Header
Gojira - From Mars to Sirius CD (album) cover

FROM MARS TO SIRIUS

Gojira

Tech/Extreme Prog Metal


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
MikeEnRegalia
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
5 stars This is extremely cool ... 4.5 stars from me. A really extreme kind of music, with sometimes quite brutal double bass drumming, heavy, thrash metal guitars riffing and growling/screaming vocals ... but it's not really aggressive, I'd rather call it hypnotic and even avant-garde to some extent. Meshuggah are an obvious influence - but more in terms of sound and texturing (Nothing/Catch 33) than complexity. Some parts also remind me of Devin Townsend ... sudden outbursts of heaviness followed by epic/majestic textural parts.

The album deals with issues like global warming ... saving the oceans, which explains the whale on the cover. If you can tolerate the heavy parts and the screaming then listening to this album from beginning to end can really take you on a fascinating journey through time, space ... and water.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to MikeEnRegalia (BETA) | Report this review (#114830)
Posted Sunday, March 11, 2007 | Review Permalink
4 stars Extremely plesent find. I had heard of Gojira in an offhand mannor from an Isis fan and thought that they would be simmiler so i looked them up and saw some good reviews and more Isis connections. SOooo when i was browsing my local i saw it and decided to pick it up. good move. it reminds me a lot of mastodon. the vocals are a little more one dimmensional and the guitars not AS complex but they are still very unique in their own way. Texture here is a huge part of Gojira's music, sweeping, majestic layers of sound. its still very heavy, but it doesnt make you want to headbang. its trippy, MikeEnRegalia got it right when he said its hypnotic or avant/garde, and therin lies the connection to Isis. the use of reptative riffs and structures, all layered with the awesome textures that kind of lull you off into the oceans and whales Gojira sing about. Really cool CD

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Mikeypoo (BETA) | Report this review (#114852)
Posted Sunday, March 11, 2007 | Review Permalink
4 stars I'm not really sure why this disc is on progarchives. I can't really call it prog metal as much as I can call it extreme heavy metal. This being said, there are some really neat things going on in this album. The vocals are mostly scream, so if you're not a fan of that, you won't like this one. The music sounds very heavy and distorted, but what makes it interesting to me is the music's ability to make you think that a melody is present, even when its not being sung. This is thanks to the guitars and their melodic lines that blend right into the style of music. For the prog enthusiast, there are a few tempo and rhythmic changes that occur in the album, and for the metal head, there is plenty to love about this one. There are some great guitar sound effects that add to the personality of the music and make it sound playful at times despite its obvious heaviness. I really enjoy this cd for what it is - metal that has some actual thought put behind it. It deals with the whole global warming thing, and has some really cool whale sounds going on. Gojira will be a very interesting metal band, and if you like your metal very heavy with (very)subtle prog influences, this is probably a cd you'll enjoy. If this was a metal site, this would get a perfect 5 stars, but for its lack of much prog, I can only give it 4.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to pianomandust (BETA) | Report this review (#124288)
Posted Friday, June 01, 2007 | Review Permalink
4 stars Recently i have found myself listening to this band more and more, prompting me to write this review. im not going to be saying much that hasnt already been said; great textures, soundscapes, repetative riffs and structures that bring to mind meshuggah or isis without sounding like messhuggah or isis. very heavy stuff here but it is also emotional, which is where i would like to focus on the last four songs: world to come, from mars, to sirius, and global warming. this is the part of the album i honestly cannot wait for. i feel as if the rest of the disc is a build up for this grand conclusion if you will. great opener, then building, building, building up sound, peaks of heavyness, valleys of mellow textures (flying whales), always this sense of a journey. the last four songs seem to be a conclusion, a realization. i love the guitar especially on from mars. very beautiful, and foreboding which explodes into to sirius and then builds and comes to a climax in global warming, a truly majestic epic of a song. very moving ending that left me wanting more gojira. I dont particularly know why i like gojira, as i am not really into other bands that get lumped into the same category of similarity, but whatever it is, they have it. highly recomended, though not for everyone.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to keiser willhelm (BETA) | Report this review (#138304)
Posted Friday, September 14, 2007 | Review Permalink
Finnforest
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
3 stars Thanks to Ansen (The Miracle) for leading me to what is now officially the heaviest metal album in my collection. This band is a freight train coming straight through your living room. Never has being pummeled been so much fun.

