Header
Tr3nity - Precious Seconds CD (album) cover

PRECIOUS SECONDS

Tr3nity

Neo-Prog


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
ds009b3233@bl
2 stars Not as good as their debut album and a bit more complex. BUT, and this is a big thing with me, they need to find a vocalist. I think the lead singer Chris Campbell is the weak link in the band. Instrumentally they are very tight but found the vocals really irritating which spoiled the whole album. He simply reminds me of the bog standard ten a penny rock vocalist who may be better suited to singing in a stage play.

A major disappointment and a backward step from their very good debut album.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#29512)
Posted Wednesday, September 01, 2004 | Review Permalink
jalansonprogg
5 stars I think this great new (quite new!) album from the "ever rising" band Tr3nity is a complete masterpiece. Me and my girlfriend listened to it for the first time after the Rotherham gig (when we bought the CD, along with a T-shirt!) and we thought it was spectacular. We are hooked on the albums and would recommend it to anyone who is a proper fan of prog rock as this has set a new standard of its own genre. Kind regards, James Alanson & my friend (Keira Hobson) Ps- keep it up

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#29514)
Posted Friday, October 01, 2004 | Review Permalink
steveadamson@
5 stars This is without doubt one of the best albums of 2004.

The whole CD is magnificent but the last epic, 'The Last Great Climb' is an absolute masterpiece. For twenty plus minutes you are taken on an epic journey, the track playing magnifiecnetly as a whole and the parts that make up the sum being mini-classics in their own right. This track has the ability to move one.

The sound is rich throughout and the quality of the musicianship is excellent.

I thoroughly recommend this CD to any self-respecting progster.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#29515)
Posted Sunday, October 10, 2004 | Review Permalink
4 stars Essential prog CD, 5 Long tracks. The first starts with melancholic guitar then evolves into semi-heavy riffing guitar - nice oragn riff in there too and a nice synth solo at the end. The next three pieces involve nice work on piano and guitar, some of the themes are a bit drawn out - but that doesn't detract from the overall CD. Finally the Epic and it's a good long 20:00 minute effort and it's not quite IQ's Harvest of souls but it's a close second, nice vocal themes and very good instrumental piece at the end. Overall a good effort and well worth a listen if you like long tracks, very much progressive, good musicianship and excellent production. The vocals are evocative of Dream Theatre sometimes, the guitarist has passages of Hackettesque finesse and raw power solo's, he also does a bit of Floydian soloing in parts. Very Good. Tres Bien......

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Swinton MCR (BETA) | Report this review (#29516)
Posted Friday, December 10, 2004 | Review Permalink
4 stars Let me first of all dispose of the seemingly vexed issue as to the strengths - or otherwise - of Chris Campbell, the band's vocalist...by neatly sitting on the fence. Whoever Ned Flanders is talking about, I certainly didn't find that the vocalist was "consistently irritating", as he suggests. However, nor did I find him consistently "excellent" as Paul Gath (who may, understandably, be slightly prejudiced) suggests. In my view, Chris noticeably and audibly strains to reach (and sustain) the higher sections of, say," Livin' a Lie" and tends to substitute power for pitch, which is no substitute at all and offends the ear; but on the softer sections of, say, "More than I deserve", his voice is beautifully restrained and develops an easy-on-the ear, haunting quality that is a genuine treat to listen to. The answer seems obvious to me : play to Chris' strengths in future and cut out the more strident elements.

But enough of all that, TR3NITY is predominantly an instrumental band, so what about the music? Well, the CD comes in at 68.33. From this, subtract about five minutes of grunging, "worst of SPOCK'S BEARD" segments on "Livin' a Lie", and you are left with 63 minutes or so of pure magic. I loved it. Musically, the band is first rate. There are some odd, extraneous percussion noises supporting the drums on "From Afar", but these are too indistinguishable to be seriously off-putting. "More Than I Deserve" is a glorious rock ballad with piano and vocals working in perfect harmony before they give way to an equally stunning and powerful organ/guitar combination. And "The Last Great Climb" is, as others have commented, perfection itself. I have nothing to add to earlier comments: it's all here - layer upon layer of shifting and soaring sounds which propel you effortlessly across each of the seven seas before finally exploding like the fireworks on Sydney Harbour Bridge. There are not many - if any - better ways of spending 20 minutes of your life.

