Header
Queen - Innuendo CD (album) cover

INNUENDO

Queen

Prog Related


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
Eetu Pellonpää
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
3 stars I think this is the best album of QUEEN, which is a band that I'm not too keen on. Freddie already knew about his fatal illness when "Innuendo" album was recorded, which probably motivated him to give his all efforts to the composing, performing and recording.

The opening song is in my opinion the best rock song from the 90's, featuring also STEVE HOWE on acoustic guitar at the Spanish sounding part. The last song would also be OK, but the constant radio playing of it has made me got fed up with it. There aren't so many filler rocker's on this one as there are on their previous releases in my opinion. Cover art is also nice, which is an exception in their stylistic line which I don't like.

If I would review this in a non-prog connection, I would give it four stars. But I can't say this album is an "excellent addition to any prog music collection", so let's go for the three ones. If you find "Innuendo" as a single or EP, get it at least! There's a large family of LP sized vinyl EP's from the tracks of this album moving around, I sighted the one from the title tune at Helsinki costing over 20?.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Eetu Pellonpää (BETA) | Report this review (#41020)
Posted Sunday, July 31, 2005 | Review Permalink
Eclipse
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars Definitely not a full prog album as you can see on tracks like "Headlong" and "I Can't Live With You", Innuendo still manages to be a good one even for Queen's standards (i'm not bashing Queen, i actually was a fan of them some time ago but got easily bored of their music). One has to recognize that this album has its ground-shaking moments. The opening track is without a question prog, and features a spanish guitar section at the middle that is very cool. I can't stand Freddie's "ooh ooh oohs" during the song though. I am also not a fan of his vocals in this particular record, if you listened to Queen's later works, you probably realised that their more recent to the 90's recordings show Freddie's vocals going a bit harsher and less melodic than his early ones. Anyway, this opening track despite the "ooh oohs" is still amazing and has to rank among my favorites of the Queen catalogue. The second song, "I'm Going Slightly Mad", is a very fun moment and has a neat video-clip (if you have watched it you probably had laughed a lot at the band's visual jokes during the film). I prefer this track on the video, where Freddie looks a lot like Willy Wonka from "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory". Much of the songs from now on are very radio friendly and probably make this album pratically not prog and neither very interesting at all, but we then have this awesome closing track called "The Show Must Go On", carried with drama and emotion, showing that Freddie's last day was coming and we do feel that in his performance. This song is so beautiful and touches me a lot emotionally, and it is another gem from this...almost nice Queen's album.

This may not appeal to the prog-fan and it is definitely not essential on a prog collection, but it is still good for music listeners in general and has its few great moments despite the huge number of tracks where the "skip" button can be used. Three stars would be enough, but i still think that two and a half would be the best ranking, since the album doesn't survive well with the time and is less prog than pop. If you want some more well crafted and complex music go for "Queen II" before trying this one.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Eclipse (BETA) | Report this review (#41605)
Posted Thursday, August 04, 2005 | Review Permalink
4 stars Buy now this was the last Queen album to be recorded with Freddie Mercury, Innuendo has it's Progressive moments - and for a big band like QUEEN to do this in the 1990s is a suprise to me.

My favourite tracks include the hilarious "I'm Going Slightly Mad" quite novelty in a way but not really, because usually I hate novelty songs, "Ride the Wild Wind" is a fab track even has a bit of Progressive in it, "These Are the Days of Our Lives" is the last hit for them in my opinion and is one of my favourites, Brian May's guitar solo and the song "Bijou" is beautiful and a cracker of a song for me, "Show Must Go On" is also a great favourite of mine.

So hear we have a more mature sounding Queen and a re return of a Progressive sound in the music although some of "The Miracle" has a tiny bit of Neo Prog in it (although I could be mistaken by this point).

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to PROGMAN (BETA) | Report this review (#47633)
Posted Wednesday, September 21, 2005 | Review Permalink
Palmer@hotmai
5 stars O.K. , Innuendo is the last Queen record as an entire band (the last with Freddie alive). Well, the first song, innuendo, is BASICALLY a real queen-ish song with a dark style, it's a return to the early Rock n' roll Queen roots. It can be compared with Bohemian Rhapsody, in some way, because it can be divided in sections, like different mind- blowing guitar solos, vocal parts, chorus and more (it sounds like any prog-rock song). The second song, I'm going slightly mad, it's more like a dark-style ballad with stange keyboard sounds and a kind of elvis-ish vocal by freddie and it has a strange guitar solo by Brian with a slide. The next song, Headlong, in my opinion is the best song of the album together with The Show must go on.It is a fast rock n' roll with a mind-blowing guitar (solos too) and this early chorus by Queen (when it does hoop-diddy-diddy hoop-diddy-doo)and it has this cool reverse final (gnoldaeh-gnoldaeh). I can't live with you is a not so dark-ish song and it's more like a happy rock song,that it's the less attractive but it still is a good song. Don't try so hard is, I think the darkest song. You can hear a kind of orchestra and Freddie singing with a high voice. Ride the wild wind is maybe the strangest. You can hear some voices and echoed drums and keyboards. I would say this is a "Dark-prog- rock song".It's one of the best in this record. All GOD's people features a really powerfull chorus (it seems that there is a whole chorus singing, as in other early Queen songs.) Mike Moran plays keyboards here. These are the days of our lives is a good song with keyboards and percussion, as well as a guitar solo and very well played bass. Delilah is a song that Freddie dedicated to his CAT! The lyrics are a bit silly, but the music is fine, it's got background keyboard that souds amazing. The 10th song that is The Hitman.This song has a heavy-ish style with a heavy guitar, drums and vocals(and bass, of course). Bijou is a song that has a soft love-song style.The lyrics are short and has some good guitar parts. The show must go on has this orchestra beginning and then the bass joins and then the drums. Freddie starts singing in a high voice, but not so high. Later on in the song, the guitar joins with a head-knocking-mind-blowing guitar solo (in my opinion the best of the album).Then the record ends with the last word on an album with Queen (by Freddie)That is this "SHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOWWWWWWWW".It's an amazing record and hardcore Queen fans MUST get it now.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#59717)
Posted Thursday, December 08, 2005 | Review Permalink
fraja1990@yah
5 stars I am so sad because this album is the final page of the legendary Queen! But this album is great.Queen did an impressive finale! It contains very good songs and the epic Innuendo!!The gyitar in Bijou is marvellous,very emotional solo and at the end we have The Show Must Go On.What a feeling!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#65634)
Posted Friday, January 20, 2006 | Review Permalink
3 stars Not as great as I thought!Innuendo is a good song, The show must go on too, but the rest is...absolutely overrated. I can't live with you is a very bad song, the same for Bijou (except for the guitar solo)...lots of the songs seem to be written just to complete the space of the album.....I don't like it at all...but I can understand who thinks it's not bad....so 3 stars..really! and not more...

