Header
Caravan - Cunning Stunts CD (album) cover

CUNNING STUNTS

Caravan

Canterbury Scene


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
Sean Trane
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Prog Folk
2 stars 2.5 stars really!!

The beginning of the end although they might argue that this was the end of the begionning. This should have been a great Lp but the sound is completely different (more Americanized) and one wonder what a master piece the suite might have been if it had been recorded one year earlier. Actually, the BBC sessions make some of these tracks better and more-Caravan sounding.

Another Stunning play on words on the title of the album, you Cµnts??? ;-)

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Sean Trane (BETA) | Report this review (#21394)
Posted Monday, February 02, 2004 | Review Permalink
walksa@geog.u
2 stars This album has three good tracks (the long Dabsong Con-Shirt-Toe suite is the best, but the Tollington Pk Rag and No Backstage Pass are fine too), but the other four songs are awful. 'Stuck in a Hole' really sums it up here, not just for Caravan at the time, but for the mid-1970's boring commercial-rock sound that it reproduces. I can't believe the latter was released as a single!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#21395)
Posted Tuesday, February 03, 2004 | Review Permalink
petekstranded
4 stars The Show of Our Lives and No Backstage Pass are the best songs ever recorded by Caravan, in my humble opinion. The Dabsong Conshirtoe is a little self indulgent, but is pleasant enough for an ambient piece. This is a very under rated album. Sure it doesn't sound like their previous albums, but it would be rather pointless to make the same album over and over.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#21397)
Posted Sunday, March 14, 2004 | Review Permalink
loserboy
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars "Cunning Stunts" is another superb Canterbury prog release from CARAVAN mixing all the right elements throughout. Songs range from more pop orientated (side A) to the side long epic "The Dabsong Conshirtoe" which shows a more progressive side of CARAVAN ( a six part movement). "Cunning Stunts" in many ways is actually my fav of CARAVAN's output with some great gentle CAMEL-like canterbury keyboards and songs. Vocals are picture perfect with great harmonies and thoughtful backing vocals. The reason why I love this album is that although "Cunning Stunts" carries all the trademarks of classic CARAVAN they involve more CAMEL imagery than say SOFT MACHINE influences. A beautiful album worthy of your collection...

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to loserboy (BETA) | Report this review (#21398)
Posted Friday, March 19, 2004 | Review Permalink
garyr@beachto
3 stars STUCK IN A HOLE and the brilliant DABSONG CONSHIRTOE make this album for me. HOLE sounds like NIGHT OWL-era Gerry Rafferty, while the CONSHIRTOE is simply mesmerizing. Along with GREY AND PINK and PLUMP IN THE NIGHT, this has to be one of Caravan's best.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#21399)
Posted Saturday, March 27, 2004 | Review Permalink
greenback
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
2 stars The worst caravan album! Man! This album is really awful! The album is often full of accoustic rhythmic guitar and pseudo sentimental background string or minimal keyboards arrangements! We are far from "In the Land of Grey and Pink"! The melodies are quite not catchy at all. The music is simple, the songs seems accessible but the addiction never comes!

What happened to those guys? It is even BEATLES-esque!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to greenback (BETA) | Report this review (#21391)
Posted Thursday, April 08, 2004 | Review Permalink
Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
4 stars Caravan put on the show of their lives, gery vood!

The last of the great Caravan albums. The school playground humour of the title, and the rather nondescript sleeve disguise an excellent work which features many fine moments. The jazz influence which came to the fore on "Waterloo Lily" is seldom in evidence here, the album being among the band's most accessible releases, while retaining a significant depth of Canterbury prog.

"The show of our lives" is a majestic opener, complete with chiming bells contributing to a veritable wall of sound. The stately pace and choral vocals give an almost stage show feel to the track. "Lover" and "No backstage pass" combine well to form a beautiful 10 minute piece which was to become a regular feature of their live set.

The "Dabsong concerto" occupies virtually all of side 2 of the LP. It carries many of the Caravan trademarks, with some fine instrumental work. It does tend to drift a bit midway through, but is brought back together by a reprisal of "The show of our lives" to end the track.