The sound is so unique here. The drumming is so heavy and forefront that it's almost as if the drums are the lead instrument on several tracks, totally burying the axemen. Guitars are fierce but mostly paint a wall of thrash sound as opposed to solos. There are not the traditionally wailing lead solos to be found here. The vocals sound to me like Henry Rollins cross-bred with Tyrannosaurus Rex, absolute hellfire but yet oddly soothing to me. I like to listen to this album in rush hour traffic as it keeps me from having a Michael Douglas "Falling Down" moment. There is more of the metronomic mechanical blast drumming than I prefer but it seems to work way better on this album than others.

Better than half of the tracks are pure heavy thrash with monster riffs and complex drumming. But the rest of the album does have some very nice departures that make this album special and add more dimension. The first is the instrumental "Unicorn" which is simply a pleasant repetitive clean guitar riff along with a subdued drum beat and sound effects that I believe are the whales in the background. It doesn't sound like much when you first hear it but it has a great peaceful atmosphere. "Flying Whales" is a standout that begins in a similar vein to "Unicorn" although more ambitious with good conversation between guitar, bass and drums. "World to Come" will alternate the undead-Rollins voice with a second clean voice. This along with a slower pace and a more notes-based lead guitar provides yet another sound for the band. "From Mars" is great, sounding like an early psych Floyd track with a metal edge-Syd would approve. The grand finale of "Global Warming" is truly a metal epic where they assemble the various aspects of their sound into a dramatic anthem with several good sections. Repetition in both the lead guitar hammer-on lick and the last hopeful line "we will see our children growing" bolster the sense that perhaps the chaos of earlier songs is turning to more stability; nicely wrapping up what has been quite a musical journey.

Yes this is masochist heavy, but I think it's one of the most unique metal albums I've heard and I have really grown to appreciate it. I can't wait to hear their next one. If you love metal, this one will float your boat, or fly your inner whale.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Finnforest (BETA) | Report this review (#140573)
Posted Tuesday, September 25, 2007 | Review Permalink
4 stars Really well structed metal songs and epic atmosphere make Gojira a pretty unique band (all though Isis comes to mind).

Big sounding riffs that repeat each other give the songs, most about global warming and the wellfare of planet earth, a great sense of urgency that needs to be listened to. Fantastic production value gives the low, crunching chords an extra bass boost that is needed in a metal-driven sound.

Some other metal bands have a ridiculous and over-the-top sound with lyrics that would scare most small children, but Gojira has something to say (whether i believe what they're saying or not) and that gives the well structured songs a more emotional depth to them. One of the better metal albums i have in my collection.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to therevelator (BETA) | Report this review (#142393)
Posted Saturday, October 06, 2007 | Review Permalink
4 stars Gojira is probably one of the heaviest bands ever. I do like it, though, because it is also extremely technical. One thing I do NOT like, though, is the vocals. I don't like the screaming.

The trippiest song is probably Ocean Planet. It is very unusual in the solo. Backbone is more of a straightforward metal song. Flying Whales is more atmospheric, with whale sounds in the beginning.

Overall, many people either think of this album a spark of brilliance or a bad and uncreative one. I personally feel that it should be in the middle.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to pinkpork (BETA) | Report this review (#160517)
Posted Friday, February 01, 2008 | Review Permalink
CCVP
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars This is a very fine album, but i really need to me in the mood to sit through it. Really!

Gojira's third opus is their latest release i have so far and the first album from this french band that i ever bought and i have to say that i am not disappointed. Although not being very fond of groove metal, because i think the music seems to drag, seems to be way slower than i should be, meaning that they should be played, at least, twice as fast, i really liked this album.

However, the extremer version of groove metal that Gojira presents somehow called my attention, maybe because they rely less on the groove and play, lets say, 10 riffs when it should be only 1 in ordinary grove metal, making their music sound thick or full. Maybe they play some kind of thrashened or deathened groove metal. Besides their music also have progressive influences and a considerably deal technicality. But groove metal was born from thrash metal, so maybe that are doing the reverse way, or maybe uniting father and son? I don't know. I just know that what they do sounds better than the average groove metal bands.

