Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Peter Hammill

Eclectic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Peter Hammill The Union Chapel Concert (with Guy Evans) album cover
3.34 | 28 ratings | 2 reviews | 4% 5 stars

Good, but non-essential

Write a review

from partners
Live, released in 1997

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Introduction (0:41)
2. Fireworks (3:51)
3. A Forest of Pronouns (7:53)
4. Anatol's Proposal (4:10)
5. After the Show (8:07)
6. Roger and Out (3:18)
7. Accidents (9:15)
8. Soundbeam Medley (Four Kinds of Rice / Hello / Resolution) (11:32)
9. Women of Ireland (2:03)
10. Ship of Fools (7:45)
11. Hamburg Station (3:50)
12. Seven Wonders (10:14)
13. Barber's Adagio for Strings (9:32)
14. Red Shift (10:50)
15. Lemmings (15:19)
16. Outroduction (3:16)
17. Traintime (7:39)

Total Time: 119:15

Line-up / Musicians

- Peter Hammill / vocals, guitar, keyboards
- Guy Evans / drums, percussion, MIDI pads & samples, blue drums
- Hugh Banton / organ
- David Jackson / flute, saxes, soundbeam
- Stuart Gordon / violin
- Manny Elias / drums
- Giles Perrin / guitar, blue drums
- Mat Fraser / blue drums
- Patou Soult / percussion, blue drums

Releases information

CD - Fie! Records, FIE 9115 (UK, 97)

Thanks to BaldJean for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy PETER HAMMILL The Union Chapel Concert (with Guy Evans) Music

More places to buy PETER HAMMILL music online

PETER HAMMILL The Union Chapel Concert (with Guy Evans) ratings distribution

(28 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(4%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(26%)
Good, but non-essential (44%)
Collectors/fans only (15%)
Poor. Only for completionists (11%)

PETER HAMMILL The Union Chapel Concert (with Guy Evans) reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by BaldJean
4 stars This was a one-off event, the circumstances of which are explained by Guy Evans in the liner notes. Some very experimental (and instrumental) pieces by Hammill and Evans as a duo (live versions of tracks from their joined effort album "Spur of the Moment"), solo performances of David Jackson and Hugh Banton (both about 10 minutes long) as well as one short violin solo by Stuart Gordon and eight songs by Hammill/VdGG in various line-ups, one of them being the classic line-up of VdGG for a wild version of "Lemmings". The sound quality is only so-so, which is no wonder since the whole event was organized under pressure of time, as the very informative and well-written liner notes explain. A truly entertaining and interesting evening, with ups and downs, the highlights being the tracks where Hammill actually sings and the organ solo of Banton. Jackson's solo is a bit too long, in my opinion. Since sound quality never was an issue with me, I'll give this effort 4 stars.

Latest members reviews

3 stars This 1997 live album is a fruit of minds of Guy Evans and Peter Hammill. A sort of experimental and, in some moments, even adventurous recording. From the side of Guy Evans there were three drummers from his band -- Mat Fraser, Patou Soult and Giles Perrin (the latter also played guitar), from ... (read more)

Report this review (#80656) | Posted by Fassbinder | Wednesday, June 7, 2006 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of PETER HAMMILL "The Union Chapel Concert (with Guy Evans)"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.