It is not always helpful (and usually unnecessary) to cite "influences", but, aside from "the usual suspects", I detected - doubtless unconscious - references at various stages to HOME (before Laurie Wisefield was enticed away to Wishbone Ash), FANTASY (In "Beyond the Beyond" guise) and, not least, The ENID's "In the Region of the Summer Stars" (which, let's face it, is about as good as it gets). More youthful readers may well query who these old gimmers are/were, but more venerable reviewers will appreciate the references and, I hope, be persuaded to give this record a listen. They won't be disappointed: it's a total fireball. Just 2 stars from Ned Flanders? Each to his own, of course, but, in my opinion, Ned Flanders wants shooting.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to tbstars (BETA) | Report this review (#29517)
Posted Tuesday, December 21, 2004 | Review Permalink
chessman
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars I read the blurb about this group quite a while back, and it said, (I kid you not!) that this band have similarities to Pendragon and Pink Floyd, but also have their own distinguishable sound. So, without hearing anything by them, I took the chance and bought the cd. Well...what a disappointment! Really, this reminds me of a pub/club band, playing weak and unoriginal rock music, which has been elongated to make it sound more like prog. (Which it isn't). A brief overview of the tracks should suffice here. Track one, "Livin' A Lie" starts off with a substandard and very dodgy sound that is reminiscent of a poor man's Pendragon, reminding one a little of "Walls Of Babylon, the superb opener on "The Window Of Life" Unfortunately, this band are nowhere near Pendragon's league. The guitar intro is laboured and plagiaristic to say the least. However, as the keyboards, bass and drums kick in, it does improve a little, as the guitar recedes into the background and makes a nice pleasant sound. Then comes another solo, this one a little better and more biting. At this point, when I first heard this track, I dared to think that things might be improving, and relaxed a little. Unfortunately, it is at this point that the vocals first appear...oh dear, oh dear! I don't wish to insult anyone, and I will apologise at this point to the band, and their families and fans, should any of them read this, but it is, after all, only my opinion. The vocals remind one of any number of second rate bands who tour religiously round the clubs, or support slightly bigger acts at small venues. This voice, whilst not absolutely bad, just does not suit this music. It reminded me of any number of average, non-distinctive bands that appeared in the late 70's - early 80's. The lyrics are very average too, being typical, non demanding entities in a straight rock mode. Just because this, (and the other tracks) are all long things, it doesn't make them prog! Anyway, track two, "Run Before You Walk" has some nice piano in it, but nothing spectacular, the melody is bland and the vocals are weaker than on the first song. The keyboard plod along at the end too, as if programmed by a computer. Now we come to track three, "From Afar". Does anyone remember Opportunity Knocks, a T.V. talent show from the seventies? Well, it seldom had 'groups' on it, but, when they did appear, they sounded like this! Oh, and the weak voice is out of tune on the chorus too. Olivia Newton-John would like this! And it goes on too long as well! Sorry, but this is the worst track on the album. "More Than I Deserve", track four, again has nice, but predictable piano. The melody is obvious, the guitar no more than ordinary, and there is too much symbol work here. Sometimes the playing gets a little faster, as if they are trying to add some punch and attitude. But it just sounds like the speed dial has come loose! Finally (yesssssss!) we have track five, "The Last Great Climb", the longest piece on offer here, at over twenty minutes! I groaned as this started, wondering if I could survive another twenty minutes. But surprise! This is a little better. The intro is nice, and the build up is good. The vocals are more palatable here and the whole piece seems to hang together better. Nevertheless, the lyrics are abysmal and uninspiring, and, again, there is nothing here we haven't heard, in a better form, somewhere before. The chorus is too sweet and poppy. Middle of the road, but still the best track on the album, followed by the first opener. As I said before, I apologise to anyone who likes this band, but this sounds as rough as a demo. If it was, I could understand it, but it isn't. More worryingly, neither is it their debut disc. If this is an improvement on that, well...I don't wish to hear it! Doubtless there will be many who listen to this and think it is well delivered modern prog, but, believe me, it isn't. There is no danger here, no surprise, nothing to make the listener go 'wow!'. The keyboards are decent, and the bass, throughout the album, is quite good. But there is nothing more to be gained from this. I have played it four times, just to make sure it wasn't me who was missing something. But I am not. For fans only.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to chessman (BETA) | Report this review (#29518)
Posted Tuesday, February 22, 2005 | Review Permalink
hdfisch
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars Although being far from an essential prog album their second effort is at least much better than the previous one. This album consists of five very long tracks with guitar lines reminiscent of Camel, some keyboard solos every now and then and bass/drums that are not excellent but quite okay. All the tracks are presented in a constant flow of sound with some nice moments of surprise, i.e. last part of track 1 which sounds like early Earth Band or track 2 which is getting almost bluesy towards the end. Vocals by Chris Campbell are far from being perfect, but okay at least in the softer sections. On this one the band is not so much repeating every well-known neo prog cliché as on the previous album. Nevertheless the tracks could be much shorter as well, the length is promising somehow a bit more than one gets finally during listening. It's quite nice music, but not very original or inspired and one cannot call it a good prog album. The only track being a bit better than the rest is the last, longest one, but still I can't get that much fascinated about it and it's definitively too long.