Although Gojira does an interesting mix of styles, that is not the only thing. They also do a wall of sound similar to the one Meshuggah does: both guitars and the bass playing at the same time, although here one guitar is playing apparently faster than the other, and the drums playing the same rhythm as one of the guitars, at least in the heavy songs, making their music sound the way it sounds, at least in the album From Mars to Sirius.

This album is also a concept album, that tells about the environmental change on Earth and that humanity must do something save Earth before its all lost. The story follows a character that sees the world's end and starts a journey to find the Flying Whales, that could teach him how to fly. The character somehow goes to the fictional star Sirius C where a master race teaches him how to restore life on Earth.

One very interesting thing is that this album is my favorite album for stargazing, it really is. I really don't know why that is, because i listen to a lot of space rock albums, but i don't like them very much to stargaze.

The headlights go to: Ocean Planet, From the Sky, Flying Whales, In the Wilderness, From Mars, To Sirius and Global Warming.

Grade and Final Thoughts

Well, From Mars to Sirius is a pretty good album, but the thing is: i think this album is way too long. It is good music, but sometimes i get tired of it in the middle of the album. So, to sit through it, i need to be in the right mood. Maybe they should be influenced by Meshuggah in more ways they are now and keep their albums below the 60 minutes mark, but preferably below or very close to the 50 minutes, like the said swedish band usually does. So for putting out a good bot overlong album, i will give to them 4 stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to CCVP (BETA) | Report this review (#204164)
Posted Monday, February 23, 2009 | Review Permalink
5 stars What a fantastic album, these guys really are genius musicians, every song is just flawless and perfect, the heavy, melodic, catchy rifts, make you shake your head in awe and amazement. And if your a drummer I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this album to you, and you'll need to listen to To Sirius- amazing double bass, Flying Whales - which is like a drum solo the whole song, Ocean Planet, In the Wilderness, and From Mars. I would consider this Musicians Music its full of virtuosity and chops and you can really respect these musicians for the time spent to put together this groove centered hardcore-technical music together.

The whole album is 5 stared in my Itunes and that is a rarity.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to hawkcwg (BETA) | Report this review (#209046)
Posted Saturday, March 28, 2009 | Review Permalink
UMUR
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars From Mars to Sirius is the third full-length studio album by French technical/ progressive metal act Gojira. While I understand that many both fellow reviewers and friends of mine found this album instantly enjoyable it´s actually taken me quite some time to get into. The 66:52 long playing time might have something to do with that because I do feel that it´s a long playing time for music like this. There are 12 songs on the album and at first I felt that it was a couple too many. After repeatedly trying to get through the album I´ve come to understand the charm of the music though and the praise that this album gets almost everywhere. From Mars to Sirius has definitely proven to be worth my many listening sessions and I can say now that I find the album to be an excellent technical/ progressive metal album.

The music is technical and progressive metal/ thrash metal/ death metal with raw and at times growling vocals. There´s a touch of melody in the vocals though that brings a good portion of variation into the music. There are lots of very heavy guitar riffing on the album but no soli. The music is not overtly technical but the song structures do come with a few challenges which is something I find exciting. I find that the style of music that Gojira plays has much in common with both the nineties groove thrash movement and bands like Pantera and Machine Head and a death metal act like Morbid Angel ( the opening to In the Wilderness could have been taken directly from GateWays to Annihilation (2000) by Morbid Angel) as they have with contemporary progressive extreme metal acts like Strapping Young Lad, Meshuggah or Textures. The music on From Mars to Sirius is neither groove thrash nor death metal though but there are obvious influences from both genres. In addition to those influences there´s also a melodic element in the music. The lyrics on the album deserves a mention too. Save the planet/ environmental concern lyrics are not that ususal in music as extreme as this even though it´s of course been done before ( by Napalm Death, Nasum...etc).

My above mentioned problem with the long playing time isn´t a problem anymore. All 12 songs ( two are shorter atmospheric interludes) are of high quality and the presense of all 12 are fully justified. There´s not a dull moment on the album. Really heavy and intense progressive extreme metal. I have my favorites on the album like Backbone, Where Dragons Fall ( I just love the tribal-like drum outro) and To Sirius but it keeps changing which songs I prefer which is another sign that From Mars to Sirius is a really strong album.