Overall, a slightly more commercial album than their previous offerings, but another classic Caravan release nonetheless.

The 2001 remastered CD version has 3 extra tracks including the rare "Keeping back my love" and an 18 minute live version of the classic "For Richard".

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Easy Livin (BETA) | Report this review (#21392)
Posted Friday, April 09, 2004 | Review Permalink
Chris S
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars People say it was the beginning of the end for Caravan. I couldn't disagree more. This and Blind Dogs are very well produced albums continuing in the jazzy mix of WL but obviously not as prog influenced. The Dabsong Conshirtoe is an epic as is ' Stuck in a Hole', ' No backstage Pass' and the soft rocker ' Welcome the Day'. Highly recommended particularly for those who enjoy the jazz side of Caravan.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Chris S (BETA) | Report this review (#21400)
Posted Sunday, July 04, 2004 | Review Permalink
Proghead
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars I hate to come down hard on CARAVAN, after releasing a handful of good to great albums, they came up with this over-orchestrated disaster known as "Cunning Stunts". The lineup at this point was Pye Hastings, David Sinclair, Geoff Richardson, Richard Coughlin, and Mike Wedgwood. Wedgwood was previously CURVED AIR and appeared on the wonderful "Phantasmagoria" and its followup, "Air Cut" (which I hadn't heard yet, but had a lineup change for that album). While Mike Wedgwood's appearance in CURVED AIR didn't hurt the band any (after all, the songwriting there was confined to Sonja Kristina, Darryl Way, and Francis Monkman, keeping the CURVED AIR sound), his appearance in CARAVAN really hurt the band, as he seemed to take over here and hogged the spotlight. And most of the stuff he came up with is mush, like "The Show of Our Lives" and "Lover". The orchestrations don't help. What's really lacking here is the whimsy, and the charm of earlier albums, concentrating too much on orchestration. Pye Hasting's rare vocal show, "Stuck in a Hole" is a bit of an improvement. And where's David Sinclair? Mostly it's just him on piano, I start missing his organ, like on "In the Land of Grey & Pink". "The Dabsong Conshirtoe" is the side-length cut, which actually has some excellent moments, starts off rather mushy, but still prevents the album from being a complete disaster. Not the first place to start if you're new to CARAVAN.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Proghead (BETA) | Report this review (#21402)
Posted Thursday, November 11, 2004 | Review Permalink
NetsNJFan
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars 3.5 really.

