Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Canterbury Scene

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Gong 25th Birthday Party album cover
3.08 | 25 ratings | 2 reviews | 12% 5 stars

Good, but non-essential

Write a review

Buy GONG Music
from partners
Live, released in 1995

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD 1 (67:47)
1. Thom Intro (1:20)
2. Floating into a Birthday Gig (5:44)
3. You Can't Kill Me (6:20)
4. Radio Gnome 25 (7:06)
5. I Am Your Pussy (4:52)
6. Pot Head Pixies (2:52)
7. Never Glid Before (5:43)
8. Sad Street (6:24)
9. Eat That Phonebook (3:27)
10. Gnomic Address (1:35)
11. Flute Salad (2:34)
12. Oily Way (3:30)
13. Outer Temple/Inner Temple (5:34)
14. She is the Great Goddess (3:12)
15. IAOM Riff (7:48)

CD 2 (41:58)
1. Clouds Again (9:59)
2. Tri-Cycle Gliss (10:44)
3. Get a Dinner (2:02)
4. Zero Where are You? (1:29)
5. Be Who You Are My Friends (2:32)
6. It's the World of Illusion (2:58)
7. Why Don't You Try (2:18)
8. I Am You (6:34)
9. Introducing the Musicians (3:00)

Total Time: 109:45

Line-up / Musicians

- Daevid Allen / vocals, guitar, gliss guitar
- Tim Blake / synthesizer, vocals
- Mike Howlett / bass guitar
- Didier Malherbe / saxophones, flute, vocals
- Pip Pyle / drums
- Steffi Sharpstrings / guitar, gliss guitar, vocals
- Gili Smyth / space whisper, vocals

Releases information

2 CD Voiceprint/GAS 101CD

Thanks to BaldJean for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy GONG 25th Birthday Party Music

More places to buy GONG music online

GONG 25th Birthday Party ratings distribution

(25 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(12%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(48%)
Good, but non-essential (20%)
Collectors/fans only (20%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

GONG 25th Birthday Party reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by soundsweird
3 stars I'd love to give this double-cd live album four stars, but it has a fairly major problem: the sound is very reverberant. It reminds me of many bootleg live recordings I've heard that have good fidelity, but just too much reverb due to the fact that they were not taken directly from the soundboard. Perhaps the intention was to give the recording a more "you are there" feel, but other live Gong recordings I've heard do not share this quality. Performances are good, the song selection is good (if typical), but it's not easy for me to get past that "wet" sound...

Latest members reviews

2 stars I had high hopes for this recording after all, its got Tim and steffi. Why doesnt it work after all it should be a classic. A big big problem is the sound this is incredible wearing to listen to. I have heard many way better boot legs and also way better sets than this. I believe a good time w ... (read more)

Report this review (#92832) | Posted by burgersoft777 | Sunday, October 1, 2006 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of GONG "25th Birthday Party"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.