The musicianship is excellent. The music is skillfully played and the compositions flow nicely.

The production is powerful. Really heavy yet clean.

I have to mention the absolutely beautiful cover artwork here as well. one of the most original metal cover artworks in recent years. I like the sci-fi flying whale picture. Just fantastic IMO.

From Mars to Sirius has slowly but surely won me over. It´s not that it´s a hard album to get into though. It´s actually quite accessible for the genre. But I guess my high expectations after reading some very praiseful reviews weren´t exactly met right away which was a disappointment to me. So I would like to say to those who still haven´t found the charm in this album that repeated listening really revealed the progressive nature of Gojira´s music to me. Music that at first listen might seem a bit simple for the genre. All in all From Mars to Sirius is a very enjoyable album and a 4 star rating is deserved. This might be a very good place to start if you´re new to progressive extreme metal.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to UMUR (BETA) | Report this review (#220003)
Posted Saturday, June 06, 2009 | Review Permalink
Mellotron Storm
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars Man this is heavy ! Finnforest is right in comparing it to a freight train rushing through your living room. Thankfully there are some moments of relief but at 67 minutes I do find it too long. The growly vocals are something I get used to after a while but honestly i'm not a fan of them. GOJIRA are from France and they give us sort of a concept album here dealing with how mankind is ruining our planet and how we need to get our act together. They take the screaming in your face approach. Haha.

"Ocean Planet" is one of the best tracks on here. It starts off with the sounds of whales before the heaviness kicks in.The singer reminds me of someone I know but I can't put my finger on it. Great sound 2 minutes in then the vocals return. The tempo picks up. Themes are repeated. "Backbone" is an incredible song. Defiant vocals with pounding drums and riffs. "From The Sky" is relentless with the riffs and drums. "Unicorn" is a welcome relief from the onslaught. The sound of whales and a relaxing beat for 2 minutes. "Where Dragons Dwell" has some great lyrics and a punishing soundscape. "The Heaviest Matter In The Universe" is freaking heavy (big surprise).

"Flying Whales" is like another intermission where we can regroup. This sounds so good. Would love to hear more of this style with the chunky bass and powerful undercurrent. Guitar kicks in at 2 1/2 minutes, vocals and the rampage follows. It settles again after 5 1/2 minutes before kicking in to end it. "In The Wilderness" features growly vocals and a heavy as hell soundscape. "World To Come" has some pretty cool lyrics. Vocals before 1 1/2 minutes. This isn't as heavy and the guitar is more distinct. Some great drum work late. A top three track for sure. "From Mars" has almost whispered vocals and a retrained sound. "To Sirius" is anything but restrained as he spits out the lyrics. "Global Warming" sounds great with the guitar swirling and the pounding drums. Normal vocals here too until before 4 minutes.Then back to the previous soundscape to end it.

A must for Tech / Extreme fans. I wish this was my style of Metal. 3.5 stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Mellotron Storm (BETA) | Report this review (#240344)
Posted Saturday, September 19, 2009 | Review Permalink
5 stars From Mars to Sirius is in alot of ways like a rebirth for progressive metal. While their previous albums had some great tracks it never took off like From Mars to Siriys did. While the metal scene grew increasingly stale at the turn of the millennium, the music either turning to the rigid forms of death/black metal grinding, Meshuggah-like polyrythms or the more melodic(and predictable) metalcore, there was one band slowly working their way against the stream.

When I first heard the music of Gojira I was at a friend's. He told me he had found the most ridiculously heavy riff and played the second track 'Backbone' off this album. I was instantly blown away by the ferocity that Gojira delivered their music with. It didn't sound like death metal- it was too melodic, it didn't sound like Meshuggah- it was too straight forward, and most importantly it was too complex to be metalcore. This was something new!

Gojiras sound lands somewhere inbetween prog/tech and death metal. It's a distorted soundscape and the guitars almost sound percussively atonal at times. It's heavily syncopated, jeeringly transforming, inspired music. Traveling seamlessly between primal rage and tranquility.