This album was Caravan's most commercially succesful, driven by the (relative) single sucess of the songs "Stuck in a Hole" and "The Show of Our Lives". Despite this, it earns a lot of derision on the part of die-hard fans, some unwarranted. This is the last good release from Caravan, and has many reasons to recommend it. (It sports a great cover, and Caravan had not lost their trademark Canterbury humour, with the title pun, "Cunning Stunts"). By this point the lineup consisted of band leader and guitarist Pye Hastings, the canterbury legend (and recently returned) David Sinclair on keys, Richard Coughlan on Drums, Geoff Richardson on Violin and Mike Wedgewood on Bass. A strong lineup, but the addition of Wedgewood does push them into much more conventional, rock-pop mould. The album opens with the stately Sinclair composition "The Show of Our Lives", which is the closest Caravan comes to symphonic prog. This slow and majestic track is a real gem, Pye's voice and guitar are both spot on, as well as Richardson as always fantastic violin/viola work. The next track, Pye Hasting's "Stuck in a Hole" was Caravan's biggest hit, and while it lacks the power and grandeur of "Show of our Lives" and their earlier work, it is nonetheless enjoyable and fun, (although not the sound Caravan fans had come to expect). The next three tracks are rather mediocre bordering on insufferable. Mike Wedgewood's "Lover" is one of the most hated tracks ever by Caravan fans, with good reason. It is syrupy trash with little substance. "Welcome the Day" and "no Backstage Pass" are a bit better, though instantly forgettable. With the eighteen minute "Dabsong Concerto", another Sinclair composition, Caravan return to their strong canterbury jazz roots, and they do it well. This is the last epic in the bands repertoire, and its memorable. It has a poppy begginning, similar to many of their songs, which fades into a great Jazz-Prog workout. While Caravan had no doubt drifted towards a more commercial sound of late, they showed they could still play, and play well on this track. Interestingly, this track not only draws its inspiration from folk, jazz and prog like many Caravan tracks, but their is a great deal of Funk in it as well! Overall a very enjoyable and lively track (minus the repetitive and annoying ending with random sound effects). The album closes with a short (1 minute) and pleasant piece called "the Fear and Loathing in Tollington Park Rag", a nice little acoustic guitarpiece and a great way to end the album. Overall a pleasant and enjoyable album, and the last of any importance from Caravan. Despite three weak middle tracks, it is a strong album, and any fan of the lighter, more structured side of Canterbury will love it - 3.5 stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to NetsNJFan (BETA) | Report this review (#37394)
Posted Thursday, June 23, 2005 | Review Permalink
4 stars "Cunning Stunts" of announcement in 1975. The last work in DERAM age. The feature of the sound is graceful British pop shown by the first two. It is a system to which the influence of THE BEATLES such as 10CC and WINGS has been received. The first half is a melodious pop like Paul McCartney. The latter half is a masterpiece of the medley that can be concentrated on the sound in a relaxed manner. It is possible to listen to the CARAVAN world the encounter or not dividing.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to braindamage (BETA) | Report this review (#43514)
Posted Saturday, August 20, 2005 | Review Permalink
Tony Fisher
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars I dug this out for this review after not having listened to it for over 20 years and the reasons I didn't like it then apply more than ever now. Caravan had gone through several line up changes since their masterpiece (In the Land of Grey and Pink), the charismatic and excellent bass/vocalist Richard Sinclair having left to be replaced by Mike Wedgewood and Geoff Richardson having come in to take the load off Dave Sinclair in the lead instrument role. He provides viola and electric guitar solos, largely because Pye Hastings seems unwilling or unable to solo. However, the problem does not lie with the musicians, all of whom play very competently.

Caravan are noted for quirky, very English songs with a distinct sense of humour. The material here is generally completely average and most of it is forgettable. The Show of our Lives is the best track on side 1 and escapes criticism, being a fine song in the true Caravan mould with some great choral singing. Stuck in a Hole was released as a single but flopped deservedly; the title describes the band's predicament well. Lover is horrible, slushy and slow with dreadful string arrangements and the last 2 tracks are entirely forgettable, Welcome the Day being decidely poppy and fairly horrible.

Side 2 is almost all taken up by The Dabsong Concerto which sounds like an attempt to revisit Nine Feet Underground. It is pretty good overall and has its moments of brilliance, but it's a bit self indulgent in parts and does not ignite in the way the earlier piece did.

So how to rate this mixed bag? Bearing in mind that I have owned this LP for 31 years and have probably played it less than 10 times (it's in pristine condition!), that must say something. It falls between 2 and 3* but, like the curate's egg, good in parts only merits 2*.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Tony Fisher (BETA) | Report this review (#87184)
Posted Monday, August 14, 2006 | Review Permalink
Heptade
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars This is Caravan's first sort-of dud, ironic considering that it was their most commercially successful album at the time (and ever, I think). I think they really missed Richard Sinclair's talents as a singer and composer and his sense of humour. The genius of In the Land of Grey and Pink is not present here. For Girls Who Grow Plump... was a pleasant album with some memorable, inventive tunes, but this one passes by without much to remember. That's not to say it's not pleasant- the strings, piano, flute and viola are quite elegant and Pye Hastings remains a good singer and a decent songwriter, but it's all rather inconsequential and a bit bland, sort of like a Peter Frampton album. The songs are pretty much soft-rock with an occasional stab at a kind of white funk groove. The 18 minute Dabsong Conshirtoe is basically a bunch of songs like the rest of the album tied together, not a real epic. I don't mean to come down so hard on the album, but by Caravan's high standards, this slice of competent 70s rock doesn't really measure up. Having said that, if you are building a core collection of Caravan albums, this is certainly pleasant enough to add to your purchases. Just don't expect anything too mind-blowing.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Heptade (BETA) | Report this review (#96890)
Posted Thursday, November 02, 2006 | Review Permalink
Seyo
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars This will probably sound heretical for die-hard CARAVAN fans, but I enjoy this album much more than heavily overrated "The Land of Grey and Pink"! It's soft and easy to listen, true, but it is not simply "soft-rock" or "easy-listening" music. The music flows perfectly from start to finish and seems like well-constructed and composed theme. This LP is far from groundbreaking or avant-garde innovations. It is far from masterpiece. But it is simply very nice album to listen to and enjoy. I don't see a reason why "Cunning Stunts" shouldn't be included in any decent prog collection.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Seyo (BETA) | Report this review (#97751)
Posted Thursday, November 09, 2006 | Review Permalink
ZowieZiggy
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars While you listen to the opening song, you will pass through several experiences : some dull acoustic start, a sumptuous guitar break and finally a gospel oriented finale. Quite an indigestible mix.