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Kord (BETA) | Report this review (#65641)
Posted Friday, January 20, 2006 | Review Permalink
4 stars Queen was the band who inluenced me much at early 90's. I remember when I was 11 years when Freddie died. I was very sad...

This album is one of the bests Queen-albums. It's not full prog-album, because there are many "straight" songs. I Specially like "Innuendo" and "Bijou". Innuendo is so beautifully dark song. Bijou is very magical instead with it's guitar-intro. Legendary album.

I like cover art too... so mystic!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Toomio (BETA) | Report this review (#66606)
Posted Wednesday, January 25, 2006 | Review Permalink
5 stars This is not a prog album, but I can tell you now that it will get a 5-star rating from me until the day I die!!!!!! I wrote something of a short novel on the band's previous release "The Miracle" in 1989. Several of the songs here started as demos during the sessions for "The Miracle" but many are totally new ideas and each one of them is brilliant in its own way.

The albums opens with the title track, a 6:30 tour-de-force, complete with a great bolera style acoustic solo by Steve Howe, followed by a much heavier solo by Brian!! This song has every trademark rightly in place, from the vocal harmonies to the guitar tone! It's a very dark and moody piece and although there are moments of humor and lightheartedness, the entire album sort of has that moody quality about it. Perhaps Freddie's illness was creeping into the music or perhaps it just seems like a dark album in hindsight. I don't know.

"I'm Going Slightly Mad" was Queen's humorous side showing its face once again, and the video goes a little further to address this. Songs like Brian's "Headlong" or "Hitman" are some of Queen's heaviest tracks and prove that they still had it in them to write some really amazing material. This is proven by two of the most heartfelt, tear-jerking songs ever written by the band: "These Are the Days Of Our Lives" and "The Show Must Go On." Freddie's vocals are just mind-blowing and Brian's guitar solo in "Days" can bring tears to anyone's eye...his guitar is crying, almost in sympathy with Freddie's fight for life.

There are a few tunes here which are slightly lesser quality, but on an album of such greatness, even these songs are better than some of the material from their 80's era material. "Don't Try So Hard" is a wonderful ballad showing Freddie in fine vocal form and "All God's People" is a great gospel-esque song that started life around 1987 for Freddie's project with Montserrat Caballe. "I Can't Live With You" and "Ride The Wild Wind" are great slices of hard rock while "Delilah" is just an amusing track written for one of Freddie well-loved cats. The mostly instrumental track "Bijou" is also a high point, as Freddie is in fine voice and Brian's guitar once again seems to cry throughout!

As I said in my review for "The Miracle", Freddie gave it everything he had to finish these songs and even after this release he had enough energy to record several other songs as well that eventually turned up on the mostly disappointing "Made In Heaven" in 1995. His final tracks were recorded only a month or two before his death, at which point he was suffering not only from his worsening pneumonia, but also from skin cancer, and a complete loss of balance and depth perception. Freddie went badly...but he gave us these last recordings and for that I am certainly grateful.

This may be the greatest Queen album ever written...but that is a matter of opinion. I love this disc, I play it weekly!!! Pick this up, and under the circumastances within the band at the time, perhaps you will see things you haven't seen before. The artwork for this album and all of the corresponding singles are wonderful, showing some great paintings from Granville! Only one non-album track surfaced as a B-side at this time, Brian's bluesy "Lost Opportunity."

I can't say enough about this album...it is wonderful and not only shows that Queen started to go back to their roots but they managed to blend that older style flawlessly with their modern sound.

I saw someone mention the quality of Freddie's voice on this album...and I do agree. I think on "The Miracle" his voice was still strong, not really raspy, but more mature than the older Queen albums. Here, I believe Freddie's illness may have taken its toll, and while his voice is still amazing here, there is a strange shrill undertone now that is in every song. It's still Freddie, but one trying to do his best with what he had left!

Congratulations Freddie, and congrats to Queen as well! Not many bands can be successfull and still be GOOD after 20 years at the top of the charts!!

LONG LIVE QUEEN

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to silversaw (BETA) | Report this review (#70578)
Posted Sunday, February 26, 2006 | Review Permalink
4 stars One of the best Queen albums. No doubt.