Sorry to the band and their fans, but even after I listened repeatedly to their second album which is still an improvement to their debut, I'm not convinced of Tr3nity being an essential band in prog or a great hope for the future of English progressive music. The music is just not original enough, more or less mediocre and overblown. Still not good enough for giving 3 stars!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to hdfisch (BETA) | Report this review (#29519)
Posted Wednesday, March 30, 2005 | Review Permalink
progrules
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars The objective of progarchives is to do your review independent of anyone else and give your opinion about albums. I usually do so but in this case I have to react on the results so far. I don't understand this. Am I from a different planet ? Is this album poor or something ? Am I revieweing the right album here ? An average of 2.86 at the time I'm doing mine, it's unbelievable !

Well, I will not go that far to call this a masterpiece, but in my opinion we are talking about a great album here, with 5 almost symphonic tracks, very good compositions with amazing instrumental passages (especially fantastic guitar !). So, ok I would have understood an average of 3.8 or something but 2.86 ? How are people reviewing this ? It must be neo prog haters or something. I have to admit I'm a neo prog lover (well not all neo prog, but a lot). And this is very good in that department and I possess over a hundred neo prog albums so I have some experience here I think.

I should actually give this 5 stars purely for the compensation, but I'm a fair reviewer. This is a real 4 star effort or even a bit more (4.25) so that's what it's going to be.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to progrules (BETA) | Report this review (#149649)
Posted Friday, November 09, 2007 | Review Permalink
ZowieZiggy
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars This second album from "T3nity" starts as their first one ("Eyes Of A Child").

A long and fully Floydian instrumental part is bringing you back to the likes of "SOYCD". But it is not the first time that neo-prog bands use this fantastic song as their source of inspiration.

But still, it is rather pleasant. This song is fortunately almost instrumental, because the vocal parts are flirting again with the funky / soul mood as during the painful "Which Way" from "The Cold Light Of Darkness Back". It is really strange that this band who offers some pleasant music can turn into such pitiful masquerade (no link at all with the great "Pendragon" album of course).

During this album, the musical passages are good to very good but I have to agree that vocals are difficult to bear and are definitely weakening the whole work. But during "Run Before You Walk", neither of them are memorable; better said it is a weak number. Press next.

You'll reach "From Afar" which is a light song with a nice piano intro. The relation with "Pendragon" is very obvious. It's the situation of a neo-prog band emulating another one. Not quite original but the melodies (piano and guitar) do have this little extra of emotion and beauty that makes me like it very much. Not complex but enjoyable. Especially those superb guitar breaks. The finale is a brilliant explosion of symphonic sounds. The best song from this album, but some other reviewer think it is the worst, so make up your own mind and SHARE it, please.

"More Than I Deserve" has a very similar structure but the smooth intro which is leading to the inevitable guitar solo is a bit longish and repetitive (dull?). It takes about eight minutes to listen to the first captivating notes. But not for long since a minute later the vocals come in .Not convincing at all. Pretty boring actually.