"Stuck In A Whole" is more in the style of their previous (and more rocking) album. An easy listening and upbeat rock song. Not bad, but not really good either!

It is true to say that this album is not a great one. The syrupy and well titled "Lover" is an ultra mellowish song which collapses under heavy orchestrations. Press next.

My favourite song from this album is "No Backstage Day". Smooth vocals are combined with a beautiful melody and when the band group its forces and perform the upbeat middle part, we are not far away of the best "Caravan" which is of course not the case during the funky "Welcome The Day". Press next.

The epic of this album is another pleasant song. It combines quiet musical moments and rock passages with a special mention to the very good violin play (but these brass are too invading). It should please any "Caravan" fan. It saves a bit this album I must say.

Some jazzy flavours and good fluting almost fully occupies the second half of this long piece (eighteen minutes, sharp). I admit that the last five funky minutes are repetitive and useless. It really ends up nowhere. A pity because without those brass and this finale it could have been a good epic.

This is an aaverage album even if the remastered edition features a good version of For Richard. Two stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to ZowieZiggy (BETA) | Report this review (#160009)
Posted Sunday, January 27, 2008 | Review Permalink
UMUR
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
3 stars Cunning Stunts is the sixth studio album from Caravan. After the brilliant For Girls Who Grow Plumb in the Night, I expected an equally stunning album, but I guess Caravan´s great era ended with For Girls Who Grow Plumb in the Night because Cunning Stunts is a disappointment compared to the previous album. It´s not all bad though and there are hints to the Caravan we love.

The Show of Our Lives starts the album. It´s a semi-ballad song with lots of orchestration. I can´t say I enjoy this song very much. It´s definitely not to my taste. Stuck in a Hole is the next song and here the quality is considerably higher. This is how Caravan should sound like IMO. It´s an energetic song that reminds me a bit about some of the songs from For Girls Who Grow Plumb in the Night. One of the best songs here without a doubt. Lover is a terrible cheesy ballad type song with lots of orchestration. Really not my taste at all. Around this time of listening I was seriously worried if Cunning Stunts would continue in this way but fortunately the next song No Backstage Pass is a pretty good subtle Caravan song. But then we go again with a terrible song. Welcome the Day has beat that is almost in the vein of disco. This song is so cheesy I can´t stand it. The keyboard solo by David Sinclair is a bit redeeming though. It´s a very bad song though.

Dabsong Conshirto is an 18 minute long song which is the definite highlight of Cunning Stunts. This is actually one of the greatest compositions I have heard so far from Caravan. Lots of soloing by violin, keyboards and flute but there are also some of the most demanding vocal parts Pye Hastings ever did. Really high pitched without sounding forced. What a great song. The last song is The Fear and Loathing in Tollington Park which is a short almost bluegrass inspired guitar led song but then flute kicks in and gives it a folky touch. Ok but nothing special.

The musicianship is very good even though it´s hard to understand that brilliant musicians like these want´s to play some of the things played on Cunning Stunts.

The production is very good. I really enjoy this production and I wish that the music had been better so it could have profited from the good sound quality.