First song - Innuendo - is a real progressive masterpiece. Plenty of acoustic guitars, great climat. 5/5

The second one - I'm going slightly mad - is different, not very proggy, but very stylish. I really enjoy it. 4/5

Headlong - fast, great, hard, funny, very enjoyable. 4/5

I can't live with you - well, least of the tracks. Again rocky, but it sounds not good IMO. 2,4/5

Don't try so hard - calm, beatiful song. I really like it 4,5/5

Ride the wild wind - one of my favourites on this album. Very stylish, beatiful, rocky. 5/5

All God's People - least of all songs. It don't fit this album. It's strange, and for me not really enjoyable. 2/5

These Are The Days of Our Lives - beautiful and sentimental. All I can say. 5/5

Delilah - good, calm, but nothing special 3/5

The Hitman - the hardest, and the fastest song of 'Innuendo' and enjoyable. 4/5

Bijou - oh... What a great solo, what a song! Brian May proves, that he is a great guitarist. One of the highlits 5/5

The Show Must Go On - classic! 5/5

To sum up. It's a very good CD.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Roman W. (BETA) | Report this review (#74922)
Posted Friday, April 14, 2006 | Review Permalink
lightofepsilo
5 stars Wow, what can I say... is QUEEN, they were gods in their time, even until our nowdays. Innuendo is possibly my Queen's favourite album, that was the last vocal legacy from Freddy Mercury (in my opinion), in this there are many awesome songs. For me "Innuendo", is a absolute masterpiece of prog rock, you can find all kind of mixes that you hope to listen in a prog song, is a combination of textures, styles, technique etc. I love that guitar section "with flamenco music influence", simply exquisite. other songs to mention are: "headlong" (I always enjoy with this type of songs, fast and hard but totally recommended), don't try so hard (something sad for me), "these are the days of our lives" (a sentimental touch, in a Queen way), "the hitman" (wow, a fistful for your senses, a great song again), "the show must go on" (the authentic hymn from this album, without words... or perhaps the last goodbye from Freddy).

As I tried to say, "Innuendo" is a true classic album, not only of Queen, but also of progressive music and the rock in general.

By: Epsilon.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#93229)
Posted Tuesday, October 03, 2006 | Review Permalink
5 stars wow.how can a describe this album.is reallY good. 1. Innuendo--fantastic song .really prog and the add of steve howe on acoustic guitar and great playing of brian may make even better 2. I'm Going Slightly Mad--really good,funny and odd song 3. Headlong--good rock song with good guitar parts 4. I Can't Live With You --a pop rock song 5. Don't Try So Hard--very emotional and deep song . 6. Ride the Wild Wind-- like Headlong but better imo 7. All God's People--strange song but queen find the way in this song to get better and better[the vocals are fantastic] 8. These Are the Days of Our Lives--great song and beautiful lyrics 9. Delilah --a really weird song [like only queen can make] 10. Hitman --a heavy rock song .fast agressive and fun 11. Bijou--a great solo of mr may 12. Show Must Go On--probably the best song of the 90's.the whole band shines in the song a true classic album by queen.listen to it . get it now. you probably love it

QUEEN RULES !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to martinprog77 (BETA) | Report this review (#120649)
Posted Thursday, May 03, 2007 | Review Permalink
Gatot
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
3 stars What made me purchase this album (cassette format) was the fact that Steve Howe of Yes was involved in this album even though only contributing part of one track "Innuendo". I believe this opening track can be considered as a prog track as it has changing styles and moods throughout the song. The involvement of Steve Howe in this song is attractive for me. It's hard to believe that Queen has ever made this album. Even under the next track "I'm Going Slightly Mad" (4:22) I can find a bit of prog nuance even though it's not accurately correct and the song is quite boring because of repetitive rhythm style - which is keyboard-based. "Don't Try So Hard" (3:38) is a good track with mellow opening followed with high register notes of Freddie's vocal work. "Hitman" is a straight rocker with relatively fast tempo. "Bijou" is interesting track especially with Brian May's explorative guitar solo backed up with keyboard work. The way he plays his guitar is different with his typical style. It's a mellow and melodic song, one of tunes that I like from this album due to May's guitar work. "The Show Must Go On" is also another good track with keyboard / synthesizer main rhythm section. "Whatever happens, I'll leave it all to chance. / Another heartache - another failed romance. On and on! / Does anybody know what we are living for? / I guess i'm learning / I must be warmer now.. / I'll soon be turning round the corner now. / Outside the dawn is breaking, / But inside in the dark I'm aching to be free!"

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Gatot (BETA) | Report this review (#121010)
Posted Monday, May 07, 2007 | Review Permalink
clarke2001
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
3 stars Oscar Wilde meets Led Zeppelin...

Last Queen's album (if we don't count posthumous tacky swan song, "Made In Heaven") is a potpourri of different styles that will please many tastes but will also leave a lot to be desired. The effort is mature and eclectic, but certainly not 100% cohesive or focused although the main motifs are life, death and religion. No wonder, knowing that Freddie was about to die, and very aware of that (he was suffering of very strong pain during the recording).

The cold, clinical, reviewing eye (and ear) reveals a bunch of below par pop tunes, a few good rock numbers and one masterpiece, labeled progressive rock. Indeed the song Innuendo is masterpiece that will please many a sophisticated taste; utilising great guitar works, collaboration with Mr. Howe, excellent lyrics, tight playing and goose bumps atmosphere. This is progressive rock as it should be, with homogenic structure, great parts, and nothing too protracted or overplayed. The best thing that happened and could happen in the year of 1990. The video spot is great too, sort of "Oscar Wilde meets Led Zeppelin" thing (as described by one of the band members, I don't remember exactly who), utilising animated clay puppets, Harlequins and paiazzos and some great stop-motion artwork. The aforementioned tag about Irish writer and hard rock monster could be applied to the song itself too, as well as to some other parts of the album.

