Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Symphonic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Yes Topography: The Yes Anthology album cover
2.57 | 30 ratings | 4 reviews | 27% 5 stars

Good, but non-essential

Write a review

Buy YES Music
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2004

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD 1 (75:36)
1. Open Your Eyes (5:13)
2. Yours Is No Disgrace (live) (13:04)
3. Your Move / I've Seen All Good People (live) (7:27)
4. Homeworld (The Ladder) (9:34)
5. Close to the Edge (live) (19:44) :
- i. The Solid Time of Change
- ii. Total Mass Retain
- iii. I Get Up I Get Down
- iv. Seasons of Man
6. And You and I (live) (11:23)
- i. Cord of Life
- ii. Eclipse
- iii. The Preacher, the Teacher
- iv. Apocalypse
7. Excerpts from Tales from Topographic Oceans (live) (9:11) :
- i. The Revealing Science of God: Dance of the Dawn
- ii. The Remembering: High the Memory
- iii. The Ancient: Giants Under the Sun
- iv. Ritual: Nous sommes du Soleil

CD 2 (73:36)
8. Gates of Delerium (live) (23:47)
9. To Be Over (live) (6:10)
10. Awaken (live) (17:34)
11. Cinema (live) (1:57)
12. Owner of a Lonely Heart (live) (6:04)
13. In the Presence Of (10:24) :
- i. Deeper
- ii. Death of Ego
- iii. True Beginner
- iv. Turn Around and Remember
14. Roundabout (live) (7:40)

Total Time 149:12

Line-up / Musicians

- Rick Wakeman / keyboards
- Steve Howe / acoustic & electric guitars, banjo, vocals, pedal steel, mandolin, bass
- Chris Squire / bass, keyboards, vocals
- Billy Sherwood / guitar, keyboards, vocals
- Igor Khoroshev / keyboards, vocals
- Dylan Howe / drums
- Tom Brislin / keyboards
- Andrew Jackman / piano, glockenspiel

Releases information

Tracks taken from:
- the Yes album "Open Your Eyes" (1)
- the Yes album "Live from House of Blues" (2,3,6,10,11,12,14)
- the Yes album "The Ladder" (4)
- the Yes album "Keys to Ascension 2" (5)
- the Steve Howe album "Not Necessarily Acoustic" (7)
- the Yes album "Symphonic Live" (8)
- the Steve Howe album "Natural Timbre" (9)
- the Yes album "Magnification" (13)

Also released as "The Sold Gold Collection" Union Square Music Ltd. SGDCD2041 (2005)

2CD Metro Music METRDCD535

Thanks to chipiron for the addition
and to projeKct for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy YES Topography: The Yes Anthology Music

More places to buy YES music online

YES Topography: The Yes Anthology ratings distribution

(30 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(27%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(17%)
Good, but non-essential (20%)
Collectors/fans only (23%)
Poor. Only for completionists (13%)

YES Topography: The Yes Anthology reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by chopper
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
2 stars I'm not really sure what to make of this compilation. It is nicely packaged (apart from the misspelling of "Delirium") double CD set with a Roger Dean-style floating islands cover and good liner notes with details of all the tracks and a short summary of the tortuous history of Yes, however it is a strange compilation and I'm puzzled as to who it is aimed.

Half the tracks are from the "House of Blues" live CD, then we have the title track from the "Open Your Eyes" album (which I have never heard but, judging by this track, it appears deserving of the low opinion that most Yes fans have of it). We also have "The Ladder" title track, "In the Prescence of" and the live orchestral "Gates of Delirium" from some versions of "Magnification" (but not mine), "Close To The Edge" from "Keys to Ascension 2" and, for reasons unknown, the solo Steve Howe "Excerpts from Tales From Topographic Oceans" (from "Not Necessarily Acoustic" and Yes' "Friends And Relatives Volume I") and "To Be Over" from "Natural Timbre".

So, all in all a rather strange mixture. If you have "Live From The House Of Blues" then there's probably not much point in getting this. If you want a compilation of Yes classics, then there are several better than this. The only selling point for me is the brilliant symphonic version of Gates which, as I said, is not on my version of "Magnification".

I'll give this 2 stars overall for the excellent packaging and of course the music is good, although hardly their best work.

Review by Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
3 stars Bargain basement for beginners

This is rather a strange compilation, and certainly not the "Anthology" it purports to be. The album smacks of a record label concocting a mixture of the Yes tracks to which they own the rights, and attempting to present them as some sort of career spanning summary.

The only reason they can get some way towards this is because some of the source albums are live recordings, which include classic material. The reality is though that these versions come from more recent live collections such as "Live from the House of Blues", "Yes- symphonic" and "Keys to ascension 2". On the plus side, this means that we are treated to classics such as "Close to the edge", "The gates of Delirium" and "And you and I". The down side is, we have them already!

The studio tracks come from the later albums "The ladder", "Magnification", and "Open your eyes".

If you are looking for a reason to buy this album, which is admittedly usually to be found at a rock bottom price, it is for the relatively rare Steve Howe pieces "Excerpts from Tales from Topographic Oceans" and "To be over", although these can be found on his solo albums and on other compilations. Since "Yes-symphonic" is only available in DVD format, the inclusion on CD of the aforementioned "Gates of Delirium" is arguably worthwhile too.

As long as you are prepared to take the "Anthology" tag with a huge pinch of salt, this is not a bad way of discovering Yes if you are new to their music. Don't read too much into the newer studio tracks though.

Review by thehallway
2 stars Not really sure what the point is of this, or indeed why I bought it.

It claims to be an ultimate, superior, amazing, must-have, career-spanning anthology of Yes's career. IN REALITY, 50% of it comes from one previously released live album, 20% from another previously released live album, and the studio tracks from some of the band's most dreadful previously released studio albums.


The songs are good for sure, but I would advise you to buy them on their respective albums and get the lot, rather than this very random compliation with spelling mistakes and a vague running time which simply reads "over 2 hours"...

Latest members reviews

2 stars Hmmmmmm..... Thought I'd get this, because I saw it cheap, and I felt I ought to try Yes. I expect all you Yes fans are scraming at this point - not a good one to start with. Well, I really appreciate their virtuoso skill, and a lot of the music does sound good, but I don't really like the v ... (read more)

Report this review (#151300) | Posted by PinkPangolin | Saturday, November 17, 2007 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of YES "Topography: The Yes Anthology"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.