Header
Led Zeppelin - Coda CD (album) cover

CODA

Led Zeppelin

Prog Related


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
Sean Trane
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Prog Folk
2 stars While Zep had just called it a day following Bonham's death, Page did not waste much time to release Zep's first (and last for a while) posthumous release, which I must say did not bring much joy to me or most fans. I can never stop to think of this album as Physical Graffiti's little brother as an archive album. Honestly, I can only say that this album in its original form is reserved only for completists only, for there is next to zilch interesting on it.

BTW, the remastered version holds some very worthy bonus tracks (see above), namely the four tracks that were finally made available on the 4 Cd box-set and its 2 Cd follow up in the mid-90's, and just them tracks just double the original album's attractiveness, but it is still not able to be all that interesting.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Sean Trane (BETA) | Report this review (#100016)
Posted Thursday, November 23, 2006 | Review Permalink
2 stars Aptly titled Coda, this album was released well after Led Zeppelin disbanded, following the tragic death of drummer John "Bonzo" Bonham. The songs on the album are out-takes from various recording sessions over the years. The material wasn't good enough to be included on the various albums, and often have an unfinished feel about them.

Best and only really interesting song is "Wearing and Tearing" with fabulous riffing and great vocals, the rest is interesting at times, often very groovy improvised jams that focus on raw, rhythmic explorations.

For fans of Led Zeppelin this is very interesting stuff. If you purchase this album, make sure you get the remastered version, which contains 4 extra pieces. (I don't have that version and it frustrates me)

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to tuxon (BETA) | Report this review (#100241)
Posted Friday, November 24, 2006 | Review Permalink
2 stars It's better than the 'In Through the Out Door' disaster.But it's definately not up to par with Zeppelin's other album. There are many solid rock songs, and a few that show originality. A personal favourite is 'Poor Tom' which always makes me smile. I very much like the drumming on this song, which goes to show Bonham's diversity. Bonzo's Montreux was interesting, but not astounding at all. The Bonus racks aren't thrilling. Overall, a decent, average hard rock album. (Very little prog elements here!)

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Shakespeare (BETA) | Report this review (#101029)
Posted Wednesday, November 29, 2006 | Review Permalink
Seyo
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
1 stars Oh boy! What a dissapointment it was when Atlantic assembled this collection of outtakes in order to capitalize on the demise of the group!

Except folksy "Poor Tom" and perhaps the drumming extravaganza of "Bonzo's Montreux", all other tracks are simply put - raw and waste matter. Absolutly nothing worth mention is present here. 1,5 only for the two mentioned and only for Zepp fanatics.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Seyo (BETA) | Report this review (#103587)
Posted Tuesday, December 19, 2006 | Review Permalink
Chris H
PROG REVIEWER
5 stars Hey, I've been shunned by virtually every Zeppelin lover when I say that this is their best album. But its true. Like the reviewer above me said, bands change, and the last two Zeppelin album were the best by far. "We're Gonna Groove" is an excellent songs with great bass lines and drumming. "Poor Tom" and "Walter's Walk" are in the same vein, bluesy tracks with good riffs, but are seperated by a re-working of "I Can't Quit You Baby".

Side Two starts off with "Ozone Baby" and "Darlene", "Darlene", in my opinion, is the weakest track, because JPJ lays down the bass for the piano and takes the backbone out of the song. "Bonzo's Montreaux" is the best drum solo I have ever heard, except of course for Ginger Baker's "Toad", but that's in a league of its own. "Wearing And Tearing" ends on a high note with some more nice work out of Bonham, but JPJ is back on bass making it a good song.

DONT LISTEN TO THE FANS WHO SHUN CHANGE! THIS IS THE BEST ZEP ALBUM!!!!!!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Chris H (BETA) | Report this review (#104801)
Posted Thursday, December 28, 2006 | Review Permalink
1 stars The last "Studio Album" by Led Zeppelin. Released about two years after John Bonhams death, a Testament for the fans (By the Record company, i guess...). I Remember having hard time choosing which to buy, this or Presence. I curse my mind for choosing this one, there's just nothing excellent here. (Naturally I bought Presence later, which is underrated album by the way!)

The material consists mostly (Or entirely, too lazy to find out at the moment) of out-takes from the earlier albums. "We're gonna Groove" is the only track from the album that is actually good. Other "Not-so-crap" track is "Bonzo's Montreux", a drum solo which Page partly ruined with annoying synth effects. Rest of the tracks are just plain awful. Walter's Walk, Ozone baby and Darlene have to be one of the most boring songs in the history of Led Zeppelin, I still fail to remember these songs. Wearing and tearing is ridiculous attempt to "Attack Punk music in it's own territory" and yeah, it fails. I recall hearing Plant saying in an interview that "We beat their Asses in their own league". Yeah sure... That's it... No wait.. the Cover is ugly too.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Wutu Banale (BETA) | Report this review (#111970)
Posted Tuesday, February 13, 2007 | Review Permalink
ZowieZiggy
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars THE LEFT OVERS, PART TWO

Since Led Zep disbanded after Bonham's death, the record company was keen to capitalize on Led Zep's fame and HUGE sales potential (but only one million copy of CODA were sold). So they release an "album" with old and more recent stuff.

I really wonder how some reviewers can tell that people who do not like this album are against change. I guess that they have not read the liner notes of this "album".

If they had done this, they would have learned that three tracks date from ... 1970 (what a change !) :

"We're Gonna Grove" and "I Can't Quit You Baby" were recorded on January 9, during rehearsals of their legendary concert at the Royal Albert Hall. There will be guitar overdubbing for the first one for this recording. The video of this concert are available on their DVD "Led Zeppelin" (released in 2003). The audio concert is one of their most sought boot and very well known amongst Led Zep fans (which I incidentally am). "Poor Tom" was recorded on May, 6 at the Olympic Studios in London. It was just before the sessions of Led Zep III (which started on May 30th at Headley Grange Studios). The anecdotal point about this song is that it has been inspired by "She Likes It" from Owen Hand who was a friend of Bert Jansch. The same Jansch claiming (rightly) that Page had stolen his arrangement for the song ""Black Mountain Side" featured on Led Zeppelin's debut album (if you want the full picture, I have outlined this story in my review of Led Zep I). The loop has been looped...

"Walter's Walk" was recorded on 15th May 1972 and therefore engineered by Eddie Kramer during the original recording. Page remastered this number in 1982, and Plant apparently over-dubbed some of the vocals at this time.

Three tracks from 1978 :

"Ozone Baby" is one of the good track. Catchy and almost poppy melody, half acoustic- half electric : it is somewhat interesting. It was recorded on November 14, 1978.

"Darlene" (November 16th, in Stockholm). "Wearing And Tearing" (November 21st). This song reminds me at times, "Achilles Last Stand". The beat is rather crazy. It's led Zep response to punk. Plant's vocals are very good. It's one of the best number here.

These three songs come out the same recording sessions for "In Through The Out Door". They were not considered for the album release.

The remastered version of CODA features four bonus tracks.

"Baby come On Home" : recorded on October 10th, 1968. It was a left over of Led Zep one. It's a bluesy one (not really a surprise). The mood is mellowish and keyboard oriented. Plant's work is rather convincing (but he was a renowned blues singer before joining LedZep).

"Traveling Riverside Blues" was recorded and broadcast on June 23rd, 1969 for the "John Peel's Top Gear" radio show. As the title indicate, this is another 100% blues track. Not really great, I should say. Page uses the sliding to perform his part (similar to what he did for Hat's Off To Roy Harper" on Led Zep III). Part of this song will often be used in the medley for "How Many More Times". The famous section with "You Can Squeeze my lemon" from "The Lemon Song" is also featured here. "White Summer/Black Mountain Side" : it is a medley from Davey Graham's "She Moved Through The Fair" and Bert Jansch's "Black Water Side". Page also often inserted "Casbah", another Bert Jansch composition (this guy must have been really P.O. by Page...). Actually, this track is a guitar solo (nice performance, but not really interesting as such). One can see a rendition of this medley on their latest DVD (released in 2003) during their concert from the Royal Albert Hall in January 1970.

"Hey Hey, What Can I Do" was recorded in 1970 (Led Zep III sessions). It was released as B-side of "Immigrant Song" (one of their few singles). It is an acoustic ballad (don't forget that this track comes out the sessions of their third album). Not bad, nor good. Therefore the B-side... Those bonus tracks add relative value to the "original" recording. I fully understand most of my colleagues reviewers rating this album very low. I will not be so critical (for once...). Although it is really meant for Led Zep maniacs only (and therefore accordingly deserves two stars) I believe that five out of ten would have accurate (IMO) but I will, sentimentally, upgrade it to three stars. RIP John.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to ZowieZiggy (BETA) | Report this review (#115189)
Posted Wednesday, March 14, 2007 | Review Permalink
Atavachron
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
3 stars A bittersweet farewell from the band after the tragic death of their drummer, the incomparable John Henry Bonham, Coda is disjointed to be sure. It's a record that gives the unshakable feeling we're hearing a collection of trimmings and loose meat, and Coda's relationship to even die hard fans is shaky. That's a shame, too, because not only is it the parting shot of arguably the most important group in rock, it ended up being a strong, fun album of good music.

Made up mostly of tracks recorded over the years but never put to album, the different aspects of the group are represented; blues, folk, power, a smart, eccentric rhythmic sensibility and the deep friendship and musical connection the four had. 'We're Gonna Groove', probably the album's signature cut, is rough and stormy heavy blues with a demanding Victrola-horn vocal from Robert Plant and Page's stuttering guitar. The melancholy 'Poor Tom' reflects upon a man warm of heart but weak of mind with Page's acoustic drone over a beautiful and booming syncopation from John Bonham, showing the reason this band could not go on without their beloved timekeeper. A drunk rehearsal version of the classic 'I Can't Quit You Babe' gives the casual fan a taste of Zep in a live setting, and 'Darlene' swings, showcasing John Paul Jones' piano skills and some good solid songwriting.

Of course the highlight is 'Bonzo's Montreux', Bonham's wardrum tour-de-force, topping off a legendary career with thunder. Revealing a Led Zeppelin unlike the deities they were seen as, we instead see four normal men with the good fortune to have known each other.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Atavachron (BETA) | Report this review (#126200)
Posted Monday, June 18, 2007 | Review Permalink
russellk
PROG REVIEWER
1 stars Excruciating end to a fine rock group.

First off, there's not a whiff of progressive sensibility here. The only smell I detect is that of the cash-in. Whether it was the remaining band members or the record label who pushed for these cast-offs to be released is a moot point, but in the end the band are doubly culpable: for recording this stuff and for allowing it to see the light of day.

The first two tracks are the best, and that's not saying much. After that, we have half an hour of pointless noise, culminating in the 'Wearing and Tearing' joke. Did they really not understand the genre they were trying to parody? 'Darlene' teases for about ten seconds, almost sounding like a legitimate track, until it descends into another egregious attempt to cultivate the American market. 'Walter's Walk' is really a song fragment, and the riff actually appears on 'Hots On For Nowhere' from 'Presence'. If you've heard that, you've heard this.

For those misguided folk who want to buy this, get the CD, as it has four bonus tracks that are far better than any of the eight original tracks. 'Travelling Riverside Blues' is a re-run of 'The Lemon Song' but just sufficiently different to sound interesting. We get some nice guitar work in 'White Summer' which segues into a less intense version of the familiar 'Black Mountain Side'. My goodness, this is the best track on the album, and it's not as good as the throwaway track from their first.

I know a number of LED ZEPPELIN fanatics, and I've yet to hear any of them have a good word to say about this record. Unless you're a completionist (as I am), then give this a miss.

What were they thinking?

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to russellk (BETA) | Report this review (#135175)
Posted Tuesday, August 28, 2007 | Review Permalink
Finnforest
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
3 stars I actually was serious when I said this album is better than "In Through the Out Door." I would choose this collection of oddities over that previous bloody mess in a heartbeat.

Don't get me wrong, this is still firmly in the "for Zep fans" tent but at least it has a pulse and some decent moments. You get some nice early recordings in "We're Gonna Groove" and "I can't quit you baby" both of which will bring you back to their glory days. Then you have I believe 3 or so outtakes from the ITTOD sessions and remarkably all of them are preferable to songs they chose for their unfortunate last studio effort. "Ozone Baby," "Darlene," and "Wearing and Tearing" are looking pretty good when stacked against the likes of "Hot Dog" and "In the Evening." I don't know who made the song selection for ITTOD but they really blew it. There is also a tribute to Bonzo here called "Bonzo's Montreaux" which is a nice little solo but nothing earth shattering. "Poor Tom" and "Walter's Walk" are similarly pretty weak stuff.

It's a bit sad that this is the best stuff a band like Zeppelin could come up with from their magic vault. The vinyl used to have a wonderful photo collage in the gatefold that was worth the price for Zep fans. This is worth getting for fans of the group but only after you've acquired every other work save ITTOD which is best avoided completely. I'd give 3 stars to the version with the bonus tracks, but the original eight song version would be 2 stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Finnforest (BETA) | Report this review (#135670)
Posted Saturday, September 01, 2007 | Review Permalink
Prog-jester
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars LED ZEPPELIN “Coda” 2

Yep, this is what it should be – unreleased and thrown out material, hardly interesting for anybody except fans. Some interesting moments here and there, but this is mostly collector’s item – blueprints of what could have been good. Grab it if you already have all the others, it’s inescapable, you’ll buy sooner or later anyway. LZ rock even in post-mortem condition!!!

Best tracks: “Poor Tom”, ”Wearing and Tearing”, “Ozone Baby”

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Prog-jester (BETA) | Report this review (#141372)
Posted Monday, October 01, 2007 | Review Permalink
3 stars 1982 Jimmy cobbled together eight outtakes that total about thirty-something minutes to make some more money. The fact that a lot of it blows should come as no surprise, since it's a freaking outtakes collection, and on top of that, much of Physical Graffiti was actually composed of outtakes, too, so they didn't have too many left. Anyway, much of it is not very good, and two songs from from side one that fall into this pattern are "Walter's Walk" (a Houses outtake that sounds like an ITTOD outtake) and "We're Gonna Groove," which was recorded live somewhere. There's also a completely useless version of "I Can't Quit You Baby" which was recorded during SOUND REHEARSAL wherever the hell they played "We're Gonna Groove" at. What the hell? A crappy recording of a song that's not even very good to begin with does NOT count as an "outtake!" Anyway, there is one good song on the first side, "Poor Tom" which has a realy neat drum intro and some mad-PHAT acoustic pickin'. A worthy track on Coda! And side 2 has THREE more worthy tracks! None are more than "good," but I'll settle for that here. "Ozone Baby" and "Darlene" are VERY poppy ITTOD outtakes, and they're both pretty enjoyable. "Ozone Baby" wouldn't have fit, since it's got no keyboards, goddammit, but I think "Darlene," which is easily the catchiest thing here and has a neat piano part, would have fit right alongside "South Bound Saurez," since they're very, VERY similar. "Wearing And Tearing" (also an ITTOD outtake) is Zeppelin's stab at PUNK, but they sort of miss the point, since it's FIVE AND A HALF minutes long, the length of two actual punk songs, and it sucks. HARD. The best (and only really interesting) track here is a drum instrumental (what does that say about this record?) called "Bonzo's Montreaux" which, despite being ONLY PERCUSSION, manages to rule. It's not a drum solo, it's a drum composition, and it's obvious Bonzo carefully overdubbed every instrument, including some of those cool Jamaican reggae drums! Listening to this, you'd think Zeppelin HAD to have better outtakes lying around, and guess what? THEY DID! As I mentioned before, I have The Complete Studio Recordings box set, and the copy of Coda on it has four bonus tracks, three of which are awesome. However, I don't count them in my record rating, since they weren't on the original release. Anyway, "Baby Come On Home" sounds like a carbon copy of "Your Time Is Gonna Come" and is not good. "Travelling Riverside Blues," however, is, and has some of the neatest slide guitar I've heard Jimmy play. "White Summer/Black Mountain Side" is an eight-minute instrumental that's mostly just Jimmy playing some REALLY complicated stuff, and it's a LIVE BBC recording (he rules! He played that [&*!#] live!), just like "Travelling Riverside Blues." "Hey Hey What Can I Do" is the last bonus track, and is seriously one of the ten or fifteen best Zep songs I've heard. Remember ALLLLLLL the way back in my III review how I mentioned Jimmy could have made ONE change and changed the rating to a 10? Well, this is it. It's a III outtake, which I can tell from where and when it was recorded. Oh, and it was the [%*!#]ing B-SIDE to the "Immigrant Song" single, which is just more proof. Now, it's all acoustic, it's absolutely AWESOME, plus it serves as the closing track to the version of Coda I have, and does an excellent job of it. So WHAT THE [%*!#] prevented Jimmy from throwing "Hats Off To (Harpo) Marx" in the trash bin, inserting this awesome tune at the end, and releasing it like that? What? WHAT????!!!! This question haunts me every day. Damn him to the fiery pits of Hades.

In conclusion, Coda's not very good. The CD release doesn't have these bonus tracks on it (they're only on box sets) so it's pretty much useless to buy it for three good songs and a cool drum thingy. If you're able to download, though, by all means go ahead. I never buy music anymore, and I certainly wouldn't spend money on THIS.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to rguabiraba (BETA) | Report this review (#147853)
Posted Sunday, October 28, 2007 | Review Permalink
Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
2 stars Wearing

While "Coda" tends to be listed in Led Zeppelin discographies as the band's final studio album, the reality is that "In through the outdoor" was their true swansong. As the title suggests, "Coda" is a posthumous release, appearing about 2 years after the death of John Bonham, which brings together eight previously unreleased songs.

At a mere 33 minutes, it quickly becomes apparent that there is not a great quantity of such material available, and it does not take long to realise when listening to this album that there is some major barrel scraping going on.

The tracks are pretty much chronological, starting with "We're gonna groove" a blues standard recorded by the band in late 1969 or early 1970. "Poor Tom" is from the "Led Zeppelin III" sessions, the song reflecting the more acoustic nature of that album. "I can't quit you baby" is one of the few tracks here to have appeared on one of the band's albums, in this case their first. This version is a live rendition, although there seems to be some doubt as to whether it is a concert recording or a rehearsal. In any event, it is by far the strongest track here.

"Walter's walk" was originally intended for "Houses of the holy", and to be fair it is not actually any worse than a number of the songs which made it on to that album. In brief, it is a rather muddled upbeat rambler. Three songs, "Ozone Baby", "Darlene", and "Wearing and Tearing", were recorded for "In through the out door" but not used. The first of these, "Ozone baby" is a pop based up-tempo number with a catchy hook. "Darlene" features John Paul Jones on piano and some notable guitar work, but is otherwise uninteresting. "Bonzo's Montreaux" muscles in between this track and "Wearing and tearing". As the title suggests, "Bonzo's." features the drumming of John Bonham the track being slightly enhanced through the addition of some effects by Jimmy Page. As drums solos go, this is one of the more acceptable ones, as it at least features a recognisable beat and some Caribbean style sounds.

We close with "Wearing and tearing", a fairly standard Led Zeppelin romp with a familiar drum pattern and a pop rock feel.

In all, an album only for the Led Zeppelin devotee; there are no hidden gems to be found here.

Some versions of the album on CD include a number of bonus tracks, all of which were included in the Led Zeppelin box sets. The most interesting of these is the wonderful "Hey hey what can I do", the B side of the single "Immigrant song".

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Easy Livin (BETA) | Report this review (#156003)
Posted Thursday, December 20, 2007 | Review Permalink
1 stars For another band than Zeppelin, this would have been a nasty piece of crap. But don't forget this is a collection of rarities and outtakes from the recordings of the following albums : Led Zeppelin III, Houses Of The Holy, In Through The Out Door, plus an instrumental recorded in 1976 (Bonzo's Montreux, a drum solo - Bonham, rest in peace - with lots of keyboards).

This is not a good album. My rate is probably too tough, but I keep it : 1 star. I like the live versions (without applauses, mixed off by Page) of We're Gonna Groove and I Can't Quit You, Baby, and I like also Walter's Walk, unissued in 1972 when Houses Of The Holy was recorded. But the remainder is really bad, especially Darlene and Ozone Baby (from the In Through... recording sessions).

This album/compilation was mixed very quickly in 1982, in order to offer to the Zeppelin fans a little more material. Led Zeppelin made really better work, no matter if you don't own this one. There is so much better in music history.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Zardoz (BETA) | Report this review (#164063)
Posted Sunday, March 16, 2008 | Review Permalink
Queen By-Tor
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
1 stars The end...

Coda for sure, these guys clearly wanted to end with something that didn't beg for more. Released after Bonzo's death this compilation is a collection of previously unreleased material often toting the ''studio album'' tag. This collection is a rather unfortunate one, being as there's nothing remotely classic on the disc. While every Zeppelin studio album would have its moments in the sun this one really does not. None of the songs on the album are redeeming, and even the bonus tracks on the remastered cd don't do that much. This really feels like a cash grab, especially considering that they'd release it on cd, a move which was quite unnecessary.

It's quite clear that the band had Bonzo in mind when releasing this album. For the most part he's the best part of the disc. It's annoying to note, however, that a lot of the time his drums are mixed well above most of the other parts, and it makes for a large distraction, especially considering that Zeppelin's main force was Page's guitar. Songs like the opening We're Going To Grove feature nice drum parts but rather uninspired guitars and vocals. For the most part the album is like this. Walter's Walk features a mean drum part which washes out the guitars completely. For the sections where the guitar is noticeable it feels overly distorted to the point where it sounds just messy, the solo on I Can't Quit You Baby is like this, the melody and power of Page's normal work is completely absent in this recording.

For the most part is feels like only one member at a time is allowed to perform well. Poor Tom features more good (albeit repetitive) work from Bonzo, but the vocals are put in the background and Page still sounds like he's just going through the motions. The harmonica section at the end of the song isn't bad, though. Darlene features (FINALLY!) some good guitar work from Page, but Plant's vocals are incredibly annoying (something very unusual about the band, as Plant is usually top notch) in the repeated chorus section and the point in the song where he seems to be going for an Elvis impression. Ozone Baby shows John Paul Jones in top form with a decent riff pattern by Page, but Plant is once again annoying, the chorus and constant ooohing racking ont he nerves of the listener.

A few of the songs are even surprisingly ineffective considering their context. In an album where Bonzo is put to the front it's surprising that his solo, Bonzo's Montreux is rather dull, and the electronic sounds used on the track nearing the end of the song are strangely out of place. Wearing and Tearing is a nicely heavy song with a muddled, but effective, guitar section, but with Plant's vocals once again making for an irritating listen.

The bonus tracks on the album are not bad, but they're not terribly redeeming either. Baby Come On Home shows the band experimenting in R&B territory while Traveling Riverside Blues shows the band is full blues motion. White Summer/Black Mountain Side is highly enjoyable with Page's delicate guitar at the forefront with barely anything else going on in the song. A touch long, it feels like, but enjoyable none the less. Hey Hey What Can I Do feels more or less like the rest of the album, a bluesy rock piece. Plant's vocals are more enjoyable on this track than a lot of the rest of the album. An enjoyable classic rock/blues tune.

If you're here looking for the progressive side of Zep you're not going to find it. This compilation was really only meant for the hardcore Zep heads in the world who had to have every single recording that the band ever released, so there's really nothing of huge value here. Avoid it if you can, since it's useless to a progressive music collection. Hard rock and blues collection? Maybe, but progressive - no. Not at all. 1 star for this album - not ''poor'', but for completionists only for sure.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Queen By-Tor (BETA) | Report this review (#182524)
Posted Monday, September 15, 2008 | Review Permalink
2 stars The greatest merit of this compilation is to keep some remaining Zeppelin material out of the closet,but to such ends it gained much more praise than it deserves.It's simply not fair to make comparisons between Coda and actuall studio albums,as many people love to.

This is really just a series of weak album throw-outs recorded during the band's entirer career(and considering the way it was and is promoted,a bit of a cheap shot from the record company).To be honest,there's only one track which is really worth paying attention,that is We're Gonne Groove.I'm quite sure this song opened many of their early concerts(the famous 1970 Royal albert Hall gig at least,and what a performance that was).It is the kind of tune one could expect from those first Led Zep moments,with distorted guitars and an almost funky beat.Robert Plant is in a shining vocal performance in this number,which brings me to the thought,why was it kept out from the second/third LP?It's better than some of the stuff present in those records.It stood hidden in the band's repertoire for over 10 years(except,of coure,for those who actually went to see the band live).Here,it takes fair credit for almost by itself save this album from a one-star rating,as the remaining tracks are as far as interesting,no more.

There's a different version of I Can't Quit You Baby that may draw attention.Of coure,it's a great cover,but considering it was present in a previous album(II),it looses a good share of it's appeal if you're familiar to the original.Ozone Baby is a nice rocker,but honestly too easily forgettable and completley lost in a boring album which is very hard to listen to all the way through.More recent compostions which date from the late days(75-79)are much weaker,but at least serve to ilustrate the bad period which the band was passing through.

Those who truly aprecciate Led Zeppelin's studio album might give this a check without expectations.It's the kind of album I never take of the sleeve case for a listen,but contains some interesting stuff that would have otherwise been ommited(even presenting a very rewarding tune).

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Gustavo Froes (BETA) | Report this review (#205805)
Posted Sunday, March 08, 2009 | Review Permalink
2 stars As all may know, Coda is the album compiled from various outtakes from Led Zeppelin's career. For most of the time, it's a waste of time. There's a reason why these songs were outtakes in the first place. To me it just seems that Atlantic wanted to make as much money as possible even after the demise of the mighty Zep.

There are a few redeeming factors here. First of all, the 'live' tracks We're Gonna Groove and I Can't Quit You Baby are excellent, no matter how much they have been overdubbed in the studio. They are still very good. Poor Tom is an ok if a bit too repetetive song from before the III sessions. Walter's Walk is also acceptable. The others are just forgettable.

2 stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to nikow (BETA) | Report this review (#231064)
Posted Tuesday, August 11, 2009 | Review Permalink
thehallway
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars Just as codas are rarely the best part of a song, the same applies to careers.

It's bad, but surely no one actually expected it to be good. This wasn't Jimmy Page saying "Hey, we decided to save all our best material for after our drummer's death". It was purely a release of spare 'ITTOD' cuts and various odds and sods, for anyone who may have been interested.

Some of the early stuff was omitted from previous albums with good reason. And the then- recent Stockholm offerings lean a little too much towards punk for my liking. I think even people who like punk would be put off by 'Dinosaurs' attempting it. The Bonham tribute is nice, but I'm glad it didn't push it's way onto any significant LZ albums. And I am puzzled by the inclusion of a VERY early recording of 'I Can't Quit You Baby'. What have the bluesy early days got to do with a 1982 release?? Sure it's good, but there must have been something more appropiate [more recent] in those Atlantic vaults.

It really is only neccesary to buy this album if you are a completionist. Or if it's cheaper than something by Robert Plant...

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to thehallway (BETA) | Report this review (#278573)
Posted Monday, April 19, 2010 | Review Permalink
Conor Fynes
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars 'Coda' - Led Zeppelin (3/10)

Hard rock legends Led Zeppelin had already broken up by the time this little afterthought rolled around; a way to give the band one last 'hurrah' before closing the doors forever. Collecting some outtakes that were frankly too weak for any legitimate studio album, 'Coda' was forged. There's really not much to say here, except that even as someone who knew what to generally expect from this record, I find myself incredibly disappointed. With the possible exception of one track, these are some of the most throwaway Zeppelin tracks one is going to hear.

The tracks here remind me somewhat of what I heard on their other somewhat weak release 'Presence', basic rock tracks with forgettable melodies, some interesting riffs from Page and nothing to really spark much feeling. There is nothing here that originally endeared me to Zeppelin, the charming orchestrations and arrangements, diverse influences, and sense that rock music was really being elevated through their music. Instead, what is heard here is almost an entirely different band in terms of approach; bland and repetitive rock lacking much in terms of bite or vitality.

The one interesting highlight here however is the drum solo 'Bonzo's Montreux'. I can still see why it may have been left off of an album, but it is very cool to hear it. Although beginning as a fairly straightforward drum solo from the late John Bonham, there are new layers added before the end that turn it into some nightmarish Hawaiian luau. Simply stated; it is quite different from virtually anything else the band had done, although it's a little abrasive and rough to be heard anywhere but here.

If you find yourself really thirsty for some forgettable, bland classic rock, Led Zeppelin's 'Coda' might do the trick. It seems a shameful afterthought, especially considering that this is the same band that delivered some of the 70's greatest albums. In any case, fans of the band may want to check this out as a rule, but as long as they are prepared for some impending disappointment.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Conor Fynes (BETA) | Report this review (#443283)
Posted Thursday, May 05, 2011 | Review Permalink
2 stars Coda is a compilation of studio outtakes (with two live tracks) from our beloved rock giants, but an album that shouldn't be compared to anything else in their discography.

While it's wonderful to have what I feel is clearly their penultimate version of 'I Can't Quit You Baby' (and how satisfying it would have been to have a live album from this early period) due to its punch and rawness, the rest of the tracks are of a lesser quality.

So it might be best to avoid this album if you're new to or undecided about Led Zeppelin. That said, if you are a Led Zeppelin fan, pick it up one day. It does have a few moments - 'Poor Tom' has a nice shuffle from Bonzo and 'Darlene' with it's rocking piano should have gone on In Through the Out Door. 'We're Gonna Groove' is great too, and while 'Walter's Walk' is muddy and 'Ozone Baby' a little too cutesy for me, and 'Bonzo's Montreux' is not something you have to hear dozens of times, the weakest track for me is 'Wearing and Tearing.' Not that it isn't tight, but for what it was supposedly written to be (during ITTOD) - a track to prove that Zeppelin could still match the energy of the punk movement - it falls quite short. The song seems a little tired, and clocking in at over 5 minutes, it doesn't seem to have that 'right now' feel of much punk.

So perhaps 2.5 is a better rating than, because I think about half the album is entirely listenable, and for the Zeppeling fan, worth having - especially if you get the bonus edition, which adds 'Hey, Hey What Can I Do?'.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to dreadpirateroberts (BETA) | Report this review (#456106)
Posted Friday, June 03, 2011 | Review Permalink
AtomicCrimsonRush
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Symphonic Team
2 stars "Coda" is the afterthought album when the Zeppelin crashed into the tower and burned up in a fireball. The travesty of "Presence" set the ball rolling towards a break up, followed by horrendous "In Through the Out Door", and then John Bonham's death sealed it in stone. The band had nothing left to give and the great drummer's death rocked their world and he simply couldn't be replaced. Some bright spark decided to release all the tracks that were unreleased from past recording sessions as a posthumous gift to the fans, after all the bootlegs were being unearthed in large quantities so there was obvious interest in the group, and there you have the creation of "Coda". It is Led Zeppelin's worst album with very little to salvage even for the diehard ZepHeads.

There are moments that are up to the excellent Zep standard, as usual, namely 'Walter's Walk', that trudges along with a killer riff and pounding drums, the way they should sound, over present and dominant. Well, at least they drown out the poor vocal technique of Plant drivelling the non-sensical lyrics.

'I Can't Quit You Baby' is back to brilliance as the Zeps move into the dominant blues landscape, a searing performance by Page who makes his guitar cry hot tears. LZ were masters of this genre and when they are released to improvised blues jamming there were none better.

However you have to trudge through tedious songs to get to them. When I say tedious there is none worse than the Elvis inspired ditties such as Darlene, a must to avoid. I know some ZepHeads will state LZ can not do wrong but there is no room for fanboyism here, folks. A lot of this album smells and it smells very bad indeed like the rotting corpse of prog that was stinking during 1982 when this was released to the adoring public.

Also 'Bonzo's Montreux', has a clever title but little else. Okay, it is Bonham banging the living suitcase out of his kit and I guess that has merit, you have to hand it to the man, he knew how to slam those cans, but he does this every concert. Having said that it is one of the lone highlights on "Coda" so worth seeking out.

Anyway this is an album designed for completists, and of course it is coming from arguably the most influential and indisputable rock gods themselves. It has a couple of decent tracks so deserves at least 2 stars. The mighty Led Zeppelin were capable of so much better, and if you want to hear the best you need to turn to the first 4 albums; sheer brilliance.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to AtomicCrimsonRush (BETA) | Report this review (#899257)
Posted Friday, January 25, 2013 | Review Permalink
1 stars I think it would be unfair to review this as a true album as it is really just throwaway material the band gathered in addition to some reworks. With that said, the songs are just simply not good, or, at the very least decent, but very derivative of what they've been doing since their debut.

There is nothing even remotely prog about any of this, but that's besides the point when most of it is bad in the first place. 'Bonzo's Montreux' is all I really care for, as Bonham is a beast on the kit (when was he never?) 'I Can't Quit You Baby' is nice, but we've heard it before, which can practically be said for this whole album.

2/10

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Mr. Mustard (BETA) | Report this review (#921220)
Posted Friday, March 01, 2013 | Review Permalink
Guillermo
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars I have discovered that I still have not written a review for this album!

Well. This album was mostly released as a "recording contract filler" two years after the death of John Bonham. It is a collection of previously unreleased tracks and short in playing time (aprox. 34 minutes).

"We´re Gonna Groove" and "I Can`t Quit You Baby" are two Blues covers which were recorded live in 1970 but were overdubbed in the studio years latter. Both are not very interesting for me.

"Poor Tom" is an outake from their third album from 1970 with great drums by John Bonham.

"Water`s Walk" is an outtake from their "Houses of the Holy" album from 1973.

The most interesting songs from this album for me are the three outakes from their "In Through the Out Door" album ("Ozone Baby", "Darlene" and "Wearing and Tearing"). The three songs are the best from this album, very energetic, with "Wearing and Tearing" being the best song from this album, with great guitar playing by Page and great drums playing by Bonham. "Wearing and Tearing" was played at the Knebworth Festival from 1990 by Plant`s band with Jimmy Page as guest. That was the first time that I listened to this very good song during a TV broadcast from this Festival.

"Bonzo`s Montreux" is a very good solo drums and percussion composition by John Bonham recorded in 1976, done with several overdubbs and very good and energetic rhythms. This composition also shows why Bonham was considered as one of the best drummers in Rock. This recording was augmented by some sound effects done by Page to be released in this album.

In conclusion: "Coda" is an uneven compilation album that was released mostly as a "record contract filler", mostly interesting for the most die-hard fans of the band. I don`t listen to this album very often, but I prefer the songs from the original Side Two of the L.P. (tracks 5 to 8).

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Guillermo (BETA) | Report this review (#1182714)
Posted Tuesday, June 03, 2014 | Review Permalink

LED ZEPPELIN Coda ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of LED ZEPPELIN Coda


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.45 seconds