The rest of the songs vary in quality and expression: I'm Going Slightly Mad is not much more adventurous than an average 80's QUEEN pop-rock song, but the atmosphere is great and the song is enjoyable. And unusual, due to the weird timbres provided from the Korg M1 digital synth. Video spot reveals Freddie with one foot in the grave, frighteningly slim (tons of make-up was not enough to hide it), but still as great entertainer who rules the scene. The video spot is no less bizarre than the song (which also hit the UK chart).

Headlong can be bunched together with The Hitman; although Headlong reached the charts, they're both not-so-inspiring, very heavy songs with lack of melody on par with the band's level. The initial band's idea was to make Headlong as a slow, keyboard-based song with little or no drums at all. One could only wonder what would the album sound like...speaking of that, there's a rumour that band record an untitled song, powerful, progressive, similar in atmosphere to the song Innuendo, but it was never published because of various reason and the the tape is lying somewhere in the recording studio now...of course that could be only a false rumour, but such stories were always tangled around Queen's path.

Delilah and Ride The Wild Wind are another two sub par songs. Delilah is just ridiculous. Freddie dedicated the song to his cat (he loved cats and had plenty), so I won't say anything else. The nice sparkle is Brian's skilful "meaow" on guitar. Which I can't say about the other song which is some sort of ride, with sampled sound of racing car passing buy...so useless. Especially if we recall that during the A Night At The Opera period Brian did not need any recorded samples to make his axe roar like an engine.

I Can't Live With You is another bubblegum pop-rock tune without much common sense (and with stupid lyrics again), but this will probably appeal to an average QUEEN fan because it has that certain band's bravurosity. I like it, I have to admit.

All God's People touches the question of religion again, but not as a title song do; basically this is a soul song, and souls is a genre that band utilised rarely (Jesus, 1972, Somebody To Love, 1976, Soul Man, 1981, Breakthru, 1989, and several times in Freddie's solo career), but soul fits QUEEN nicely and this one is just a decent song.

These Are The Days Of Our Lives is slow-paced ballad, again with resemblance on (Freddie's) life and again with a hint of soul within. A bit tacky, poppish. I can't help myself but every time listening to this song (or simply seeing the title on a track list) I remember that Lisa Stansfield's interpretation...ugh. The less I say, the better.

Bijou is three-and-a-half minute long and it's beautiful. It's a closest thing to progressive rock after the title song. It's a lovely tapestry of Brian's guitar weepings layered together in pleasant atmospheres, with some nice chord progressions (and keyboards), but the song is, in my opinion, spoiled with two or three lines sung at the very end. The should have left it as an instrumental.

Finally, the grand finale: The Show Must Go On, borrowing the title (and, let's admit it, a few harmonies too) from the PINK FLOYD song, but everything else is pure QUEEN: a great song to close a great album and a career of a great band. Not prog, but who cares...powerful song, lyrics are shining again, music is great. I wish there's more songs around that are half as strong and crafted as this one.

A the end of the day (and, alas, the career) this is good album, far from perfect, with two or three great (or little) gems and majority of fillers. It's not great, but it's a good final chapter perfectly representing a turbulent career (and songwriting) of a unique band with all ups and downs, masterpieces, mediocrity, failures, experience, intelligence, wittiness. And eclecticism at first place. Thank you, Queen.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to clarke2001 (BETA) | Report this review (#141235)
Posted Sunday, September 30, 2007 | Review Permalink
ZowieZiggy
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars It has been a very painful experience to have reviewed Queen's work from "The Game" through "Hot Space". And the other albums from the eighties could really interest me. Just average, at best.

The first time I listened to "Innuendo" (the track), I couldn't believe my ears. This one was a song like they were used to write during their splendid early albums (up to "A Day At The Races"). There is even a rarity involved on this track. Steve Howe himself is playing the Spanish acoustic guitar. An excellent moment during this long number (for "Queen" standards). The return of the giant .rhapsody.

IMHHO, this song belongs to the great ones from the band. Oppressive beat, but since it was a tribute to "Kashmir" there is no wonder. One has to go back to "Death On Two Legs" from "A Night At The Opera" to find such a great opener. A highlight of course.

And even if "I'm Going Slightly Mad" hold more aspects from Bryan Ferry's work it is an enjoyable moment. The band also reverts to its great rocking style (even heavy in this case). "Headlong" is another good song featured on "Innuendo". It is so pleasant to listen to such a number after all those useless albums! Would have it been so simple and nice to release only songs as this one, instead of those horrible tracks for almost a decade!

But the great thing is that the band DID make a great come back. But several other bands did so : "Yes", "Kansas", the Heep, and Purple to name a few.

All of a sudden, these disgusting and synthetic sounds are gone. Some good and punchy songs as during their earlier releases is what you get here. Jump at ease into this album, It is such a rejuvenating experience for oldies as I am and probably a great discovery for newer generations. To finally (re) discover a great band is always a poignant adventure.

Freddie is particularly emotional during the nice ballad "Don't Try So Hard". How these guys managed to be so inspired all of a sudden is really wonderful. But all knew of course that this one would be the last true "Queen" album. Just like Led Zep couldn't be Led Zep any longer after Bonham's death, "Queen" couldn't be "Queen" after Freddie's farewell.

To believe that only two years separates "Innuendo" from "the Miracle" is quite unbelievable (but almost the same applied between "A Day." and "The Game", but on the reverse side).

The very dynamic and melodic "Ride The Wild Wind" is probably the more electro pop one of this offering, but so much better than all their crappy tunes from the eighties. I can't help to find some optimism in such a song, which should have contrasted with the atmosphere felt during these recordings.

There won't be twelve masterpieces on this album of course, but these vocals arrangements on the average "All Gods People" would have been more than welcome on any of their previous six studio albums. And we get the usual "Queen" ballad (but written by Rodger). The video for this track is the last appearance from Freddie.