Cunning Stunts have good moments and terrible moments and it´t definitely not my favorite Caravan album but the good moments does mean that I will rate Cunning Stunts 3 stars. Two songs stand out as the best and saves the album and that is Stuck in a Hole and Dabsong Conshirto. This is partially recommendable. I would buy this if I fell over it in a record store but it´s not the kind of album I would seek out.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to UMUR (BETA) | Report this review (#173443)
Posted Tuesday, June 10, 2008 | Review Permalink
SouthSideoftheSky
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Symphonic Team
3 stars Neither cunning nor stunning

This is one of Caravan's better albums, but it is far away from the previous For Girls Who Grow Plump In The Night. Cunning Stunts consists mainly of rather lightweight songs with a distinct Pop flavour. Perhaps, not that they are particularly commercial or very memorable, but they are quite accessible and cathcy they somehow lack an edge.

The opening song, The Show Of Our Lives, is more grandiose and symphonic than what we are used to from Caravan. It is a lovely song though, but hardly progressive. The misguided Jazz-Rock/Fusion direction of Waterloo Lily is thankfully not resurrected on this album. Instead they chose here to be a bit more accessible and melodic which benefits their sound much more than Jazz-Rock in my opinion. However, they often sound rather anonymous here and a bit too lighthearted for my taste. The Disco flavoured Welcome The Day would have fitted perfectly, both musically and lyrically, on an Alan Parsons Project album like I Robot or Eve!

The centrepiece of the album is the 18 minute, multipart The Dabsong Conshirtoe. This is clearly the most interesting song on the album and is quite nice. However, it does not compare favourably to the For Girls Who Grow Plump In The Night material or the classic Five Feet Underground from The Land Of Gray And Pink.

The conclusion is that Cunning Stunts, while neither particularly cunning nor particularly stunning, is still a good album. However, it is hardly essential listening.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to SouthSideoftheSky (BETA) | Report this review (#177461)
Posted Sunday, July 20, 2008 | Review Permalink
3 stars An admitted step in the "commercialized" direction. Yeah? What's wrong with that? Is that your definition of a cunning stunt, sir or madam? Pye Hastings wanted to be a successful rock musician; don't we all want to succeed in what we strive at? Taking that into consideration, it is quite understandable why the change of direction took place. Caravan's first foray into "pop slop" brought upon a minor success on the charts that had given Hastings hope, despite having betrayed his previous trench coat and fishing hat clad cult fan base in order to "sell out". Being a second generation member of this Caravan cult, I can't say I'm happy with all of the decisions made on this album but the ones derived from Caravan's roots (Pretty sounding instrumentation and ace melodies) make this album a very tolerable bugger.

The only notable change in the line up is that the uncanny Ozzy Osbourne sound-alike, John G. Perry, has been replaced by a certain Mike Wedgewood on bass. Wedgy had been previously part of another "progressive" outfit called Curved Air and in which, he had the curious behavior of penning something called "songs". Not particularly good ones either. During his short time in Caravan, he kept up this painful habit and wrote some real stinkers that clog up this album's already unhealthy arteries real nicely.

The Wedgewood compositions "Lover" and "Welcome the Day" are completely incompatible with Caravan's sound. What would be incompatible for this white n' nerdy n' proggy group, you ask? "Lover" is a "passionate, soulful crooner" and "Welcome the Day" is an "aggressive, 'soul on fire' funker". Is there any other band that these two genres would sound more awkward and stiff coming out of? Well? yeah, certainly a lot of bands on these archives that's for sure. Anyway, "Lover" and "Welcome the Day" would sound much happier being played, written and performed by Aretha Franklin and Sly and the Family Stone, respectively. I surmise the skinny and wimpy duo of Pye Hastings and Mike Wedgewood, would have to have a quick 'plasty and live on devil's food cake for the rest of their lives before they'd even be considerable as pop divas. Eww is right.

Thankfully, the rest draws from much more standard influences for Caravan and the results are much nicer and respectable. With the exception of "Show of our Lives" which is a warm, friendly, show tune-y opener, everything else is easily identifiable as either pop or prog. "Stuck in a Hole"? Snappy Elton Johnesque pop with lots of wooden block clunking. "No Backstage Pass" Very weighty power ballad pop with a massive melodic chorus built on pure sprawl. "Dabsong Conshirtoe"? Hmm, what else would a twenty minute song be labeled as? If you guessed neo-beatnik poetry masquerading as synth horn filled dance pop with twenties stylizations, you lucky kiddie, are correct.

