Header
Tangerine Dream - Encore (Live 1977) CD (album) cover

ENCORE (LIVE 1977)

Tangerine Dream

Progressive Electronic


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
Sean Trane
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Prog Folk
4 stars This was recorded during a US tour but has a life of its own since the stuff on here is all original. However the double vinyl had a different cover ( sporting a US flag , if I remember well). In concert , TD rarely played released material , preferring to present the public with new material and this flowed so fast and smooth that they had to release some of that material as a live album. Four tracks four four vinyl sides with the grandiose Cherokee Lane to start off and Coldwater Canyon as highlights. By now they had firmly established their newer more symphonic style started with Ricochet and Stratosfear.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Sean Trane (BETA) | Report this review (#32634)
Posted Tuesday, August 24, 2004 | Review Permalink
Philo
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars After I have played this album I cannot for the life of me think how they start and end each piece. This is a double album that contains four sides of music but I simply do not remember starting each side. Maybe it the years of decadence and swinging from a bong, the nitrogen bubbles in my brain or the fact that I may have a short attention span or something. One thing I do like is a good riffing and hypnotoic guitar wail, and Encore is flooded with those strains as Edgar Frose' Les Paul gets caught up in a mesh of modulation and beats and pure electronic ambience provided by Chris Franke and Peter Baumann. Sometimes being on auto pilot can be a good way to get through to Tangerine Dream's music, just sitting there late in the evening slipping away. I can imagine going to a Tangerine Dream concert and seeing sofa's and settee's all over the venue just for the lazy indulgence of it all. I do not think it would be possible, for me at least, to keep fully alert at one of their gigs, but in a positive way mind. I like to semi-drift off when listening to the Dream. But if you smoke and your lazy it might be a safer thing to stay clear of these guys. Encore is a trippy album, but staying awake for the encore might be a little ambitious.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Philo (BETA) | Report this review (#32635)
Posted Sunday, August 29, 2004 | Review Permalink
Chris S
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars Another great live album from the 70's. Encore included all new material for this USA show and you can tell by the whole atmosphere of Encore how popular they had become stateside. The 4 songs are all of high quality and I would have to agree with a previous reviewer in that ' Cherokee Lane' and ' Coldwater Canyon' are the better of the four pieces.I would love to find a DVD of this concert, better start googling. Excellent stuff all round.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Chris S (BETA) | Report this review (#32636)
Posted Monday, September 20, 2004 | Review Permalink
erik neuteboom
PROG REVIEWER
5 stars Late Seventies I entered my favourite record-shop. While looking around, one cover was a real 'eye-catcher': the double-LP "Encore" from TANGERINE DREAM (1977). Sometimes you do have the feeling that a special cover contains special music and this was such a moment: the 'Stars And Stripes' banner in the middle containing a picture from musicians who look part of their giant modular synthesizers, "those magical machines with all the knobs and wires". Without listening I bought "Encore" and went homewards. There I stepped into another world, as fascinating and soothing like my first time snorkelling on Aruba. The album "Encore" has also become "my gateway to the electronic galaxy" because I was highly impressed by this new musical experience: a splendid blend of keyboards, sequencers, electronic drums and electric guitar play. The captivating thing about "Encore" is the interplay between Peter Baumann, Chris Franke and Edgar Froese with the frequent waves of Mellotron, hypnotizing and pulsating sequencers and all kind of sounds from famous vintage (modular) synthesizers from Moog, Oberheim, ARP and PPG. Along this TAANGERINE DREAM offers inventive colouring of the music by the Steinway acoustic piano (great intro in "Monolight"), the Fender Rhodes electric piano (beautiful conclusion with Mellotron and sensitive synthesizer chords in "Desert Dream") and distorted electric guitar in "Coldwater Canyon", emphasizing how alternating TANGERINE DREAM's music was on this 2-LP. From the next day I went on a quest for more like KLAUS SCHULZE, NEURONIUM, GANDALF, SYNERGY and KITARO but I never got that exciting feeling back as on "Encore" from TANGERINE DREAM. Magical!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to erik neuteboom (BETA) | Report this review (#32637)
Posted Sunday, November 14, 2004 | Review Permalink
greenback
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
3 stars This is a mix of the Ricochet and Stratosfear albums; there is very much beat like on Ricochet; there are also cold floating keyboards played by the unique Peter Baumann. The 4 pieces are quite long (around 20 minutes). On "Cherokee lane", you start with some humming and then you get a minimalist and cold mellotron. There is a synthesizer that sounds like a flute too, actually a desperate flute. You can hear electric guitar a la Froese on "Coldwater canyon". I find "Desert dream" rather minimalist, full of desolation. It is not a very addictive album.