The epic of the album starts almost starts like the opening number. Fully atmospheric and spacey. But only for a minute or so. This song falls quickly flat. It lacks in charismatic moments (but which such a lead vocalist, it would have been difficult), and true and melodic solo are too scarce to be blown away even if, fortunately, Rob Davenport gratifies the listener with some good guitar work. But even these will be so short and too few that it is almost not necessary to mention them.

If you reach the middle of this song, some "Marillion" flavour will probably draw your attention. Vaguely inspired by "Market Square Heroes", the rhythm is picking up joyfully. "Tr3nity" was also deceiving with their epic and closing number on their previous recording. To be honest, I have to say that "The Last Great Climb" is slightly better but when I am confronted to a twenty minute song, I always expect something great of it. And this one just doesn't fulfil my requirements.

Actually, without being so harsh with this album as some of my colleagues, I will conclude with the same rating. Two stars even if five out of ten would be more appropriate. I really hope that this type of rating (half star) will soon be available on PA. That would be a wonderful present. Think about it Max!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to ZowieZiggy (BETA) | Report this review (#157314)
Posted Monday, December 31, 2007 | Review Permalink
5 stars Just given this a spin, whilst chilling out on a Friday night, while the Mrs watches Emmerdale and Corrie. I bought this CD a while ago and gave it a few listens, then as I bought more and more, this sort of got lost, so I thought I would give it an ear, and I was pleasantly suprised. After my recent Glass Hammer a thon and then Abel Ganz, Flower kings and then the little known Sunchild (Antony Kalugin), this had a lot to live up to! However, this CD provides four good length tracks with an EPIC at the end, and though the production isn't great this CD is definately PROG and eben the vocals don't degrade from it that much for me. The tracks are thoughtfully crafted and their are plenty of instrumental passages of nice complexity and length. It's hard to place the influences, but possibly pink floyd and Genesis, especially Hackett. I really like the bass guitar playing at the end of the epic, and I genuinely like this CD, it has had a few appalling reviews but that is in the ear of the beholder. I don't like the five star rating system as there is nowhere enough granularity to quantify the truly great from the truly awful (5 to 1????) and all the nuances in between. I am going with a FIVE, yep because this CD needs a bit of TLC, it clearly isn't on a par with Close to the Edge or Selling England, but IF Dark Side of the Moon GETS A FIVE (when it TRULY is not prog) then this CD is a least 3 stars better.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to M27Barney (BETA) | Report this review (#184633)
Posted Friday, October 03, 2008 | Review Permalink
Tarcisio Moura
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars I have to agree with Progrules when he talks about this album. My goodness! It´s beautiful! But it took me some time to really enjoy it in its full potential, but when it did, I was hooked. I heard it nonstop all this weekend and I still want more. The music may sound a bit too simple and popish on the surface sometimes, but then you discover many suble details that reveal the truly great progressive work Precious Seconds is inside. With obvious influences of other great bands like Pink Floyd, Camel, Pendragon and the like, they did produce a fantastic sound of their own.

Rob Davenport´s guitar playing is great, reminding me of Andre Latimer sometimes, although they way he plays the acoustic parts is very different. Keyboards could be a little more upfront, but are very good anyway. Bassist Graham Lane does also a fine job (his fretless licks in the beginning of the Last Great Climb is great). Vocalist Chris Campbell has a fine voice and I liked his emotional, sincere delivering.

All the five, long tracks are good. Highlights for me are the opener Livin A Lie (great instrumental 6 minute intro, much in the vein of Camel´s The SnowGoose before the vocals come kickin´ in), the ballad From Afar and the 20 minute epic The Last Great Climb (with its shifting moods and atmospheres).

I´m looking forward to hear their future works. Very promising. I recommend this album to anyone who likes symphonic neo prog in the vein of Camel and Pendragon. Four solid stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Tarcisio Moura (BETA) | Report this review (#187167)
Posted Monday, October 27, 2008 | Review Permalink
Mellotron Storm
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars TR3NITY are a Neo-Prog band out of the UK and this is their second and most recent release from 2004. It's interesting that i'm the first collaborator to give this 3 stars as the rest have given 2 or 4 stars respectively. I really enjoyed parts of this album as I listened to it all of last week, and while it does have it's moments,overall I think 3 stars is fair from my standpoint. We get five long tracks over 68 1/2 minutes.