Over the years this album has been growing on me, but as a previous poster stated, this record is one of those you have to be in a certain mindset to enjoy. For some records I'd argue that you can't put a five star rating on something you won't always love from the second you press play, but for this album I think it's different. The only proper comparison I can make is of fine cheese.

Cheese is great; some would even go so far as to say that they love cheese. But you don't ALWAYS want cheese, no matter how delicious it may be. There will be times when you'll think to yourself "I would not care for cheese right now". But does it make the cheese any less worthy of your time? Does it somehow tarnish your overall view of cheese and all the tasty ventures you've had and will have with it? It most certainly will not!

So you see; From Mars to Sirius is like fine cheese. You'll listen to the album and think to yourself "I'm traveling through the cosmos on the back of these whales. I understand now a deeper sense of harmony. A purer vocalization of all that is good in music! This is awesome!" But after a while you will be thinking in the lines of "These whales take forever and my behind is staring to ache. I want off and find some more comfortable ground. Back to earth!"

My point is: This album is fantastic. You won't find another of its kind. It's soft and it's hard. It's loud and it's quiet. But perhaps most importantly it's earnest music with great depth and musicianship. It's a complex piece of music that you might find yourself growing tired of at times. But trust me; you'll come back for more eventually.

5/5

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Lezaza (BETA) | Report this review (#245560)
Posted Wednesday, October 21, 2009 | Review Permalink
Rune2000
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Prog Metal Team
3 stars This is probably a great album if you're into this sort of head-banging music. Personally I've never been a fan of straight forward metal song structures with predictable guitar patterns. This basically means that From Mars to Sirius doesn't really work for me. The solid production combined with the drummers constant use of double pedal and growling vocals creates the illusion of heavy sound. When in fact Gojira doesn't reach the heaviness nor technicality of bands like Meshuggah, Unexpect or even Between The Buried And Me!

So what about the song writing? In most cases it works well and I like the atmospheric sections quite a bit although the basic song structures on the majority of the tracks creates predictability which brings the album down a notch in my book. In fact I believe that the compositions here are much more of a Progressive Metal nature than Tech/Extreme Prog Metal have it not been for the three elements that I've mentioned.

Still there were some elements, like the overall atmosphere, that made me interested in Gojira so I will probably try to listen to The Way of All Flesh or any of their future releases once I'll get around to it. Who knows, I might even change my opinion about this release after that!

***** star songs: From Mars (2:24)

**** star songs: Backbone (4:18) From the Sky (5:48) Unicorn (2:09) The Heaviest Matter Of The Universe (3:57) Flying Whales (7:44) World To Come (6:52) To Sirius (5:37) Global Warming (7:50)

*** star songs: Ocean Planet (5:32) Where Dragons Fall (6:54) In The Wilderness (7:47)

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Rune2000 (BETA) | Report this review (#263277)
Posted Friday, January 29, 2010 | Review Permalink
4 stars This is the album where i think Gojira really found, crafted and perfected their sound, and boy is it a beauty.. This album is just so powerfull and heavy, from the opening track OCEAN PLANET you know your in for one tech-death prog rollercoaster ride. Their are also some cool instrumental 'chill out' parts througout the album like UNICORN and FROM MARS that only make the heavier tracks seem all the more heavy and awsome, other highlights for me include the epic WHERE DRAGONS FALL, THE HEAVIEST MATTER OF THE UNIVERSE, WORLD TO COME and the final track GLOBAL WARMING with its complex time signatures and awsome hypnotic tapping riff. This is a must buy for fans of Tool, Mushuggah or any fans of metal really, of course its not completly perfect but the good makes up for the bad points, none of which are really worth mentioning as they are few and rare, but id say that this is about as close to perfect Gojira could possibly make, a worthwhile buy :)

Ocean Planet - 10/10 Backbone - 10/10 From the Sky - 10/10 Unicorn - 9/10 Where Dragons Fall - 10/10 The Heaviest Matter of the Universe - 10/10 Flying Whales - 8/10 In the Wilderness - 8/10 World to Come - 10/10 From Mars - 9/10 To Sirius - 8/10 Global Warming - 10/10

MY CONCLUSION? as i said this maybe the closest thing to perfect you may ever get from this band, check it out, you wont be dissipointed.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to FarBeyondProg (BETA) | Report this review (#289872)
Posted Saturday, July 10, 2010 | Review Permalink
Conor Fynes
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars 'From Mars To Sirius' - Gojira (8/10)