Yeah right. More like the long awaited sequel to the second side of "Abbey Road" with a firey prog instrumental coda. No kidding. "Dabsong" might in fact be one of the best prog twenty minute epics ever. The first three sections are three individual pop songs that segue into each other while the rest is purely instrumental. The songs themselves have absolutely nil to do with each other (other then being very catchy ditties) and the lyrics range from prog ponderings to more Pye Hasting patented lustings after chubby call girls. (To think Mr. Perverse Pye was totally one upping 'Sir Mix a lot' long before the rapper's debut in 1988) However, I like to think of this as one continued, (musically) conceptual piece of dynamics as the tension rises through three mighty fine pop songs, is dropped on a light, jazzy, and flutey interlude and slowly mounts with the final section "All Sorts Of Unmentionable Things" on a really dangerous and evil sounding riff until it bursts into a heavenly reprise of the closing section of "Show of Our Lives" before the tension is released for good on a tiny folkie snippet thing entitled "The Fear and Loathing of Tollington Park Rag". Yes, the lyrics are complete Canterbury scene styled canterbabble but musically it holds together extremely coherently (and the melodies stick in your head with a vengeance) and almost manages to knock "Supper's Ready" off it's high perch for me. Sorry but "Dabsong Conshirtoe" doesn't even touch my spiritual nerve in any way. (or even reach in that direction, for that matter) unlike the one in a million, "Supper's Ready".

Well, with that last song colour me surprised that this album even made it on the charts. I'm sure the commercial pop crowd was a lot more tolerant towards nuances such as twenty minute long time wasters back then. (Wasn't Yes's "Going For The One" also mildly successful despite it's 15 minute epic?) While today, they're pretty oblivious to anything that isn't saturated with Justin Bieber or Miley Cyrus all over it. Come to think if it, what if Billy Ray's daughter ever came around to writing (Yea, I'm 98% sure she doesn't even write her own songs, but if she did?) a twenty minute epic would prog archives include her in their vast discography? Would people here embrace it or shun it? Well, if it was a mighty country flavored epic with those eye ball tic bad, "cowgirl" vocals, I know I'd spit my acidic critic juice all over it. The day Prog itself finally sells out? Yes and dee dee. This album is a little bit commercialized too but what it actually knows how to do (pop n' prog NOT funk n' soul) it does well.

Album Grade: B-

Best Songs: Stuck in a Hole, Dabsong Conshirtoe,

Worst Songs: Lover, Welcome The Day

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to LionRocker (BETA) | Report this review (#292161)
Posted Tuesday, July 27, 2010 | Review Permalink
snobb
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
3 stars Caravan turned on US market with this album. They always were pop-folk wing of Canterbury scene, but on their previous albums they quite successfully balanced between catchy melodies, soft multi layered sound and light smell of jazzy psychedelia to stay one of most respectable Canterbury scene band.

With Cunning Stunts they left their usual field of activities. Songs there are a bit faster,less dreamy, missed almost all folksy moments, but became much more funky and a bit more jazzy. Still big part of great melodies stayed on this release, and they are great material for almost groovy compositions a-la Steely Dan or Chicago (even more some compositions sound close to ELO prog-boogie ,or are influenced by American folk music)

I believe for Canterbury scene fans this album is a total disaster, but with my love to jazzy/funky grooves I can easily find an interesting side of the band's music there. For sure, a bit simplistic and some openly radio-friendly compositions didn't help much for band's progressive fame, but open ears listener will find really many interesting moments in the music of this album.

Interesting release for funky jazz rock fans, not recommended for Canterbury or prog folk lovers.

Really 3+!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to snobb (BETA) | Report this review (#330398)
Posted Monday, November 22, 2010 | Review Permalink
octopus-4
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
RIO/Avant/Zeuhl Team
3 stars This is what I consider the last good thing made by Caravan. This quite underrated album (IMO of course) is similar in its structure to Grey and Pink: 5 songs on the A side and a suite on the B side, even if there's a short closer at the end.

