Header
Uzva - Niittoaika CD (album) cover

NIITTOAIKA

Uzva

Jazz Rock/Fusion


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
Sean Trane
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Prog Folk
4 stars Last year , as I asked Anekdoten drummer Peter Nordin what had become of Hoyry Kone , he had told me that they had broken up which I knew but then asked what they (musicians) were doing as he knew most of them personally (he had played on their albums). He told me most of them had joined either Alamaailmam Vasarat or Uzva. As for AV , this is correct but for Uzva , I am still trying to find a link to HK (other than nationality or that they are also entirely instrumental & acoustic as AV is. This is where comparisons stops as Uzva is much more lyrical in their songwriting but still very jazz-classical-folk-prog. Not that this stops them from developping some incredibly dynamic and energetic moments - the last movement of the third number is particularly awesome. Please note that the influence pointed out in the first composition is not too overly obtrusive as Uzva manages to have its own sound somewhere between Mahavishnu , Canterbury and Genesis or GG. Quite a small find. Greg Walker told me their debut is out of print so hurry-up for this one as it is likely to also.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Sean Trane (BETA) | Report this review (#32743)
Posted Monday, September 06, 2004 | Review Permalink
Matti
COLLABORATOR
Neo-Prog Team
3 stars Greetings to previous reviewer who thought in the forum that his text was so lonely (yes, I'm a Finn). Unfortunately I haven't listened to Niittoaika more than couple of times a year ago, so I can't say anything deep about it. I taped few minutes extracts from each 3 long titles - that reveals I didn't fall in love with the whole album but found it interesting. I would compare it mostly - not to Canterbury scene or Gentle Giant but to the early works of Mike Oldfield (TB, Hergest Ridge, Ommadawn); the sound and (totally instrumental!) structure are quite similar - not that Uzva is plagiarizing or even necessarily influenced heavily by those mentioned records. Also I sensed Soft Machine's fusion-rock, which probably HAS influenced, due to the name of the first piece. All in all, just a bit sleepy in its entirety (or maybe I didn't try enough) but definitely very nice, and in these days quite rare kind of art rock played with the addition of classical instruments, which makes the sound warm and pleasant. Worth checking if you like instrumental, folkish fusion.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Matti (BETA) | Report this review (#32745)
Posted Thursday, March 31, 2005 | Review Permalink
petri.siikand
4 stars Very organic and orginal music from Finland. Haven't heard anything like this for a long time. Resembles Mahavishnu Orchestra and early Jukka Tolonen. Very peaceful album that at the end grows stronger. Recomended for all mankind.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#36846)
Posted Saturday, June 18, 2005 | Review Permalink
Eetu Pellonpää
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars This is a very happy and playful summer record, which creates a small theme of seasons, as the band's previous album was a peaceful winter album "Tammela at January". Some listening of 1972-1974 era KING CRIMSON was probably done during the time between these albums, as there are great freeform improvisations between the composed themes and more structured jams. The band also performed "Red" as an encore in their concert, where they also played material from this CD. The first two suites are pastorals, "Afrodite" being specially mellow, and "Drontti" has a more aggressive beat in vein of early 70's FRANK ZAPPA.

When I first listened to this record, it didn't quite catch my complete interest, and I first graded "Niittoaika" as a three star album. Luckily the problem was not in the album but in my own state, as I was both stressed and sick; Now carefully listened again, I got the good kicks which it can offer. Recommended sincerely!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Eetu Pellonpää (BETA) | Report this review (#39113)
Posted Monday, July 11, 2005 | Review Permalink
4 stars Uzva's Niittoaika is a fantastic album. This band plays only instrumental music. The band plays some sort of a combination of jazz, folk, chamber music and even RIO (in my opinion), and this combination is well combined! The members of this band play well, and the songs have been composed sophistactedly. I had had to listen to it few times before I was capable of enjoying this music, however, after listening to it enough I discovered a fantastic band which is actually original. In short, Uzva offers an instrumental album that begins smoothly and ends up with a lovely dissonance played mostly by accoustic instruments. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Dan Yaron (BETA) | Report this review (#42524)
Posted Thursday, August 11, 2005 | Review Permalink
4 stars Uzva is nature-like-sounding instrumental symphonic fusion combo from Finland. In addition to guitars, bass and drums we can listen such kind of instruments like vibraphone, marimba, piano, cello, flute, violin, accordion and clarinet. And so we can be in quite acoustic but sometimes very expressive soundspectrum. There are three longish multi-part- compositions: Soft Machine, Afrodite and Drontti. Sometimes we can hear little relationships with best-days-Mike Oldfield, Pierre Moerlen's Gong, Maneige, Pekka Pohjola, even instrumental Frank Zappa or Steve Reich. This record gets step-by-step more and more delightful. In my oppinion Afrodite and specially Drontti are real masterpieces - gentle, full of dignity and quite original (4,5 stars really)!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Rainer Rein (BETA) | Report this review (#53578)
Posted Thursday, October 27, 2005 | Review Permalink
Mellotron Storm
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars Very pleasant and melodic instrumental Jazz music from Finland. They have divided this recording into three sections with 2 to 3 songs in each.

"Soft Machine" is the first section. Part 1 opens with the birds chirping while vibes, drums then bass comes in. Violin before 2 minutes as it stays pastoral. Flute a minute later. Part 2 has a fuller sound with heavy drums and lots of violin.The flute becomes prominant as well. Guitar after 6 minutes as bass throbs. It settles with violin 7 1/2 minutes in. Part 3 is violin led with a fuller sound a minute in. Some nice bass as well. Aggressive guitar 2 1/2 minutes in. It ends with the birds singing. "Afrodite" Part 1 continues with those birds hamming it up. This is very pastoral with piano and flute. The violin does become prominant.

Part 2 features some great drumming as guitar,then violin come to the fore. I like the guitar after 6 minutes. The birds are back ! Did they ever leave ? "Drontti" Part 1 opens with surprise ! Birds. It's mellow and violin led. Part 2 continues with the singing birds as vibes come in. Flute before 2 minutes. The tempo picks up as violin and guitar arrive. It settles somewhat again. An aggressive passage before 4 minutes. I like the darker section before 5 minutes with violin. A big finish follows. Nice.

The overall mood is fairly light, too light for my tastes. Having said that, there are some really good passages here that I enjoy a lot.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Mellotron Storm (BETA) | Report this review (#188273)
Posted Saturday, November 08, 2008 | Review Permalink

UZVA Niittoaika ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of UZVA Niittoaika


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.13 seconds