Without a doubt one of the heaviest metal bands in the progressive scene nowadays, France's premier extreme quartet Gojira's real breakthrough was this album; the conceptually geared 'From Mars To Sirius'. Drawing inspiration and their topic of interest from the looming modern problem of ecological preservation, Gojira has developed their death metal sound into something with a much grander scope. While the band's next release 'The Way Of All Flesh' would improve and further develop upon the sound of Gojira, 'From Mars To Sirius' stands as being a landmark in French metal, and will be for decades to come.

While the crushing guitar and rhythm sound here could be compared to the tumultuous origins of the universe, Gojira manages to harness such a ferocious sound and channel it into something that is moreoften memorable and impressive than not. With the opening behemoth 'Ocean Planet' showing little hesitation to jump into the trademark primordial riffage that drives throughout most of the album. To give a much fresher sound to the music however, there are plenty of more moderate moments, and atmospheric soundscapes behind the main work, that give 'From Mars To Sirius' a stylistic similarity to some of Devin Townsend (of Strapping Young Lad)'s career work.

Dealing with a profound real-world topic through some aspects of fantasy, Gojira's sludgy take on 'From Mars To Sirius' is filled with small details in the production, but is quite straightfoward in terms of it's sound and uniformity, especially when compared to things Gojira have achieved after this point. While the style is done very well, some tricks (such as making the guitar squeal in between breakdowns) are a bit overdone. The songwriting here and delivery are still for the most part, quite excellent. Despite being quite inventive with the way they craft the music, there are still many songs that fit the anger and call for change into as little as five minutes.

As has been said before, the album does sound quite similar throughout, giving the album a nice flow, although some unexpected moments of variety would have been the strong songwriting here even better. The only song that does not stand out as being excellent is 'In The Wilderness,' which while engaging enough, lacks any ideas that distinguish it as a song of it's own. However, this album from the French death metallers is surprisingly consistent, and with time, I would imagine that popular appreciation for this piece will only serve to grow in the metal community.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Conor Fynes (BETA) | Report this review (#380757)
Posted Saturday, January 15, 2011 | Review Permalink
EatThatPhonebook
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars 8/10

"From Mars To Sirius" is Gojira's best release so far: a modern Death Metal classic.

Gojira are one of the main Progressive Death Metal acts of the new millennium also because of 'From Mars To Sirius', the extraordinary third album. This French band had been active for nine years before this release, but it is known that great albums take time and a certain level of maturity.

Compared to earlier albums, 'From Mars To Sirius' has a much rougher production: everything sounds incredibly large, wide, and spacey in this album, contrasting the tight compositions of the early days. Even the technical point of view has toned down quite a bit, in favor of a more sludgy take on Death Metal: the guitars are strongly reminiscent of bands like Mastodon, Neurosis, or Isis. But the typical Gojira vocals, by Joe Duplianter, never leave the stage, and still give that touch that brings together all releases from the band.

The album presents a bunch of solid, well-written and executed songs that, put together, maintain a strongly consistent level throughout the entire hour this albums lasts: the more famous, classic Gojira songs like the Post-Metal vibes of 'Flying Whales', the fiercely dramatic guitar tapping of 'Global Warming', or the energetic 'From The Sky' are stuck into the imaginary collective of modern Death Metal. But the other songs present here are not less powerful: 'Ocean Planet', the album's opener, is an almost devastatingly executed song with one of the sludgiest riffs of the entire LP, 'World To Come' and 'Oceanbone' simple songs with excellent riffs and songwriting. The more technical, thrashy moments are still present here and there, like in 'The Heaviest Matter Of The Universe', one of the most intense songs Gojira has ever created.

An album with little imperfections, with a tremendously engaging flow, and with a consistent high level of execution, 'From Mars to Sirius' shows all of Gojra's talent, and remains a key album for Progressive Death Metal.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to EatThatPhonebook (BETA) | Report this review (#733207)
Posted Thursday, April 19, 2012 | Review Permalink

GOJIRA From Mars to Sirius ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of GOJIRA From Mars to Sirius


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.33 seconds