But let's go step by step: the album's opener is one of the most famous Caravan's tracks, at least by the mainstream public. It was also the title of the compilation that represented my first Caravan purchase. It's not on PA but I have to retrieve the vinyl in a box... "The Show Of Our Lives" is a major-chords-mellow-tempo song, nothing special apart the cello in the background and I really dislike its final.

Things are little better with "Stick In A Hole", another of the Caravan's pop-oriented songs. It's a piece of British Glam as we have found several times in the previous albums. Not properly prog. Good but non-essential let's say.

"Lover" seems to have been written to give Geoff Richardson the opportunity to place some strings here and there. This song can be skipped both for the trivial pop music and for the poor lyrics.

At this point somebody could wonder why I call this album "the last good thing"...let's proceed.

Strings and flute open "No Backstage Pass". It's the first true Caravan song. The vocals are not too dissimilar from Richard Sinclair's and the music is finally fully enjoyable. There's some pop in the chorus but it's not so bad to jeopardize the rest of the song.

"Welcome the Day" is a surprise. I don't understand why a band like this tried to make a Disco-Funky song. The attempt was unsuccessful , specially because the chorus is too typical Caravan's stuff and this partially saves this song. Not that it's bad, but surely is not what one looks for in a Caravan's album. If I want this kind of things I can buy Bee Gees or at least the late 70s output of Wishbone Ash (a little better for me).

Ok, the A side is no more than two stars, but "The Dashboard Conshirtoe" is about to come. Put the vinyl upside down and listen to one of the best songs ever released by this band. A slow melodic beginning with some jazzy accents, the only thing that appears misplaced is the bongos in the background. After a couple of minutes it goes uptime and it's not dissimilar from what is found in epics like Nine Feet Underground. The initial theme is then back just to introduce a glam part that's very enjoyable and contains the brasses arranged by Jimmy Hastings who reveals to be a genius. Also the guitar solo which follows is reminding of the acid sounds of the first albums. To be honest I like the Slade, so how could I dislike this? However it suddenly stops to leave room to a symphonic instrumental part which later turns into jazz. And it's really better than the first jazzy attempts of Waterloo Lily. The bass is so good that you wouldn't suspect that Richard Sinclair is not here. As often happens in jazz and in prog there's room for riffs from all the instruments, in particular guitar and electric piano which alternate several times. When the jazzy part stops one could expect a thunder like on For Richard. It turns into funky instead. This is a five minutes coda or better the final movement of the symphony which ends in chaos as also None Feet Underground does. Please forgive the last minute...

The album is closed by "Tollington Park Rag". As the title says it's a ragtime and even if totally disconnected from the rest, I like it. One funny trivial is that I was unable to listen to it on vinyl without passing by the suite first, because moving the pick-up so close to the centre of the disk was causing the pick-up to go back to the standby position...

I know that I shouldn't rate half of an album, but the B side is very good and at the level of the best things released by Caravan so missing it because of some poor things on the A side would be a pity. The A side is for fans only but the B side is an excellent addition. I will go for the average but with the temptation of rating it 4 stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to octopus-4 (BETA) | Report this review (#426003)
Posted Friday, April 01, 2011 | Review Permalink
Warthur
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars The consensus amongst most Caravan listeners seems to be that somewhere along the way they drifted a bit too far into commercialised poppy soft-rock realms, lost their distinctive personality, and churned out some really bad albums. The main point of disagreement seems to be precisely where the decline began.

Personally, I take a hardline approach: Cunning Stunts, the album which changed up Caravan's sound and swapped out the Canterbury style of For Girls Who Grow Plump in favour of cheesy strings, anonymous and generic jazz-rock blended with unconvincing stabs at hard rock, and The Dabsong Conshirto, Caravan's least convincing epic (with most of its sections far outlasting their appeal). Sorry, Caravan, but here's where I get off the bus.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Warthur (BETA) | Report this review (#541225)
Posted Tuesday, October 04, 2011 | Review Permalink
Sinusoid
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars Sometimes, an album can come with a bad omen before the first listen. Take Caravan's sixth studio album, CUNNING STUNTS. When I first put on the record after I get home, I find that my copy got the pressing all screwed up and switched the two side labels around.

