottamun Town (4:44)
15. Fresh Maggots: The House Carpenter (2:40)
16. J.P. Sunshine: Hand in Hand (1:52)
17. Comus: The Bite (5:29)
18. The Sun Also Rises: Death (6:37)
19. Tea & Symphony: Winter (3:23)
20. Principal Edwards Magic Theatre: Autumn Lady Dancing Song (6:50)
21. Anne Briggs: Summer's In (5:14)

CD 3 - "Hearken to the Witch's Rune" (78:03)
1. Stone Angel: The Bells of Dunwich (5:57)
2. Pentangle: Cruel Sister (7:04)
3. Incredible String Band: Witches Hat (2:34)
4. Archie Fisher: Reynerdine (2:41)
5. Mellow Candle: The Poet and the Witch (2:53)
6. Curved Air: Elfin Boy (4:16)
7. Sweeney's Men: Pretty Polly (4:44)
8. Parke: Three Ravens (3:19)
9. Green Man: Salisbury Plain (3:52)
10. Spriguns of Tolgus: Flodden Field (6:42)
11. The MacDonald Folk Group: Geordie (3:13)
12. Michael Raven & Joan Mills: The Queen of the Night (2:25)
13. George Deacon & Marion Ross: Holsworthy Peter's Fair (4:38)
14. Staverton Bridge: Captain Wedderburn's Courtship (2:50)
15. Shirley Kent: Butterfly on the Shore (4:00)
16. Marc Bolan: Eastern Spell (1:27)
17. Heather, Adrian & John: The Lark in the Morning (2:44)
18. The Coterie: Scarborough Fair (3:50)
19. Mr. Fox: Mendle (7:21)
- Bonus track not listed on box:
20. Choir Unnamed: Sumer Is A-Cumin In (1:33)

Total Time 235:10

Line-up / Musicians

Various Artists

Releases information

3CD box set with a 38-page booklet: Grapefruit Records, GRSEGBOX083.

Thanks to Matti for the addition
and to Matti for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy VARIOUS ARTISTS (LABEL SAMPLERS) Sumer Is Icumen In (The Pagan Sound of British and Irish Folk 1966-75) Music

VARIOUS ARTISTS (LABEL SAMPLERS) Sumer Is Icumen In (The Pagan Sound of British and Irish Folk 1966-75) ratings distribution

(1 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(100%)
Good, but non-essential (0%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

VARIOUS ARTISTS (LABEL SAMPLERS) Sumer Is Icumen In (The Pagan Sound of British and Irish Folk 1966-75) reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Matti
4 stars Grapefruit Records is a label that has released a lot of retrospective Various Artists box sets during the last ten years or so, covering many more or less marginal styles of popular music. I have especially enjoyed their boxes representing Folk Rock, Dust on the Nettles - A Journey Through the British Underground Folk Scene 1967-72 and the all-female selection Milk of the Tree - An Anthology of Female Vocal Folk and Singer-Songwriters 1966- 73. This time the focus is on the so called pagan folk, which term is approached quite open-mindedly. Quite a few included artists can be thought of as pagan rockers per se (like COMUS without a doubt is), but I don't see any trouble in that. The music itself is what matters. Anyway, now there are pretty many artists from the ProgArchives database, so I took the opportunity to add this set here, which naturally would be questionable for the mentioned Folk Rock sets, despite surely being interesting for several of us.

The editing of both the musical contents and the 38-page, lushly illustrated booklet in this the clamshell-shaped box is very good, I only have two minor complaints: the track times are missing, and the font is a bit too tiny for comfortable reading. Like in every respectable box set, each track is accompanied by brief but highly informative liner notes on the chosen artists. Here's an example:

STRAWBS - Canon Dale (alternative version) Not originally issued, recorded 10/70.

"The nearest thing we have these days to the wandering minstrels of the Dark Age", was how one music journalist described Strawbs in October 1970, shortly after the recruitment of keyboard wizard Rick Wakeman and former Velvet Opera rhythm section Richard Hudson and John Ford had given the band a broader musical palette. A performance on John Peel's Top Gear show that October saw them premier a new Hudson song called 'Canon Dale', drenched in his expansive sitar work. The band's next studio album, the May 1971 release From the Witchwood, continued that mystical theme, with Dave Cousins' terrific 'Witchwood' and a slightly more restrained rendition of 'Canon Dale' firmly exploring territory defined in 1969 by pop pundit Lillian Roxon as "acid folk".

It would be too worksome to even try dealing with the entire contents of 60 pieces. Instead, here's a quick and probably incomplete list of the other PA-included artists, in the running order and with a few track namings along the way: Third Ear Band, Traffic ('John Barleycorn'), Steeleye Span, Amber, Synanthesia, Mike Oldfield ('On Horseback'), Fairport Convention (Tam Lin'), Chimera, The Sallyangie, Dr. Strangely Strange, Jan Dukes De Grey ('Sorcerers'), Oberon, Fresh Maggots, Tea & Symphony, Principal Edwards' Magic Theatre, Pentangle ('Cruel Sister'), Incredible String Band, Mellow Candle, Curved Air ('Elfin Boy'), Spriguns of Tolgus. This list alone shows how much information on vintage Folk Rock, both household names and obscurities, one gets from this set.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of VARIOUS ARTISTS (LABEL SAMPLERS) "Sumer Is Icumen In (The Pagan Sound of British and Irish Folk 1966-75)"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.