Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Brian Eno

Progressive Electronic

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Brian Eno Nerve Net album cover
2.30 | 50 ratings | 2 reviews | 10% 5 stars

Collectors/fans only

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 1992

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Fractal Zoom (6:24)
2. Wire Shock (5:27)
3. What Actually Happened? (4:41)
4. Pierre in Mist (3:47)
5. My Squelchy Life (4:02)
6. Juju Space Jazz (4:26)
7. The Roil, the Choke (5:00)
8. Ali Click (4:13)
9. Distributed Being (6:10)
10. Web (6:21)
11. Web (Lascuax Mix) (9:44)
- Appendix :
12. Decentre (3:26)

Total Time: 63:41

Line-up / Musicians

- Brian Eno / synthesizer, organs (1,6,9), piano (12), guitar (5), bass (6,8,9), tenor sax (6), vocals (8,9), treatments (10,11), producer

- Robert Fripp / guitar (1,6,9-11)
- Gregg Arreguin / guitar (3,10,11)
- Robert Ahwai / guitar (10,11)
- Robert Quine / rhythm guitar (6)
- Jamie West-Oram / lead & rhythm guitar (8)
- Roderick Melvin / piano (2)
- John Paul Jones / piano (9)
- Roger Eno / piano samples (10,11)
- Wayne Duchamp / alto sax (2)
- King Hastings Kwesi Banana / baritone sax (2)
- Alice Ngukwe / tenor sax (2)
- Curtis Pelican / trumpet (2)
- Laurence Cottle / bass (3)
- Romeo Williams / bass (5)
- Sugarfoot Moffett / drums (1), bass drum (5)
- Richard Bailey / drums (3,9-11)
- Cecil Stamper III / frame drum (2)
- Ian Dench / drum loop (8)
- Markus Dravs / drums (3), drum programming (2,7), treatments (10,1)
- Benmont Tench / percussion (5)
- Ernest Darling / claves (2)
- Winston Ngukwe / congas (2)
- Isaac Osapanin / congas (2,9)
- Christine West-Oram / vocals (2)
- Nell Catchpole / vocals (5,6)
- Anita Patel / voices (5)
- Sunita Patel / voices (5)
- Yogish Patel / voices (5)
- John May / voices (5)
- John Moorby / voices (5)

Releases information

Artwork: Greg Jakobek with Brian Eno (Geological Cinema - Instalation By Brian Eno)

CD Opal Records ‎- 9362-45033-2 (1992, Europe)

Thanks to AndYouAndI for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy BRIAN ENO Nerve Net Music

More places to buy BRIAN ENO music online

BRIAN ENO Nerve Net ratings distribution

(50 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(10%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(22%)
Good, but non-essential (26%)
Collectors/fans only (32%)
Poor. Only for completionists (10%)

BRIAN ENO Nerve Net reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Evolver
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Crossover & JR/F/Canterbury Teams
2 stars Around the time that he found ambient music, Eno the musician lost his way. His obsession with tranquil, unobtrusive tonal washes made him unlistenable, except as background music. While he experimented with ambience and tranquility in some of his earlier works, ever since Music For Airports, even his non-ambient albums have been mostly boring.

Eno appears to be making an attempt to get away from that ambient new age rut here, but he mostly fails. What we get here are rhythmss and sounds, no actual composed songs. Some of it is mildly interesting. Most of it is not.

I suppose if I had to select the better tracks, I would choose Juju Space Jazz for it's somewhat interesting sounds, and Ali Click, where Eno actually almost sings. I long for the wordplay he used in the lyrics of his early albums. You get a small amount of that on this one song.

Review by ZowieZiggy
1 stars Eno hasn't been a thrilling musical experience for me so far. There were some good albums (five in my rating) and lots of below average to poor ones.

This one definitely belongs to the latter category. It is boring to death almost all the way through. Actually, only the opener could be misleading because it is quite decent. But when you have to face the dreadful and noisy "Wire Shock" or "What Actually Happened" you know that it is quite a poor experience that you have to go through.

The minimalist "Pierre In Mist" isn't any better I'm afraid, nor the jazzy and experimental "Distributed Being". But the whole of this stuff is just insignificant. Repetition can be an asset in music (KS was a master in this technique), but when I listen to the ugly "My Squelchy Life" or "Ali Click" I really doubt about Eno's writing skills. "Press Next" is the ultimate word of course.

The nineties started with a poor album ("Wrong Way Up") and it is followed by another one of the same vein. The decent electronic track "The Roil, The Chooke" is ruined by dull and unexpressive vocals.

And the pain is even prolonged since this album lasts for over an hour! I really wonder it was so necessary to record the "Web" twice? The original was already painful, but the "Lascaux Mix" is just unbearable.

As you can understand, I won't rate this album with more than one star.

Hate and war.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of BRIAN ENO "Nerve Net"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.