Maybe it is emotion, but I can't help! Even a simplistic song as "Delilah" is able to raise it substantially on my side when I listen to it. But I understand that very few people should feel the same. Circumstances, I guess.

Having reviewed all of their albums, I have a mixed feeling about their work as a whole. I have been rather harsh on most of their eighties work, but this band has procured me so much joy during the early mid seventies that to listen to such a work is just an enchantment to my ears.

Some more heavy beats with "Hitman" and I will just tell you that "Bijou" means jewel in French. When you have listened to the superb guitar intro, you understand why.The song is truly atmospheric, almost progressive, my friends. Un bijou, indeed.

Did you say passionate, emotional, thrilling, wonderful, grandiose? Did you say "The Show Must Go On"? I just love this song and it leaves me speechless. Each time I listen to it. A fantastic song. So intimately linked with the last days of the band. I can't imagine how difficult it should have been to record such a song at this time of their career. Fabulous. But the show will stop, unfortunately.

This album is on par with their first five ones. I am rating this album with four stars, and yes : there will be definitely half more added when available. Purely on the sentimental fibre.

Thanks a lot Freddie, Brian, Roger and John. Your contribution to rock music has been immense. And you will never disappear from my heart.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to ZowieZiggy (BETA) | Report this review (#160967)
Posted Tuesday, February 05, 2008 | Review Permalink
4 stars Queen's swan song is certainly a great album, I'd like to give it 4.5 but I can't and I'm not going to call it a MASTERPIECE of progressive music, but it certainly is a must own for fans of the band and fans of classic rock in general.

The opener Innuendo is brilliant and brings back the epic, bombastic Queen sound from the 70s (with a nice contribution from Mr. Steve Howe). The next couple were two of the singles of the album, I'm Going Slightly Mad being a portrait of the dying Mercury's state of mind at the time. The next song, I Can't Live With You is quintessential Brian May, and it absolutely rocks... I love this track. Don't Try So Hard is a gorgeous ballad by Freddie, carried by the amazing vocals that you wouldn't expect from a dying man. The next two are okay songs, but the 8th track is a masterpiece. These Are The Days Of Our Lives is one of the most tear jerking moments in rock, and is Queen and Freddie's goodbye to the world. Really a moving a brilliant track. The next is a throw away track written by Freddie about his cat, followed by two rocking tracks, the former being a decent attempt at the 70s rock sound, the latter, Bijou being much better. The album, and the band's career are wrapped up in the epic, inspiring, and gut wrenching The Show Must Go On... an absolutely brilliant Queen rocker that's wraps everything up nicely.

There you go, a bunch of really good rock songs with a few absolute classics mixed in... and quite emotional and inspiring at times considering what the band and Freddie were going through at the time. Highly recommended, and MUCH, MUCH better than the band's output in the 80s.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to SilverEclipse (BETA) | Report this review (#165546)
Posted Wednesday, April 02, 2008 | Review Permalink
poslednijat_colobar
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars Great album! One of Queen's best works. It contains some of band's best songs, including the homonimous Innuendo and Show Must Go on. Actually, this is not progressive rock album at all, but it's something special indeed. The unique is that this album is requiem by Freddie Mercury dedicated to himself and his legacy. His last artistic whisper to the world and he knеw that. He had endeavour to create supreme work. The whole album carries the forthcoming grief. Innuendo is full of melancholic feelings and is trying to explain the matters of life. Innuendo is Freddie's last advises to the world and his bandmates. He described his life and his most important moments. Highly recommended for emocional music lovers!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to poslednijat_colobar (BETA) | Report this review (#178415)
Posted Tuesday, July 29, 2008 | Review Permalink
SouthSideoftheSky
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Symphonic Team
4 stars The show must go on

Innuendo is a very special album for me for many reasons. Firstly, it is the strongest Queen album since A Night At The Opera, released about 15 years earlier! The title track is the first truly progressive song Queen did since Bohemian Rhapsody and The Prophet's Song from that same 1975 album. Innuendo, the song, is a masterpiece of progressive rock with amazing acoustic and electric guitar work by the great Brian May. The incredible Flamenco style acoustic middle-section also features a guest appearance of Steve Howe. Since May and Howe are two of my favourite guitarists of all time it is very special for me to hear the two of them playing together. The theme introduced by the Spanish guitars is then repeated on electric guitar accompanied by some of the best drumming of Roger Taylor. This part of the song is perhaps the closest Queen ever got to metal music. The contrast between the Spanish guitars and the fast-paced section that follows it is one of my favourite Queen moments and makes Innuendo one of my favourite songs ever!

The rest of the songs sadly do not have the same strong drumming, but a rather synthetic sound more in line with the 80's releases. But this is counterbalanced by Brian's incredible guitar solos that save every song. Even the least interesting songs are graced by excellent melodic guitar solos that make you want to play air-guitar. This album is possibly Brian's finest hour.

If I'm not mistaken the artist who made the great cover art work for Innuendo is the same one who did the cover art for Genesis Trick Of The Tale album. The art fits the music well and it is perhaps the best cover art ever to grace a Queen album, at least since the 70's.

Yet another reason this album is very special is, of course, that it is the last one they could ever do. You all know the tragic story of Freddie's illness. It is amazing that they were able to make this album with the knowledge that very soon Freddie was not going to be there any more. The lyrics strongly reflect this sad situation and make Innuendo the most emotional album that I have ever heard. The Show Must Go On is extremely telling and one of the most moving moments in rock history.

As you probably see this album is one of my personal favourites and I consider it an essential Prog related album. But only the title track and The Show Must Go On are of masterpiece rank.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to SouthSideoftheSky (BETA) | Report this review (#211723)
Posted Sunday, April 19, 2009 | Review Permalink
4 stars Innuendo, Innuendo, how much I like you ... 'Innuendo' is essential song. And this lyrics ... 'surrender your ego be free to yourself...' And nice spanish-sound guitar. But this is not Brian, it's Steve. It's a pity. I think that Brian will make it. But don't worry, let's go to some more important things than spanish guitars :-) But some songs don't apostrophize me at all. Like 'All God's People'. Or 'Delilah'. First named songs is for me so ... un-rock. Sorry, but this is some of newest gospels. 'Delilah' is kinda better, but it's out-of-the-way for my ears. Have you ever talked with Delilah, if she liked this songs? I know that it was one of Freddie's cat, so she can't speak, but ... oh god, what I'm saing, I must review album, not speak to some cat. And I can't forget on 'Bijou'. It's greatest bijou which I ever heard or worn. Really. Why we haven't more songs like 'Bijou'? 'The Show Must Go On' is very straight song. In early childhood I hated it. I took it like some requiem. But now are things changed. I like it. Very much. This song has bring me up when I'm at bottom. For this time, 4,5 *. You really got me, boys.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Colourful (BETA) | Report this review (#228511)
Posted Sunday, July 26, 2009 | Review Permalink
The Truth
COLLABORATOR
Post/Math Rock Team
5 stars What an album! Freddie Mercury is on the verge of death, and yet he has time to bring back the Queen sound of old and put it into this album! All of the raw emotion can definately be heard when listening especially in the pure classics Innuendo and The Show Must Go On, but also in lesser known songs like Don't Try So Hard and Bijou. He still manages to show some humor in I'm Going Slightly Mad which is definately a highlight! When listening to the album though, I'm overcome with a feeling of sadness, because I know this was Freddie saying goodbye to the world. He tries to stay strong with inspirational tracks like These Are the Days of Our Lives and All Gods People but the sadness always is there. The title track is a modern day Bohemian Rhapsody (I love the flamenco guitar solo (played by Steve Howe!) and the same solo played on electric after a short bridge,) it's just Queen at their songwriting best. Great way to end it Freddie! You will not be forgotten!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to The Truth (BETA) | Report this review (#230699)
Posted Sunday, August 09, 2009 | Review Permalink
5 stars Innuendo is possibly one of my favourite albums from Queen, besides being Freddy Mercury's last vocal legacy in life. This record has a serious collection of potential hit songs from the British act, in fact, I think there's a lot of musical progression that is oriented to different styles but holding an unique trademark, Queen's authentic sound (that always was a constant characteristic on their albums).

Personally, I consider "Innuendo" as an absolute masterpiece of rock that shows in any moment all the power, versatility, high quality and mostly the infinite musical talent from all and each one of its components. This work is suggested for any lover of well done music that likes not only from Queen's stuff but also of the combination of textures, styles, technique distributed wisely and a real sense of how to build interesting pieces of music, everything what you could find in a solid prog album.

In relation to the tracks, I love the guitar section "in a flamenco way" on "Innuendo", it's simply exquisite. Other songs to mention are: "Headlong" (I always enjoy this kind of song, in a hard rock way and totally recommended), "Don't try so hard" (a track loaded of sadness and hopeless on lyrics), "These are the days of our lives" (another really touching song), "Hitman" (a fist for the senses, like on Queen's old times. Great tune!) and last but not least "The show must go on" (the authentic hymn from Innuendo, no words to describe it... a farewell turned in a song).

A true classic album, not only of Queen but also from progressive music and rock in general. I recommend it to be enjoyed from beginning to the end.

By: Epsilon.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Epsilon (BETA) | Report this review (#232508)
Posted Wednesday, August 19, 2009 | Review Permalink
TGM: Orb
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars Innuendo, Queen, 1990

I have to admit, as an at best partial devotee of Queen, Innuendo was basically a blind selection (I was completely unaware of the background, or how respected it was)... saw it in a store, picked it up. I also have to admit it's probably got more good songs on it than any album from 1990 has a right to. It being Queen, the vocals, guitar-work and most of the basic melodies are top notch, there are interesting ideas all around. It being Queen, the more meaningful the lyrics are trying to be, the more they annoy me. But there's a flaw I wouldn't have attributed to the other Queen material I've heard (Greatest Hits 1,2, 3, Queens I+II)... just about anywhere that something is repeated or not a lot is happening, something (generally a nonsense sound) is thrown in, even if a tasteful rest would have been fine. Most of said somethings are entirely unimpressive. Still, a good album, even if I can't help feeling that with a little less superfluous polish, the real qualities of the album would shine through far more.

Innuendo is big. Not only does it last about six and a half minutes, throw in surprisingly hard guitar tones and include the most rough and belting vocals of the album, it also features militaristic drumming and a damn flamenco interlude (courtesy of Steve Howe). OK, the lyrics aren't great, the drumming is a bit too lethargic for me, and a more defined set of keys wouldn't hurt but any song with that great a trio of guitar solos (May's reprise of Howe's flamenco theme is just amazing) is at least a minor classic.

Kicking onwards, pop song 1: I'm Going Slightly Mad is a wonderfully crazy little pop number, complemented by a rather odd synth atmosphere, some weird and wonderful guitar tweaks and an exceptional warped cabaret-sounding Mercury vocal. Headlong is a lot heavier, doesn't quite manage the same atmospheric pull, the major highlight is the trippy synth part in the instrumental break... the piece seems to be padded a bit beyond its potential, but it's still a fun song.