Rating: 3.5 stars

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to greenback (BETA) | Report this review (#32640)
Posted Thursday, February 17, 2005 | Review Permalink
Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
3 stars Live, honestly!

I have to confess, my love of this album stems from a section of "Monolight" which starts around 4:00, and lasts for about 4 minutes. This is an absolutely wonderful swirling and cascading synthesiser piece, with a lovely haunting tone, and a lush melody.

"Encore" is of course a live album, recorded during the band's tour of the USA in 1977. You'll be hard pressed though to spot much to indicate it was recorded live, apart from brief cheers before and after the tracks and occasionally during the tracks, presumably in reaction to the novelty of the accompanying laser show.

The album was originally released as a double LP, with one track on each side. The CD version draws together all four tracks unedited on a single disk. The tracks are very typical of the band's studio releases around that time, to the extent while they are original tracks, they reflect some of the themes from those albums.

The opening "Cherokee Lane" begins with the ubiquitous wind noises and bubble effects, before the familiar plink plink of a TD rhythm is picked out, laying the basis for flute like synth. While the pace remains pretty much unaltered, the band weave through various themes and sounds in familiar fashion.

Apart from the aforementioned section of "Monolight", the rest of that track has a pleasant, rambling feel, ending with some Pink Floyd ("Ummagumma") like effects. The Pink Floyd similarities continue in the intro to "Coldwater canyon", which opens with some "Echoes" like sonic pulses. Edgar Froese switches to guitar here, adding another dimension to the track, which is generally slightly harder.

The final track, "Desert dream" is the weakest of the four. The music would make for good backing to a creepy movie, with spacey ambient sounds, and a slow plodding rhythm.

This was Peter Baumann's final album with the band, and "Encore" certainly makes for a decent finale to his work with them. Those who enjoy the music of the Tangs, but who generally have an aversion to live albums should fear not. "Encore" is to all intents and purposes, simply another TD studio album.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Easy Livin (BETA) | Report this review (#41458)
Posted Wednesday, August 03, 2005 | Review Permalink
baziul@interi
5 stars This great work. "Encore" it my favorite disc. I listen to it's from childhood and I think it behind fairest in discography Tangerine. Essence of music of group fine.It does not harm, that melody Ricochet and Rubycon it change . Guitar perfectly sounds with integrity. It's GREAT!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#59900)
Posted Friday, December 09, 2005 | Review Permalink
5 stars Another great and much longer live album then Ricochet, this one have 4 near 20min long pieces loaded with amazing sounds from all types of keyboards, like with thire other live albums all this material was brand new so this culd almost be seen as a new studio album. If you like long cosmic instrumentals this will not dissapoint. I whuld say that the music here got more variation then thiere earlier albums wich makes it feel a bit more freash and modern then thos, which is a good thing. If your a fan of electronic music this is a very good album thats whort too pic up. 4 stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Zargus (BETA) | Report this review (#161819)
Posted Friday, February 15, 2008 | Review Permalink
russellk
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars A double album (which fits on a single CD), this offering is representative of the TD sound on tour in 1977 in the USA.

Or is it?

Given the bootlegs I've heard from that tour (available in Vol. 2 of the Bootleg Box Set and as 'Detroit March 30 1977'), it's fair to say there's been a lot of studio tinkering post-concert. In this case that's fine: technology doesn't really do the raw TANGERINE DREAM live experience justice. Good to see them making the effort to refine the sound. It makes the tracks better sounding but less authentic, so take your pick.

'Cherokee Lane' is classic TANGERINE DREAM, a sweeping synth/mellotron start presaging the emergence of their characteristic blips and pulses. I love how the crowd roars their approval at the arrival of the blips! After that the track potters along without the inspiration of 'Ricochet' two years previously. No nonsense, in-your-face post 1974 TD.

