Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Progressive Electronic • Germany

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Sounds Of New Soma picture
Sounds Of New Soma biography
Sounds Of New Soma is the duo of Alexander Djelassi and Dirk Raupach of Krefeld, Germany. SONS was formed in 2013 and released their first album, Beyond The Acid Dream in 2014. The sound presented by Djelassi and Raupach is a stew of trippy, post rock guitars and kosmische synthesizers and effects. There is also smatterings of various avant-garde tendencies as well, SONS is not the most accessible group, but for fans of soundscapes and space music, SONS is a treat.

SOUNDS OF NEW SOMA Videos (YouTube and more)

Showing only random 3 | Search and add more videos to SOUNDS OF NEW SOMA


Moebius TunnelMoebius Tunnel
Tonzonen 2017
$14.66 (used)
Live At The Green Mushroom FestivalLive At The Green Mushroom Festival
Limited Edition
Tonzonen 2018
$32.58 (used)
La Grande BellezzaLa Grande Bellezza
Limited Edition
Tonzonen 2017
$32.59 (used)
Right Now on Ebay (logo)

More places to buy SOUNDS OF NEW SOMA music online Buy SOUNDS OF NEW SOMA & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

SOUNDS OF NEW SOMA discography

Ordered by release date | Showing ratings (top albums) | Help to complete the discography and add albums

SOUNDS OF NEW SOMA top albums (CD, LP, MC, SACD, DVD-A, Digital Media Download)

2.95 | 3 ratings
Beyond The Acid Dream
3.86 | 3 ratings
Moebius Tunnel
4.00 | 1 ratings
La Grande Bellezza

SOUNDS OF NEW SOMA Live Albums (CD, LP, MC, SACD, DVD-A, Digital Media Download)

0.00 | 0 ratings
Live At The Green Mushroom Festival

SOUNDS OF NEW SOMA Videos (DVD, Blu-ray, VHS etc)

SOUNDS OF NEW SOMA Boxset & Compilations (CD, LP, MC, SACD, DVD-A, Digital Media Download)

SOUNDS OF NEW SOMA Official Singles, EPs, Fan Club & Promo (CD, EP/LP, MC, Digital Media Download)


Showing last 10 reviews only
 Moebius Tunnel by SOUNDS OF NEW SOMA album cover Studio Album, 2016
3.86 | 3 ratings

Moebius Tunnel
Sounds Of New Soma Progressive Electronic

Review by Rivertree
Special Collaborator PSIKE Team & Band Submissions

4 stars 'Moebius Tunnel' is the second full-fledged appearance from this German duo consisting of Alex Djelassi and Dirk Raupach. While trying to make a step forward with the new album the result is a combination of structured attitude either, and spontaneity on the other hand. Six excursions are given, all of them are earning attributes like dreamy, trippy, spacey with ease. Above all the sound quality is top, due to the fact that Eroc (ex-Grobschnitt) was involved when it comes to the mix and mastering.

When starting to listen you'll immediately experience that synthesizers are their main tools again. Partially equipped with samples the first two tracks are nicely meandering ambient/space exemplars. But you definitely can't say that they are reduced to a pure electronic act. Alex additionally plays bass and guitar on Subraumverzerrung then, and even drums are on the mix here. Stech / Apfel delivers a slight indo/raga feel by way of variation.

A bit surprising actually, with Morgengebet they even succeed to offer a real space rock highlight, including drums serving a nice groove. 'Moebius Tunnel' is a relaxed trip which will appeal to electronic fans as well as kraut rock lovers. The cover art has been contributed by artist Mark Reiser, who is known for his work for Hawkwind and Nik Turner. Available on vinyl, compact disc and digital download in the first instance you can give it a try on their bandcamp page.

 Beyond The Acid Dream by SOUNDS OF NEW SOMA album cover Studio Album, 2014
2.95 | 3 ratings

Beyond The Acid Dream
Sounds Of New Soma Progressive Electronic

Review by Rivertree
Special Collaborator PSIKE Team & Band Submissions

3 stars SOUNDS OF NEW SOMA are a German duo consisting of Alexander Djelassi and Dirk Raupach. Both are handling nearly all the basic instruments, as there are guitar, bass ... and the complete synthesizer stuff of course. Drums however do not play a role here, at least not on this recordings, since they are underway on atmospheric, dreamy and transcendental paths most likely. Furthermore the SOUNDS OF NEW SOMA members are open-minded enough to cooperate with diverse other musicians. Thus it was a real surprise for me when I recently discovered that they have recorded a split album in collaboration with the Israelian formation Backnee Horn.

Tonzonen Records have released 'Beyond The Acid Dream' in 2014 on vinyl and compact disc format. Four songs are given, easily proportioned on both sides, which feature typical cosmic sounds, stylistically enclosing progressive electronics in the majority, as well as some kraut and space. The album's distinctiveness is manifested through the saxophone attendance by Andreas Lessenich for example, who adds a jazzy note to some songs. Mysterious recitatives are another special contribution. The very inspired Traumfänger convinces me much, during ten minutes they are preparing a fantastic ambiance.

This album, mastererd by Ex-Grobschnitt member Eroc by the way, needs some rounds. In the first instance I could not accept the saxophone for example, the instrument sounded misplaced somehow. But in the meanwhile I had to revert, it's clear that this exactly represents the difference though, the uniqueness within the sound ... so much the more then seems to force the question, why Andreas is not listed as a full member. Anyway, SOUNDS OF NEW SOMA is a promising new project, Alexander and Dirk are offering a lot of inspiration and innovation. So what do you think about a joint venture with Camera next? We will see ...

Thanks to sheavy for the artist addition.

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives