Header
Yes - BBC Sessions 1969-1970 Something's Coming (2 Cds) CD (album) cover

BBC SESSIONS 1969-1970 SOMETHING'S COMING (2 CDS)

Yes

Symphonic Prog


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
Sean Trane
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Prog Folk
3 stars Thus comes a very odd choice to make on the star rating system. Certainly not a four or a five star, this is good but non-essential . However most fans have the original studio album of these tracks but they are different ( I personally love BBC Sesions because of the sheer quality of live recordings) so they are only to please confirmed fans of Yes , but since they are somewhat the same , this is really redundant to own this one if you have the other version of this . Therefore one might only acquire this if he is a completionist only. ! , 2 or three stars for this one ? Well my answer , you saw at the start of this review. And i was just toying around with the wording of the rating system. none can be perfect and i wish most people would use the top rating (5) less than 5% of the time because only less than 5 percent of prog albums ( this goes for every music style ever recorded ) should be masterpieces (for some prog bands with extended catalogues this mght go up to 15 percent.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Sean Trane (BETA) | Report this review (#13960)
Posted Friday, July 02, 2004 | Review Permalink
2 stars I was really pleased to discover that CD because I wanted to discover YES on stage in their very first line-up. And the song are wery well played ... But sadly, "America" in its 15 extended version and played for BBC was not added. WHY????????? In the same way, I regret that Everydays and Then are taken two times. The first takes of both are dispensible... I'd prefer to have other songs recorded live on stage, like I see you (with an unreleased solo guitar), the full 11' version of Everydays or the song they used to play with Iron Botterfly (that I don't remember the name, sorry)

In conclusion, I may be a very big fan of YES for years, but my vote is hard cause the opportunity (not necessary, they said, but ... !) wasn't better used.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to spide (BETA) | Report this review (#13961)
Posted Thursday, September 02, 2004 | Review Permalink
Guillermo
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars This album shows Yes in their early period, before and after recording their first 2 albums. The recordings are not very good, and it seems that all are mono recordings. But this is of historic interest, at least for me. There are songs with mistakes, but it doesn`t matter. Some show Yes`skill for improvisation ("Every Little Thing"). Bill Bruford was a very good drummer since the beginning of his career. Sometimes is very impressive to hear him and his technique ("No opportunity necessary, no experience needed"). Chris Squire plays his Rickenbacker bass as always: powerful, "melodic". Jon Anderson still today has the same good voice. The sometimes underrated Tony Kaye and Peter Banks show good things each one in their own instruments. The almost "new" song (or at least not released before in a "legal" album) is "For Everyone", which has a part which later became "Disillusion" in "Starship Trooper". There are some songs with the voice of the Radio announcer. The best songs in this album, which were played before an audience, are songs 1 to 5 in Disc Two. The other songs were recorded without the feedback of an audience,and were recorded very quickly, as Peter Banks said in the notes in the booklet of this album, without having enough time to re-record some songs which had mistakes.This album was compiled by Peter Banks, and in the booklet notes he shows the contrast about enjoying being a Yes member and later being fired without explanation (with Yes`then manager) in 1970. This album is maybe only for fans interested in the early period of Yes

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Guillermo (BETA) | Report this review (#13962)
Posted Saturday, September 18, 2004 | Review Permalink
NJprogfan
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars Unlike most Yes fans, I'm fond of the first two album simply because they sound SO different then what comes after. What thrilled me about these live recordings from their first two years is the energy and rockiness they project. Sure, the sound is terrible in spots, but at times Jon is singing his heart out, Bruford shows how masterful he is, Squire is thrashing his bass and Banks is up front, wailing his guitar. It seems that only Kaye's keyboards suffer the most sound-wise. Although songs are duplicated on both discs, the one that are tend to be my personal favorites, (Then, Sweet Dreams, Everydays). Now, what to rate this one? For fans of Yes, it's a definate 3 star album. For newbies, 2 stars. So, rounded off 2.5 stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to NJprogfan (BETA) | Report this review (#43169)
Posted Wednesday, August 17, 2005 | Review Permalink
dstevs@msn.co
4 stars This album is good. I loved it. Yes shows the energy and dynamism here that they had when they were a young band and not famous, here in America, as they were after the release of their later albums. Now, of course, compilation albums are the only thing that is released by Yes. (p)

I feel I am realistic, when I say that this album is a great way to rediscover all the early music of Yes and a fun way to reexperience it. Most of my early Yes music is on vinyl recordings. This is one way for Yes fans to listen to early Yes music on cd players--if they have not done that, yet. (p)

The Yes versions of "Everydays" (Stills), "No Opportunity Necessary, No Experience Required" (Havens), Every Little Thing (Beatles) and Somethings Coming (Bernstein/Sondheim) are amazing to me, because they seem so different than later Yes (albums with Rick Wakeman, Seven Howe and Alan White) and show a very young, talented band. Listening to this music was like re-experiencing the excitement of buying a new Yes album (being awed by their talent and hearing "new" songs--undiscovered music by a fan of progressive rock"). (p)

So, 4 stars seems fair. (5 stars is reserved for albums like "Going for the One" or "Close to the Edge). By the way, being an American, I have not been familiar, as others are here, with the BBC and its products. So, this album is a surprise to me and Surprises can be Nice. I'm aware of BBC Online and the BBC television networks, but albums put together by the BBC are a new frontier for me. (p)

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#78096)
Posted Saturday, May 13, 2006 | Review Permalink
3 stars I like this release. It's recordings of the original Yes lineup, playing live in BBC Studios from their seminal years of 1969-1970. It is also released on a one disc version, Something's Coming. The difference between the two, is that Beyond & Before has two discs, and alot of repeat songs.

The performances are good, full of energy. This set shows Peter Banks' skill as a guitarist, often underrated. Tony Kaye really adds a key element in the early sound, the psych hammond sound. It's brilliant here. The choice of songs is also top notch.

Essential for fans of the first two albums, or a cheap introduction to exploring the early sound of YES.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to OGTL (BETA) | Report this review (#101593)
Posted Monday, December 04, 2006 | Review Permalink
ZowieZiggy
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars From time to time, there are some jewels coming out of the boxes of the BBC. Have a listen to the double Purple "Live In Concert" (one CD for the In Rock" era and one from "Machine Head"). Have another for Genesis' one (but I guess it is still considered as a bootleg) : moments of five concerts they played at the Beeb (from February '70 to September '72). As last example, the best known is the Led Zep double CD. Three great moments of this wonderful programme. Unfortunately with this YesWork, we are far from these masterpieces. What we have here are "studio" live tracks from their first two albums and some unreleased cover version for "Something's Coming" (at least in an album). This cover is a very good by the way (like almost all their covers though) and the highlight here. Four songs from "Yes" (of which the cover "Every Little Thing") and six from "Time And A Word" (of which two covers). I consider this album as relatively weak so I can hardly be exicted with this work (the versions here are also not very deviant from the original ones). There are also six duplicate tracks which makes this album for completionists only. Two stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to ZowieZiggy (BETA) | Report this review (#105054)
Posted Sunday, December 31, 2006 | Review Permalink
Finnforest
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
2 stars Decent rarity item for fans of the first two albums.

Early Yes live on the BBC, this is a neat little historical gem. It's true that the material from Yes' first two albums is a far cry from what they would accomplish later but this is still good and interesting. The playing is dynamic and energetic, there is nothing like experiencing the exuberance of youth whether we're talking Yes, Zeppelin, The Who, or anyone else. Hearing music from people before they were millionaires you might say.

Banks' guitar is ferocious in places and Bruford attacks his drums like a madman. You also get the rare opportunity to hear the song "For Everyone" which is sort of an early version of Starship Trooper. It's a fascinating treat to hear a Yes classic like that in an early developmental stage.

The sound quality can be a bit rough in places but isn't too bad. 2.5 stars here because this is both "for fans only" and also "good."

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Finnforest (BETA) | Report this review (#128373)
Posted Friday, July 13, 2007 | Review Permalink
Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
3 stars And now for some loud music by a new pop combo, listeners of a nervous disposition should retune now

During their early, formative years, Yes paid several visits to the BBC to record material for radio programmes. The BBC's enthusiasm for bands to re-record tracks for broadcast, rather than simply playing album tracks by them, was not as enlightened as it may at first seem. At the time, the Musician's Union was far more powerful than it is now. Radio stations were only permitted to play so many hours of records each day, the balance having to be made up by live performances. This meant many bands, including prog combos, visiting the BBC to record sessions. In many cases, these recordings were virtually the same as the original recordings, to the extent that it could be difficult to tell whether or not you were listening to the original recording. One of the main clues as to the origins of these performances is that they are largely recorded in mono, radio not being widely available in stereo until a few years later.

The tracks here are taken from the period before the band made their ground-breaking "The Yes album", and are thus pre Howe and Wakeman. This however gives us another opportunity to evaluate the work of early band members Tony Kaye (keyboards), and Peter Banks (guitar). Most of these tracks appeared in their original form on either "Yes" or "Time and a word". Those that did not have either been included in compilations, such as "Yesterdays" and the "Yesyears" box set, or have become bonus tracks on recent re-releases of the first two albums.

In all, we have about half of each of the first two albums. Some tracks, such as "Then", "Every little thing" "Everydays" and "Sweetness" appear twice in different form (the "Millenium Collection" release calls these reprises or bonus tracks.

The opening "Something's coming" is an interpretation of a Sondheim/Bernstein number from "West side story", the Yes treatment making it barely recognisable as such. The track includes a brief run through "Troika" from Sergei Prokofiev's "Lieutenant Kije Suite", better known perhaps as the instrumental theme in Greg Lake's "I believe in Father Christmas". Classical themes pop up elsewhere from time to time, "Everydays" for example including a burst of Holst. "For everyone" is in some ways the most interesting track, as part of it later mutated into part of "Starship trooper" on "The Yes album". It is also the rarest track on offer here.

The tracks on the first disc are all live in the studio performances, while some of those on the second are performed in front of an audience. There is overall, a raw excitement to the tracks which more than compensates for the dubious quality of the recordings. When compared to the more refined sound which first appeared on "The Yes album", and was rapidly developed through "Fragile", "Close to the edge", etc., things sound more than a little rough and ready here. Anderson's vocals are off key and often hard to listen to, giving little indication of the sophistication which would soon evolve on tracks such as "Yours is no disgrace" and "Starship Trooper". While I would hesitate to recommend this compilation to anyone other than Yes fans, it is nevertheless a worthwhile addition to a prog collection.

These sessions have been repackaged and re-released on several occasions. "The Millennium collection" by Yes, one of a series of releases by various bands under the same name, is identical to this release and sells for a very low price. The discs run to a little over 40 minutes each, so with a little pruning of the duplicated tracks, this could easily have been a single disc package.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Easy Livin (BETA) | Report this review (#149509)
Posted Thursday, November 08, 2007 | Review Permalink
Tarcisio Moura
PROG REVIEWER
1 stars My review here refers to the Millenium Collection single CD, not the 2 CD BBC sessions.

A collection of Yes 2 first albums? Again? Even if now I know those songs came from BBC Sessions, the quality has not improved. In fact, they are quite poor. If I wanted a selection of early tunes I´d pick up Yesterdays. At least Yesterdays had a non LP track to boost it at the time (their version of Paul Simon´s America, available only as a single or on a compliation os Atlantic´s roosters then) plus a b side, Dear Father. This one does not have a single unissued tune to make it at least a bit interesting. Besides, they coud have at least included much more material (where are the fine songs The Prophet and Harold Land?). I can understand Yesterdays having some time limitations since it was originally released in vinyl, but what´s the excuse for this one? I think that Yes first two albums are worth having as a whole, even if they are far from perfect. But if you want a compilation of those, Yesterdays is still your best choice. Millenium Collection is just a greedy attempt to cash in, giving it with a misleading title. Don´t be fooled by it. This one is to be avoid at all costs. Zero stars.

P.S I recently heard the complete BBC Sessions 1969-1970. While far from perfect (the sound quality is of an old bootleg quality), it has some historical interest and it may be worth for the Yes hardcore fans or competionists. But only for them.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Tarcisio Moura (BETA) | Report this review (#246809)
Posted Wednesday, October 28, 2009 | Review Permalink
TheGazzardian
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars This album is clearly only for Yes collectors. With only songs from their first two albums, which on there own don't have a wide prog appeal, and lower recording quality with several doubles (Something's Coming, Everydays, Sweetness, Every Little Thing, Sweet Dreams, Then), only Yes fans will likely enjoy this.

Luckily, I am a Yes fan, and for Yes fans who enjoyed their early two discs (the "Peter Banks" era), there is much here to enjoy. The versions of Astral Traveller and Every Little Thing are particularly good. It also contains Something's Coming and Dear Father, which, if you didn't have the Rhino Remasters of Yes and Time and a Word, could even count as "new" tracks. At the time of its release, "For Everyone" (which would eventually evolve into part of Starship Trooper) was also only available on this collection, although it has since been made available on "The Word Is Live".

While I rate this as 2 stars, it is not for all Yes fans. It is for Yes fans that appreciate the first two Yes discs enough to want two more discs of the same material in lower quality recordings. I'd give it a 3/5 star rating for Yes fans.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to TheGazzardian (BETA) | Report this review (#257476)
Posted Wednesday, December 23, 2009 | Review Permalink
AtomicCrimsonRush
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Symphonic Team
2 stars This review refers to "The Millenium Collection" packaging.

...my ears twinged as tin foil music with treble turned up to high pitch and cardboard guitars blinged out of the speakers.

Let me tell you a story. OK, so I was wandering around aimlessly in the second hand market and nothing remotely prog could be found anywhere. The vinyl albums were both types of music, country AND western, the CDs were your basic top 40 radio rubbish, so I was about to walk out disappointed when I walked past a stall with one CD on it. The words Yes gleamed out and hit my eyeballs. My hand reached out like an instinctive reaction and greedily grabbed the gold cover. The gold leaf cover was one I had never seen and I had everything that was Yes, but I didn't have this. On the back cover I noted that these were very old live performances; 2 CDs worth of them! "How much" I managed to stammer, the disinterested vendor mumbles, "Ah.. a dollar will do for t hat". I was more than stunned. You could have peeled me off the ceiling. "OK I will take it". I mean, who wouldn't?

So I raced home and eagerly put the first CD on. 'Something's Coming' began to play. It sounded as if it had been recorded inside a shoe box. It was yes but it sounded mono and no bass and horrible production like a flipping bootleg. I skipped to the next track ,and it was the same, awful mono quality, a tiny sound like AM radio at its worst. Perhaps there is something wrong with the speakers. I checked them by putting on "Fragile"; 'Roundabout' boomed out of the speakers. No, nothing wrong with the CD player.

I put the "Millenium Collection" CD on again and my ears twinged as tin foil music with treble turned up to high pitch and cardboard guitars blinged out of the speakers. What is this? I read the liner notes; "This album features both studio recordings produced by Peter Banks and examples of radio and TV performances from the early days of the band." Ok. Enough said. That is what it is. These early performances are actually taken directly from the BBC radio or videos so as a record of early live Yes, it is... interesting is the operative word. It is not entertaining. The versions here are a pale comparison to the original studio version. The quality is so naff it is cringe worthy. The tracks are the worst the band has to offer apart from 'Astral Traveller', 'Sweet Dreams' and 'Something's Coming'. It cost me a dollar, 50 cents per CD so that's not to be complained about, because that is precisely what it is worth! This is definitely only for collectors so 2 cringeworthy stars. Everyone else steer well clear of this nasty little curio.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to AtomicCrimsonRush (BETA) | Report this review (#280827)
Posted Friday, May 07, 2010 | Review Permalink
Epignosis
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Eclectic Prog Team
2 stars Here is a two-disc set of Yes in their fledgling years. According to the man at the flea market who sold me this for $12, he saw Yes in Denmark when they were practically unknown. He says they showed up in Volkswagen bus and played for the same pay as the local bands because they wanted to get their name out their and make it big. He said the next time he saw them they were using an 18-wheeler to haul their equipment. It must have been something, catching a piece of progressive rock history in the flesh like that. Born almost fifteen years after these performances, this is all I have. And while I'm grateful to hear it, I am disheartened with the presentation itself. No question- the sound quality is paper thin and terrible. The guitar is tinny and painful. While the bass and drums come through pretty okay, the rest of the music is downright muddy, and at times distressing. The immaturity of Jon Anderson's vocals are clear enough, however. Yet it is the raw enthusiasm and their clear thirst to push the boundaries of music that makes this item worth having in one's collection. The performances are no doubt lively, and while not quite as good as the studio versions, inject a degree of energy into the performance that is just amazing. "Dear Father," not a proper studio album track, is especially good. "Sweet Dreams" on the first disc inextricably fades out, while "Then" truncates the introduction. "No Opportunity Necessary, No Experience Required" is the sloppiest performance of the first disc, played way too fast and just sounding careless all around, even with terribly out-of-tune vocals. One enormous con with respect to this two-disc album is that the second disc is almost pointless, even when the bonus tracks are considered. The second disc offers "Astral Traveler," a better version of "Then," and "Beyond and Before." One other thing it has is a little ditty called "For Everyone," which is an early version of "Starship Trooper." The rest of the disc are different performances of some of the same songs on the first disc. I would have preferred to see some of the overlooked early masterpieces like "Survival" or "The Prophet" instead of redundant presentations. One pro however is hearing the young drumming of a certain Bill Bruford, whom I think steals the show, especially on the very first song. The commentary in the booklet from a clearly resentful Peter Banks is almost as entertaining as the music itself.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Epignosis (BETA) | Report this review (#297098)
Posted Wednesday, September 01, 2010 | Review Permalink
2 stars I've this version: "Millennium Collection" (D.V. More Record CDDV 6778) that isn't bad.

D.V. More Record version present a good booklet with some photo. The central photo present an error: Rick Wakeman isn't present in this CD. At the same time the photos are good. The cover with a sub (female?) is interesting but inappropriately.

The music that is present in D.V. More Record version are good as example of Proto Prog/ Symphonic POP/ Early Prog, genres that are in the spirit of end of 60's. My preferred song is "Dear Father", probably the only true Yes Prog style song in D.V. More Record version. This version present other 7 songs, not bad but not memorables today.

D.V. More Record isn't bad as extract or compilation. In truth is not proper a good purchase if you are virgin about Yes.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Stella (BETA) | Report this review (#408490)
Posted Saturday, February 26, 2011 | Review Permalink

YES BBC Sessions 1969-1970 Something's Coming (2 Cds) ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of YES BBC Sessions 1969-1970 Something's Coming (2 Cds)


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.31 seconds