'Monolight' is the most interesting track here. An opening classical piano is swamped by a few minutes of full-on avant-garde dissonance, itself superseded by a straightforward rock track not unlike the material they peddled through the mid-1980s. The pulsing sequencer arrives later in the piece, but is powerful and oh-so-typical of TD: a monotone blip gradually morphed into a more complex rhythm. The inevitable fadeout takes us back to the piano and rounds the piece off nicely.

'Coldwater Canyon' was a much rarer track in their live repertoire, and is basically an extended dirty distorted free-form guitar solo from EDGAR FROESE, harking back to the 'Pink' years. I'm partial to his guitar work, and delighted they chose to include this track here. 'Desert Dream' finishes the set with an ambient soundscape of the type found on 'Zeit' and 'Atem', a sort of chill-out finale.

Not an essential purchase by any means. It does, however, encapsulate the wide-ranging repertiore of the band, and is memorable as being the last album made by the classic TD lineup.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to russellk (BETA) | Report this review (#168336)
Posted Monday, April 21, 2008 | Review Permalink
Neu!mann
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars The year 1977 saw the pioneering trio of Tangerine Dream at the peak of their influence and popularity. So it made perfect sense to celebrate that hard-earned success with a two-disc live LP, recorded in the Unites States over several sold-out tours. Hence the tacky cover art, by the way, with its prominent stars and stripes: in retrospect an ironic image for a band initially formed in reaction against the Anglo-American cultural occupation of their native Germany.

The resulting document, if not quite as concise or creative as "Ricochet" (the Tang's first live album, from 1974), is at least more generous, with all four side-long suites of vinyl fitting snugly onto a single compact disc, in digital form resembling (even if only by accident) a four-movement symphony for electronic keyboards.

Consider it the American answer to the earlier album, substituting a typically Yankee obsession with quantity over a more circumspect European measure of quality (not an altogether unfair exchange, with musicians of this caliber). Looked at from another angle, you might say these gigs found the band approaching some kind of aesthetic fail-safe point, midway between the opposing cultural poles of Berlin and Hollywood: note the evocative Southern California flavor of the track titles ("Cherokee Lane", "Coldwater Canyon", and so forth).

The music is, as usual with live Tangerine Dream, all new, and (mostly) improvised. Attentive fans will recognize familiar themes from recent albums, surfacing at random: some "Stratosfear" here, a little "Sorcerer" there, and on occasion even a genuine melody or two. All of it has the patented hypnotic momentum of classic TD, meditative and galvanizing at the same time. But there's an unsettling suggestion of redundancy lurking just beneath the grooves: a hint that this once- groundbreaking band might in fact have been just past its creative peak. Those ubiquitous sequencer runs and dense synthetic textures were perhaps beginning to sound a little shopworn by 1977, and more than one passage (for example the opening march of "Monolight") clearly anticipates the more conventional sonic landscapes of later TD configurations. Only during the finale of "Desert Dreams" are the band's embryonic Krautrock instincts revived, closing the set on an eerie but effective mood of atonal introspection.

In the end it may be more quintessential than essential (and thus the scrupulous three-star rating), but the album is still a vital memento from the waning days of a now distant analogue age. And it marked the end of what would later be seen as the classic Tangerine Dream line-up. Soon afterward Peter Baumann would defect from the group for the last time, leaving Chris Franke and founding T. Dreamer Edgar Froese to cross the dumbed-down digital frontier of the next decade from an entirely different musical direction.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Neu!mann (BETA) | Report this review (#203926)
Posted Saturday, February 21, 2009 | Review Permalink
4 stars A collection of TD "songs" which represent these sound experimentalists extraordinaire at their peak (and before Baumann's exit); I rank this LP right up there along side Rubycon, Phaedra, and Ricochet. I love the progression of songs, from the more minimalist "Cherokee Lane" [6/10], to the washed, layered, and sectioned "Monolight" [7/10], then peaking with Froese's nearly eleven minutes of searing guitar soloing over the pulsating synth work of "Coldwater Canyon" [8/10], then taking us out with the stark, sometimes eerie, often cheerless, and certainly unearthly 'space journey' of "Desert Dream" [6/10]. (Could these guys create dreamscapes or what!?) While the debate as to the "live-ness" of this album seems to pale in the shadow of its near perfect representation of the Froese/Franke/Baumann collaboration, thus rendering it an almost moot topic, if it is a true live album, how wonderful it would have been to have been in the audience. I've always kicked myself that I turned down several invites to attend TD concerts in France and Germany while living there in 1978-79-especially since I had already owned this wonderful collection from three of the leaders of electronic sound exploration. 7 out of 10. Make it a high 3 because it is now sounding a little dated.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to BrufordFreak (BETA) | Report this review (#204714)
Posted Saturday, February 28, 2009 | Review Permalink
Mellotron Storm
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars "Encore" was originally released as a double album consisting of four tracks (one per side) from their spring tour of the USA back in 1977. At the time this was only their second live recording, the first being "Ricochet". What makes this one so valuable is that the songs are all original, so it's like getting a lost studio album with the classic lineup on it. This was actually the last record that Peter Baumann played on for TANGERINE DREAM before going solo. In the liner notes it says that these improvised tracks were based on themes from "Stratosfear".