I Can't Live With You... well, no idea how to classify this one, Mercury's vocal twists and turns like a twisty turny thing and it is just perfect. It sort of seems to alternate between a darker bluesy part and a pop  chorus and then a slightly queasy set of guitar solos. A reserved yes. Don't Try So Hard is a fairly bland bit of Mercury pseudo-preaching which slips into the unbearably dim category... musically speaking, the verses are basically nice with a charming little guitar bit, smooth synths and a lush vocal, while the choruses/verse extensions are basically cheap and tacky. A reserved no.

And onto rock song 2: Ride The Wild Wind, which alternates between basically asinine and insanely cool... the driving main rhythm, the vocal twists at the end of that basically daft chorus are delicious, the guitar soloing is great. I'd guess I like the good bits just about enough to forgive how long the bad bits go on. All God's People, On The Other Hand, is a soul-based track, which seems to assume you'll be wowed enough by May pulling out his trademark guitar sound and Mercury's vocal to forgive the limp harmonies and rather odious backbone of the song. Have to admit I'm a bit fonder of the heavier bits, but still, I can certainly live without this one. These Are The Days Of Our Lives is a rather better soft piece constructed around a worldy set of percussion, and the lyrics aren't trying so hard and prove much more simply touching. May's guitar parts are just gorgeous here.

Delilah is basically daft. I think you can't make a great song out of one guitar-miaow. Cute as the whole cat theme is, it remains a silly song. But still, a fairly nice silly song. I just find it difficult to be angry at a song about cats. We are a cat person.

Huzzah, now, Hitman. A surprisingly cutting guitar riff, which can basically hold up the song alone in combination with the neat mass vocal chorus. Well, I don't feel the vocal is the album's most creative, but it fits it nicely, and there isn't all that much diversity, but it doesn't really hurt it.

And even better, Bijou, which is basically a gorgeous May solo thrown over some very loose keyboard chords, plus a short and sweet vocal. Just about perfect. But even better, now, what we've all been waiting for, easily, easily the album's best song: The Show Must Go On. Haunting, dark vocals, precise fills and bass parts, an array of menacing synthesisers, weeping, but tremendously potent guitar... an entirely appropriate set of lyrics... it's simply an incredible song.

So, a variety of stuff, both in style and quality, and while there are a few things about Queen in general and this album in particular that annoy me, it's still generally very strong, and for the last two songs alone deserves a comfortable three stars. An altogether good album, and, even if you wouldn't consider yourself a big Queen fan (I don't), you could do worse than picking up Innuendo. Rating: Three Stars, 10/15 or so Favourite Track: The Show Must Go On

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to TGM: Orb (BETA) | Report this review (#238091)
Posted Tuesday, September 08, 2009 | Review Permalink
Rune2000
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Prog Metal Team
3 stars I've only heard this album recently after hearing the track Innuendo on a compilation album Greatest Hits II. Since I've totally ignored most of Queen's '80s output except for the hits from the compilations here and there I had no real expectations when listening to this album for the first time.

To tell you the truth I was pleasantly surprised by the production. With the exception of a typical rock tune here and there the rest of the album was a comeback to the "Sheer Heart Attack"-formula. Unfortunately this time around there were a lot more weak tracks in comparison to the highlights which is mainly because Queen haven't really left their '80s sound. The drums and bass sound very dated compared to what was typical of the early '90s production.

All in all, Innuendo might not be the comeback many people give it credit for but it's definitely a nice to see the band try to do something creative after a whole decade of decadence. A perfect example of a good but non-essential album!

***** star songs: Show Must Go On (4:32)

**** star songs: Innuendo (6:31) I'm Going Slightly Mad (4:22) Don't Try So Hard (3:38) All God's People (4:21) These Are the Days Of Our Lives (4:15) Delilah (3:35) Bijou (3:36)

*** star songs: Headlong (4:38) I Can't Live With You (4:33) Ride The Wild Wind (4:42) Hitman (4:56)

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Rune2000 (BETA) | Report this review (#262329)
Posted Sunday, January 24, 2010 | Review Permalink
Evolver
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Crossover & JazzRock/Fusion Teams
3 stars It is a shame that for Queen to return to making any progressive rock at all, Freddie Mercury had to be on his deathbed. Tales of Mercury's heroic efforts to overcome his terminal illness and record one last album are inspiring. And surprisingly, his voice sounds quite good throughout the album.

The album opens and closes with the most progessive songs, as well as the most progressive music Queen had recorded in over a decade. Innuendo opens the album with a hint of the darkness that once made the early Queen albums so enjoyable. Brian May plays spectacularly on this track (as he does on most of the album - check out his guitar- based cat noises on Delilah), and Yes' Steve Howe even makes a cameo.

I'M Going Slightly Mad is more basic, but the synthesizer (*gasp*) backing gives it an eerie feel.

The middle of the album is standard 80's Queen fare, a mixture of romantic pop and harder rock pieces. The impending doom of the singer, however, gives the songs a little more poignancy.

Bijou is primarily a guitar piece, and a very nice one at that, which leads into The Show Must Go On, which again, because of Mercury's condition, had added meaning.

Not a masterpiece, but this was a good farewell album from a once great band.

(Let's hope they don't regroup with a singer with very little range...)

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Evolver (BETA) | Report this review (#353489)
Posted Wednesday, December 15, 2010 | Review Permalink
2 stars Innuendo ? 1991 (2/5) a solid 2 for once! 8 ? Best Song: Innuendo

As with all returns to the salts of the earth, indebted to the more open minded nature of the 1990's, we arrive back where we began. I'm typing here, and it's inessential. My thoughts and feelings on popular music are fairly inconsequential. It doesn't matter if I like Innuendo more than A Kind of Magic or Miracle, but still think all three suck far too much to be actually worth listening to. They took the last gasp of life in Freddie Mercury and released the most serious and 'important' album fo their entire careers, which is to say hardly meaningful at all. They tackle racism like it were a Hispanic mother calling an African American batter the 'N' word at a major league baseball game ? like some silly hallucination we've been experiencing for a few weeks and it'll all go away once the lawsuits and media coverage stops to a halt.