"Livin A Lie" opens with atmosphere as the guitar soars.The guitar stops before 2 1/2 minutes but the atmosphere continues. Faint spoken words can be heard in the background. Drums and bass before 4 minutes.The guitar comes to the fore after 5 1/2 minutes.Vocals for the first time 7 minutes in. Some nice bass after 9 minutes and the tempo picks up suddenly before 13 minutes and synths join in. "Run Before You Walk" opens with piano as vocals join in. A fuller sound 1 1/2 minutes in which sounds excellent. A calm with piano once again 3 minutes in then it rebuilds.The guitar leads 5 1/2 minutes in and vocals are back a minute later. A guitar solo starts before 8 minutes but it's brief.

"From Afar" has a light intro and reserved vocals join in. Drums then some prominant bass after 4 minutes.Vocals are back before 8 minutes. A pleasant track. "More Than I Deserve" opens with piano and fragile vocals.The vocals stop after 3 minutes and don't return until before 9 minutes. In between we get some good instrumental work that builds before 4 minutes then levels out. "The Last Great Climb" is the over 20 minute closer. Atmosphere to start and vocals come in around a minute. Piano, drums and bass kick in after 2 minutes. A tasteful guitar solo before 8 minutes. A couple of prolonged instrumental passages come and go before this one ends.

A good album that Neo-Prog fans should check out.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Mellotron Storm (BETA) | Report this review (#367806)
Posted Wednesday, December 29, 2010 | Review Permalink
b_olariu
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars Tr3nity from UK is quite an obscure neo prog band with 2 albums in their pockets so far. Their second offer from 2004 named Precious seconds is to me a fairly good album towards great. I see that this type of melodic mid tempo kind of neo prog is not so loved here like in other prog pages, but I don't care I like what I've heared here a lot so to me is more then ok record. Five pieces here from 10 min to 20 min in length, with lots of instrumental sections but aswell lots of vocal parts aswell. As I said the music is very melodic, but is well balanced some excellent keybords in contrast with guitars make from some pieces a real treasures like From afar, More then I desearve and the ending epic The last great climb, all al very strong neo prog pieces that show that this band really knew to play this style very well. I like the smooth , calm vocal tone of Chris Campbell that is fiting very well here. Don't expect some Marillion , IQ influences here, Tr3nity have their own style more or less. Maybe in places they remind me of bands like Like Wendy, Ricocher and those who have a more melodic aproach to their neo roots. To me easy 4 stars, I like a lot this album and no complains from me, from beautiful vocal lines, to the instrumental passages this is a real deal in neo prog zone.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to b_olariu (BETA) | Report this review (#1074036)
Posted Friday, November 08, 2013 | Review Permalink
kev rowland
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Crossover Team
4 stars So Tr3nity are back with their second album, following on from their superb 'The Cold Light Of Darkness'. This is another concept but the subject matter this time is a bit more cheery than the last ' to get the story go to www.tr3nity.com for more details. Tr3nity have moved on: they are still one of the UK's undiscovered prog bands but they are yet again fulfilling their objective, 'music with a purpose'. While their music still brings in elements of bands such as Camel and Pendragon, there is also more than a hint of Saga and even Styx in what they are doing.

Five songs, each more then ten minutes long, with the closing 'The Last Great Climb' managing to just break the twenty minute barrier. There is so much space in this music that is possible to get inside it and have a rest on one of the held down keyboard chords, and just let the mind move with the swirling in and out. Two minutes into the last song and there is a change in tempo brought in by the introduction of piano which could have some straight from 'Wish You Were Here' - sounding nothing like Floyd but identical at the same moment.

When I played their debut album I found that it took me a while to get into it, as I felt that the lyrics jarred slightly with the music but it eventually won me over. No such problem this time as straight from the first playing I fell in love with it ' I am sure that all progheads into good music will want to discover this British band.

Originally appeared in Feedback #79, June 2004

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to kev rowland (BETA) | Report this review (#1104402)
Posted Tuesday, December 31, 2013 | Review Permalink

TR3NITY Precious Seconds ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of TR3NITY Precious Seconds


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.28 seconds