Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Symphonic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Transatlantic Bridge Across Forever - The Limited Edition album cover
4.13 | 93 ratings | 4 reviews | 68% 5 stars

Excellent addition to any
prog rock music collection

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2001

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Duel With The Devil (26:43) :
- i) Motherless Children
- ii) Walk Away
- iii) Silence of the Night
- iv) You're Not Alone
- v) Almost Home
2. Suite Charlotte Pike (14:30) :
- i) If She Runs
- ii) Mr. Wonderful
- iii) Lost and Found pt. 1
- iv) Temple of the Gods
- v) Motherless Children / If She Runs (reprise)
3. Bridge Across Forever (5:33)
4. Stranger In Your Soul (26:05) :
- i) Sleeping Wide Awake
- ii) Hanging in the Balance
- iii) Lost and Found pt. 2
- iv) Awakening the Stranger
- v) Slide
- vi) Stranger In Your Soul

Total Time 72:51

Bonus Disc from Special Edition (covers, demos and multimedia):
1. Shine On You Crazy Diamond (15:27)
2. Studio chat (4:50)
3. And I Love Her (7:53)
4. Smoke On The Water (4:20)
5. Dance With The Devil (9:01)
6. Roine's demo bits (11:58)
7. Interactive section (Video, Photos & Bio)

Total Time 53:29

Line-up / Musicians

- Neal Morse / vocals, piano, Hammond, Minimoog, Fender Rhodes, synth, addit. guitars, mandolin
- Roine Stolt / electric & acoustic guitars, Mellotron, additional keyboards, percussion, vocals
- Pete Trewavas / bass, Taurus bass pedals, vocals
- Mike Portnoy / drums, vocals

- Chris Carmichael / violin, viola & cello (1,4)
- Keith Mears / saxophone (1)
- The "Elite" choir / backing vocals (1)

Releases information


Artwork: Per Nordin (blimp) with Roine Stolt (logo)

2xCD Inside Out ‎- IOMLTDCD 086 (2001, Europe) Limited edition w/ bonus Enhanced CD

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy TRANSATLANTIC Bridge Across Forever - The Limited Edition Music

TRANSATLANTIC Bridge Across Forever - The Limited Edition ratings distribution

(93 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(68%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(20%)
Good, but non-essential (9%)
Collectors/fans only (3%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

TRANSATLANTIC Bridge Across Forever - The Limited Edition reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by diddy
3 stars O.k. I bought the limited edition because I heard 'Roine's Demo Bits' very often on Delicious Agony (Prog Rock radio station) and considered it very good. Now, heard the whole Bonus CD I can say that it is very interesting. We have a very good Cover version of Pink Floyd's 'Shine on you Crazy Diamond', a funny studio chat where the guys discuss how a part should sound like and a very cool version of 'and I love her' originally a Beatles Song...but you can't hear them sing because it was played spontaneously and by the way recorded nobody thought that it will become a track on the bonus dics...same with 'smoke on the water'...all guys played different instruments...Mike Portnoy on Bass, Neal Morse on Drums and so on, really funny... 'Dace with the Devil' and 'Roines Demo Bits' are demos or parts of the songs you hear on the album...but this are very early versions and you can hear the difference. On your PC you can see a movie that shows the guys in Neal Morse's house rehearsing and writing a song, interesting... If you want to buy 'Bridge across forever' I would recomment to buy the limited edition because you get some interesting stuff AND very good music, not 'just' very good music ;)
Review by Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
3 stars Great album, but is the bonus material worth it?

I've posted a review of the standard edition of this album separately, so I won't repeat it here except to say that it is indeed an excellent piece of work.

The limited edition version comes in a luxurious hardback digipak sleeve, the sort Inside Out Records does so well, and containing a well illustrated and informative booklet.

It also includes a second disc, with an enhanced section and six additional tracks. The cover version of Pink Floyd's "Shine on you crazy diamond" (an edited version of both side one and two of " Wish you were here") is pretty faithful to the original, except that organ replaces guitar for one solo.

After five minutes of superfluous studio chat, an eight minute rendition of the Beatles "And I love her" emerges. It's a bit hard to spot the actual tune, submerged as it is in a lounge jazz piano mood. Deep Purple's "Smoke on the water" is a more faithful rendition, but still little more than a studio playtime, with the band members swapping instruments for the run through. The version of "Dance with the devil" is Morse's demo of what went on to become track one of the album, complete with ELP type keyboards. "Roines demo bit's" is just that, interesting for one listen, but hardly essential. The interactive section has good footage of the band at work, very much a "making of" with which we are all becoming so familiar these days with the advent of DVD extras.

It's just a bit sad that already it stands as a historical document.

Latest members reviews

4 stars as a daily album seeker ive came across this album while searching for some symphonic prog rock album. and ho my what have i came across. at first i was like ok... and then the first song hit me. the music is very intresting and considering i listen to alot of symphonic prog prock it is not oft ... (read more)

Report this review (#2869750) | Posted by Shaxy | Thursday, December 22, 2022 | Review Permanlink

5 stars this album is a masterpiece through and through!!!!....transatlantic music bring out the BEST in EACH members song writing ability, their technical ability, and their ability to just simply make classic music without a single second of time wasted within any given song.....the first track is t ... (read more)

Report this review (#260993) | Posted by EVE123 | Friday, January 15, 2010 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of TRANSATLANTIC "Bridge Across Forever - The Limited Edition"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.