"Cherokee Lane" opens with an introduction of each band member then a roar from the audience. An impressive wall of sound follows. It then settles and organ runs follow with synths. An electronic beat arrives before 4 minutes, then the crowd cheers as a sequencer comes in before 7 minutes. The crowd again roars it's approval as the song winds down during the final minute. "Monolight" is the longest and my least favourite. Piano to open before we get these loud electronic sounds crashing in and out starting around 3 minutes. A beat comes in lightly then an electronic pulse with other synths. Back to the crashing sounds 7 1/2 minutes in then moog comes in. A change 17 minutes in as the beat stops and the piano returns.

"Coldwater Canyon" is the only track without mellotron in it. It builds quickly as the guitar joins in. Froese just lights it up here with his Gibson guitar. In the liner notes it says that this is his longest recorded guitar solo. Amazing ! "Desert Dream" is dark and haunting with mellotron choirs. This all sounds so eerie. We start to get a beat 5 minutes in. It stops before 9 minutes as that haunting soundscape returns. Relaxed piano after 12 minutes in this mellow section It's eerie again 15 minutes in. Sequencers come in a minute later to end it.

I had this playing in the store the other day and this guy comes in and says "Tangerine Dream !", then he listens and says "Rubycon ?...no i'm not sure which album that is". I told him he had a good ear for music and that it was a live cd, then we talked music for a while. This is a must have for TD fans.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Mellotron Storm (BETA) | Report this review (#221873)
Posted Friday, June 19, 2009 | Review Permalink
ZowieZiggy
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars This second TD live album is again a strong album by the band. Just as with ''Ricochet'', the band is releasing new material (improvisations?) during these live sets. And the result is again very good.

My favourite track is the brilliant opener. ''Cherokee Lane'' got it all again. It is a superb and melodic keyboards orgy. Pure beauty elevated to the rank of absolute harmony. Emotion all the way through with keys only. No guitar at all here, but this is fine too, even if these guitar sounds were adding another dimension to their music.

''Monolight'' is probably the most difficult track to get into. It seriously differ from what the band has released so far; at least during the first four minutes (as if the band needed to warm up). After that, the band is launching some sort of spacey-pop elements of the best texture. This melody is indeed very catchy and moving as well (this section lasts for another four minutes). What we'll get after, is more in line with a TD classic. The finale is just sumptuous, and again reminds me of the superb ASOS. Aaaaargh?

The mood of ''Coldwater Canyon'' is less spacey than usual, more dynamic. Surprising at the first listening, it needs to be experienced several times to be fully appreciated. Once this exercise has been done, the listener is again rewarded. The second half is particularly attractive.

My second fave from ''Encore'' is ''Desert Dream''. This is probably due to the fact that it is closely linked with earlier works from the band and sounds more as a conventional TD piece of music. Sidereal moments, outer space feeling, cold beauty: a complete TD phantasmagoria. As for ''Monolight'', the closing section is just wonderful.

Four stars. I can only say one thing: ''encore''.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to ZowieZiggy (BETA) | Report this review (#222076)
Posted Sunday, June 21, 2009 | Review Permalink
Bonnek
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Prog Metal Team
5 stars Encore ends the collaboration with Peter Baumann in a big way. It's a very consistent live double album compiled from the 77 USA tour and contains, apart from a few improvisations around Sorcerer and Stratosfear themes, new tracks only.