At the very least they're giving May a bigger hand in things, leading to a few good moments on the album that don't totally piss me off. In all, though, the title track is possibly the angriest thing Queen has ever been responsible. The rest of the songs take the aesthetic facets to Queen and apply them to more modern techniques, just like every other era of Queen. 'I Can't Live With You' is plaintively saddening. This is what they've become, a melodically derailed pop rock band without any damned vision? It's painfully generic, and I can't [%*!#]ing stand the boring loop groove of 'Delilah'. Take it from me and leave the legacy back before 1981. It's diverse, and 'Hitman' rocks like a beast, but being diverse at this stage is just layman's terms for 'sucking in multiple ways'.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Alitare (BETA) | Report this review (#445886)
Posted Wednesday, May 11, 2011 | Review Permalink
Buh
4 stars Queen's last album during Freddie's life is often considered one of their best, and while it is highly enjoyable, they definitely have better than this. For prog rock lovers, the opening track "Innuendo" is very proggy, and my favorite of the album. Great melody, guitars and vocals, and the middle section is really great. Kind of a return to the Bohemian Rhapsody/Prophet's Song style of songwriting. For their first seven albums, Queen didn't use synthesizers, because they wanted to use guitars, piano, bass, drums and vocals to make the noises they wanted. Starting with "The Game", they started on the synths, and one of my problems with this album is that it's too synth heavy, and when the synths are used, they are usually used to fill out the sound of the songs, and are unnecessary here mostly.

As far as the songs go, they're mostly good. "Bijou" is a gorgeous piece penned by Freddie Mercury and guitarist Brian May, that just has a wonderful guitar melody, written as an inside out song, with guitars on the whole song, and a sung middle eight. "Don't Try So Hard" is another gem here with a nice melody and very strong vocals, especially when going up high. Other good tracks here include "The Show Must Go On", "All God's People", "The Hitman" and a few others. The worst track here is the horribly cheesy "Delilah", but if you skip it, the rest of the album's pretty solid. I'd give it around a "B-".

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Buh (BETA) | Report this review (#457993)
Posted Tuesday, June 07, 2011 | Review Permalink
4 stars 8/10

The show must go on.

I wonder how a guy dying like Freddie could still sing with such intensity as here, Innuendo. Gotta be honest: I believe this is the best performance in his entire career. Consicęncia Perhaps because of its inevitable and tragic end led him to give his best, and the result is one of the best Queen in her last days.

Ok, there are a number of pop material here that can divide listeners. For example, Delilah. I do not know if I laugh or cry with this song, because it is so tacky ... Freddie wrote it for her cat, but Taylor refused to run it - and I do not shoot your reason! Admittedly, those "meows ..." really are clueless! Other songs are disposable for I Can not Live With You, and Ride the Wild Wind.

Now for the rest ... I can not complain. The four members were more aware than ever of the weakness of Freddie and a need to return to the roots, and while you will not hear a A Night at the Opera Part II can say they came near. Innuendo is by far the heaviest album the band's most progressive and out of the 70s. The title track is a masterpiece in six minutes (one of the longest they made ​​up) and has a more special that Steve Howe on guitar flamenco! What a way to start the album, you really feel you went back to the first records the band!

What follows is a nice mix of songs of a commercial nature but with the soul within them. I'm Going Slightly Mad is a delicious pop-psychedelia of bizarreness with slide-guitar (pity that its hilarious clip ever show us the weakness of Freddie) and songs like The Hitman Headlong and reinforce the heavy side of the band - especially The Hitman , which is probably one of the most amazing songs and heavy that they have already given us. There is the presence of a crossover between African music and gospel (All God's People), beautiful ballads (Do not Try So Hard, There Are The Days of Our Lives and Bijou) and a monstrous epic that seals wonderfully entire legacy the band in those twenty years down the road (the Show Must Go On).

Yeah, I know it's sad to give a farewell to one of the biggest bands on the planet that way. But Innuendo was the trump card of the Queen and they did not disappoint. And today you know who they are, their music. I am grateful to have met a band that went beyond clips of success, which gave us music with passion and quality as a few in history who offered. And all I can say is: Thank you Freddie Mercury (aka Farrok Bulsara), Brian May, Roger Taylor and John Deacon. Thanks for being one of the biggest bands on the planet.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to voliveira (BETA) | Report this review (#747748)
Posted Wednesday, May 02, 2012 | Review Permalink
b_olariu
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars Innuendo from 1991 is not only last album of this legendary band but in same time one of their most acomplished works from their catalogue, going hand in hand with their best works from the '70s. Even Mercury health was very very poor , he manage to pull some of his best moments on this release, the vocal lines are truly excellent on many passages. May guitar never sounded better since glory days, the bass of Decon are great and very expresive, Taylor drums are very consistent all in all a very strong farewell from mighty Queen. There are some outstanding moments like Innuendo, Ride the Wild Wind , Show Must Go On and my personal fav pieces from the album and among my fav Queen pieces ever the smooth and elegant Bijou, the very expresive I'm Going Slightly Mad and the very sad but beautiful These Are the Days of Our Lives this pieces gives me shivers down the spine every time I've listing to them. A very worthy release that stands the test of time very well, is like the last hurrah of one of the most well known if not the most well known band in rock history. Easy 4 stars and recommended, if there is someone who don't know this release already.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to b_olariu (BETA) | Report this review (#1009411)
Posted Thursday, August 01, 2013 | Review Permalink

QUEEN Innuendo ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of QUEEN Innuendo


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.52 seconds