That's just my bad experience with one item. The actual musical content of the record is about as head-scratching. From the band that had delighted fans with a unique concoction of jazz, prog, pop and psychedelia, and the band that really rebounded its career with FOR GIRLS WHO GROW PLUMP IN THE NIGHT, to begin the album with something that wouldn't sound too out of place on a Billy Joel or Elton John record is frightening. ''The Show of Our Lives'' has extremely little of Caravan's usual pizzazz; instead, it opts to crack open in an American market that I assume never heard it.

I hate to sound harsh, but if there is a good reason why CUNNING STUNTS has been obscured in comparison to other Caravan records, it's that most of the album sounds like very lightweight, generic '70s soft rock. What made Caravan Caravan is nearly nonexistent on the first side, save for a little Pye Hastings dry humour. New bassist (the third bassist in three albums) Mike Wedgewood isn't helping any as his two tracks (''Lover'', ''Welcome the Day'') sound awkward and never really fit Caravan's style. They sound like they're trying to be ''Caravan, the band, the musical'', and for this band it doesn't work. Also, on the previous album, I enjoyed the fresh sound Geoff Richardson's viola brought to the band; here, I forget he's in the band until about the fifth song.

The only song that at least has somewhat of a lasting impression is ''The Dabsong Conshirto'', another attempt by David Sinclair to bring the band back into epic status. For CUNNING STUNTS, it's decent enough, but it's too clustered to be in ''Nine Feet Underground'' territory. For some reason, Hastings actually goes for the highest notes in his range early in the epic with mixed results. And ending with a reprise of ''The Show of Our Lives'' isn't a welcome conclusion in my book.

For whatever reasons, CUNNING STUNTS is a huge disappointment of an album that Caravan hasn't quite rebounded from. The songs sound like clockwork and the band doesn't seem to gel like they have before. Speaking of unable to gel, Dave Sinclair exited the band again after this record.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Sinusoid (BETA) | Report this review (#941491)
Posted Tuesday, April 09, 2013 | Review Permalink
4 stars Caravan left Canterbury and entered Crossovertown or perhaps Art Rock City but after hearing this pretty record I must confess that was not a bad development. I am happy how a band can change style and go to new dimensions but keep their excellent feeling for the art of music. Because music can still be fine art without being too progressive. On "Cunning stunts" Caravan also became harder than before. Caravan 1975 consisted of Pye Hastings, Richard Coughlan, Geoff Richardson, David Sinclair and Mike Wedgwood and Jimmy Hastings. Of these two sides of one record, the second makes this music brilliant.

Put "Cunning stunts" on and perhaps it will sound a little bit like the art rockers "10cc" (which is another great band). Caravan nice sound and catchy melodies has allways made a bridge to poular music and here they did it even clearer. But this is not a failed try to be popular, it feels honest every minute. "The show of our lives" is the starter with nice vocals and melody. "Stuck in a hole" is better with speed and interesting feeling. "Lover" has string and brass arrangements which makes it feel classical. "No backstage pass" is the albums second best track with the typital withdrawn vocals and a wonderful melody. Small influences of jazz in this pearl. "Welcome the day" is more ordinary but a clear rock song where the singer is aloud to show more of his abilities. "The badsong conshirtoe" is a true masterpiece of art rock like "Feel the benefit" by 10cc. It's a clever composition with a lot of intertexts from different styles and cultures. Maybe Caravan fans are unused to this new heavy Caravan but it is truely worth listening. The closer "The fear and the loathing in Tollington park rag" is short but not less beautiful. An acoustic little rag.

I don't think I can hear any Canterbury scene here but I hear wonderful music and what is wrong with that? A somewhat inferior A-side takes away one star but four remain. Recommended!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to DrömmarenAdrian (BETA) | Report this review (#980676)
Posted Tuesday, June 18, 2013 | Review Permalink

CARAVAN Cunning Stunts ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of CARAVAN Cunning Stunts


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.39 seconds