I have heard some of the live bootlegs from that tour and can conclude that the versions here have been heavily edited and remixed. To good effect though. Tangerine Dream was a tight live unit but some concerts (or parts of it) wandered round in circles for quite some time before they really found their groove to trance to. So this album is an excellent, be it somewhat flattering, testimony of their live skills.

Cherokee Lane and Monolight come closest to their latest studio album Stratosfear. But the live performances are rougher and offer a lot more punch. Man it must have been quite an event to witness this, as can be heard clearly from the reactions of the audience during the first track.

While the first album is more accessible and direct, the second album contains the real gems to expand your TD collection. Coldwater Canyon is something entirely different from the Tangs. None of their studio albums offered so much guitar as this one does and I really dig it! Froese's improvisations have a very personal sound (I'd guess lots of flanger and wahwah) and are just astounding. On Desert Dream they explore their pink years again. But with the addition of a few short sequences and melodies it's made just a bit more digestible then the original hermetic pink years. With it's 70 minutes of excellent tracks, this album ends the years of the classic line-up on a high note.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Bonnek (BETA) | Report this review (#236734)
Posted Thursday, September 03, 2009 | Review Permalink
Marty McFly
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Errors and Omissions Team
4 stars So my final breakthrough into electronic prog music is happening now. I knew that Tangerine Dream are good, but after Alpha Centauri, I was worried if it also means good for me. Now, it seems like they matured. Melody, I always look for melody and Cherokee Lane has it. Not only have, but isn't losing any of prog-electro quality (as I understand it) . Taking it as a long composition (which seems like trademark for TD), it's long track run. There's basic melody and song slowly comes, slowly varies from it. It goes for 16 minutes, in fact without bigger changes, but as a whole, it sounds, persuasively. Heart grabbing, piano-like start of Monolight, with very soft sound really attract your attention. But of course, that's not the main course. Later, said Alpha Centauri like sounds and "music" came, slowly coming from piano intro. But what came in around 4 minute, synth solo. I know midi music, very used in games of early 90s. This is exactly same music as it was experimentally used 15 years before. And that's it. I don't mind that it sounds sometimes like AC. It's wrapped in human compatible package (it's listenable, pleasure, not horror), because I'm follower of idea that you can experiment a little bit. Even a lot, but show raw things isn't always best way to do it. And this song is perfect example of this philosophy. This one is more variable, explorer way, instead of first one's careful style. Expect even melancholic melody in the end. But as we get to second part, things starts to be little same. Again pattern from first song, but differs in final part. And last one is more like average.

4(-) and I have to thank you TD for allowing me to get aboard.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Marty McFly (BETA) | Report this review (#239712)
Posted Thursday, September 17, 2009 | Review Permalink
4 stars I was 16 at the time and as where most of my friends listened to Dylan, Young, Purple, Clapton etc., I was into this stuff already 3 years. I remember not really liking the album that much at first. I did love Cherokee Lane and Monolight but I utterly disliked Coldwater Canyon. Desert Dream kind of kept me divided.

My most loved TD albums are Alpha Centauri, Atem, Phaedra and Rubycon because of the spacey music. I found the music a bit too thick. But I started loving the album more and more... I even bought (an original) vinyl again... And a later reissue as well... and still have the CD...

As one may have noticed, I am NOT an electric rockguitar fan... I still utterly dislike Froeses guitar on Coldwater Canyon but I think this is quite a decent album overall.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Lieven Van Paemel (BETA) | Report this review (#299087)
Posted Monday, September 13, 2010 | Review Permalink
octopus-4
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
RIO/Avant/Zeuhl Team
3 stars As their first live album, also this "Encore" contains only previously unreleased tracks. All the four are instrumentals and the track titles are a sort of a tribute to the hosting country. I don't see other reasons to give a name like "Cherokee Lane" to a spacey track other than the fact that it has been recorder during a tour in the USA. I have to say that I hear some reminds to Gershwin and Copland here and there, or at least it seems to me. As on Stratosphear the tracks are less experimental and a bit more structured and melodic respect to the first "pink" period. In the middle of the track there's effectively a part with a flute sound that seems connected in some way to native american's music so to partially justify the title track.

"Monolight" is opened by a piano solo. Something unusual with TD until now. What the piano plays makes me think to the Wright's effort on the studio disc of Ummagumma, but I have to say that (I think it's) Franke is more classically skilled. Then when the dreamy keyboards join piano, we have what I can consider the first newage piece of this band. It's just for few seconds, anyway. Spacey noises like in the middle section of Saucerful of Secrets come to make clear which band we are listening to. Unfortunately this is quickly replaced by a trivial electronic ultra-melodic part that could be used as soundtrack for a 70s erotic movie. As usual, after other 5 minutes (we are at minute 10 more or less), the music changes to something less trivial and at the end the trivial moment can be forgiven.

"Coldwater Canyon" is another electronic suite (what else?) in which we can hear Edgar Froese's guitar in a good solo accompanied by rhytmic bass notes. Some keyboard accents remind to Oldfield's Tubular Bells, but in the first 10 minutes of the tarck is the guitar which dominates. After the first 10 minutes, while the bass line remains unchanged there's section with Froese playing acidly like in some psychedelic proto-prog acts. The final of the song has chords and sounds that can be found in Bo Hansson's Lord of the Rings.

Finally "Desert Dream". It has a very appropriate beginning. Even if we speak of pink period of TD, I think that the only Pink Floyd influence that's recurring often in TD's musc is from Saucerful of Secrets. This is my favourite album's track. The only one which has the spacey sounds and the athmospheres reminding of Georgy Ligeti and contemporary classics as in Zeit. After the usual 5 minutes a compulsive bass, like a heartbit introduces the second darker section. A sound of clavinet, electronic of course, drives it. It's like passing from the initial phase of sleep to a deep REM phase, specially when the music turns again to totally spacey (at about minute 10 as usual). The melodic final (a spaghetti-western like trumpet) appears to be another tribute to the hosting country, but it's an excellent diversion from their usual things. If all the tracks were of this kind this would have been a five stars album. Unfortunately this is the exception, so my final rate is only three stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to octopus-4 (BETA) | Report this review (#412323)
Posted Monday, March 07, 2011 | Review Permalink
Evolver
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Crossover & JazzRock/Fusion Teams
4 stars This album was my first Tangerine Dream purchase, and as such, still remains one of my favorites. The four tracks originally had each taken up an album side on the vinyl version, and on the CD remain intact. Unfortunately, the 1994 Virgin CD is plagued by sloppy sound.

With the length of the pieces (all are over sixteen minutes, the longest almost twenty), Tangerine Dream is able to stretch out their ideas, and actually so some jamming. The first three pieces begin with some washes or sounds to set the tone of the piece, and eventually their way into a hypnotic rhythmic section, where Edgar Froese, Chris Franke and Peter Baumann weave their synthesizers arond each other.

Coldwater Canyon features a nice Froese guitar solo, which the additional liner notes in the CD desribes as falling somewhere between Hendrix and Page (I wouldn't go that far, but the solo fits the music).

The last piece, Desert Dream is more amorphous, beginning and ending with some excellent piano work, and between that containing a soundscape of eerie synth washes and noises.

This is still a very entertaining album.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Evolver (BETA) | Report this review (#494621)
Posted Tuesday, August 02, 2011 | Review Permalink
Warthur
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars Tangerine Dream's Encore is a tour document showing the long, involved, ambitious compositional structures featured on the band's 1977 USA tour. However, I can't put it on a level anywhere near the likes of Zeit, their previous double album following a one-song-per- side structure. The fact is that whilst all the music here is very pleasant, and there's a decent enough Edgar Froese guitar solo thrown in on Coldwater Canyon, the music here is in no way as memorable or haunting as their classic material, or even their better studio albums from this period. Personally, I just don't really see Tangerine Dream as a live band - their approach to electronic music demands the crystal clarity that in 1977 was only accessible in a studio. Ah well.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Warthur (BETA) | Report this review (#554185)
Posted Friday, October 21, 2011 | Review Permalink

TANGERINE DREAM Encore (Live 1977) ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of TANGERINE DREAM Encore (Live 1977)


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.42 seconds