Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Jethro Tull

Prog Folk

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Jethro Tull War Child - The 40th Anniversary Theatre Edition album cover
4.69 | 58 ratings | 1 reviews | 78% 5 stars

Essential: a masterpiece of
progressive rock music

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2014

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD 1 - War Child (A new Steven Wilson stereo mix)

1. War Child (4:38)
2. Queen and Country (3:01)
3. Ladies (3:19)
4. Back-door Angels (5:27)
5. Sea Lion (4:42)
6. Skating Away on the Thin Ice of the New Day (4:12)
7. Bungle in the Jungle (3:41)
8. Only Solitaire (1:31)
9. The Third Hoorah (4:53)
10. Two Fingers (5:08)

Total Time 39:27

CD 2 - The Second Act
Associated Recordings
Tracks 1-15: A new Steven Wilson stereo remix
Tracks 16-21: Mixed to stereo in 1974 by Robin Black

1. Paradise Steakhouse (4:01)
2. Saturation (4:20)
3. Good Godmother+ (4:27)
4. Sea Lion II (3:20)
5. Quartet (2:43)
6. War Child II+ (3:14)
7. Tomorrow Was Today+ (3:54)
8. Glory Row (3:34)
9. March, The Mad Scientist (1:49)
10. Rainbow Blues (3:38)
11. Pan Dance (3:37)
(+ previously unreleased)

War Child Orchestral Recordings
(All previously unreleased except *)

12. The War Child Orchestral Theme (9:34)
13. The Third Hoorah (4:47)
14. Mime Sequence (7:08)
15. Field Dance (1:41)
16. Waltz Of The Angels* (4:23)
17. The Beach (Part I) (3:20)
18. The Beach (Part II) (1:01)
19. Waltz Of The Angels (4:02)
20. The Beach (2:41)
21. Field Dance (1:05)

(13 - Orchestral Version)
(15 & 16 - Conway Hall Versions)
(17 & 18 - Morgan Master Recordings)
(19, 20 & 21 - Morgan Demo Recordings)

Total Time 78:10

DVD 1 (Audio & Video)

Contains: War Child remixed in 5.1 surround and presented in DTS 96/24 and AC3 Dolby Digital, and 96/24 LPCM stereo. A flat transfer from the original 1974 LP master in 96/24 LPCM stereo. A flat transfer of the original 1974 Quad LP (with additionally "Glory Row" & "March, The Mad Scientist") in DTS 96/24 5.1 (4.0) and AC3 Dolby Digital surround sound. Video Clips of a Montreux photo session and press conference on 11th January 1974, and "The Third Hoorah" promo footage with remixed stereo audio.

DVD 2 (Audio)

Contains: An additional eleven group recordings from the War Child sessions and later, including 3 previously unreleased tracks, and 4 orchestral recordings from the War Child sessions, remixed in 5.1 surround and presented in DTS 96/24 and AC3 Dolby Digital, and 96/24 LPCM stereo. Six additional orchestral recordings (five previously unreleased) mixed by Robin Black in 1974, in 96/24 LPCM stereo.

Line-up / Musicians

- Ian Anderson / Vocals, flute, acoustic guitar, alto, soprano and sopranino saxophones
- Martin Barre / Electric and Spanish guitars
-John Evans (Evan) / Organ, piano, synthesizers and piano accordion
-Jeffrey Hammond (Hammond-Hammond) / Bass guitar and string bass
-Barrie (Barriemore) Barlow / Drums, glockenspiel, marimba and sundry percussion devices

Releases information

Highlights from the set include:
- Original album and bonus tracks (three previously unreleased), remixed in 5.1 surround and stereo by Steven Wilson.
- 10 orchestral pieces (nine previously unreleased) written for the film s soundtrack, 4 of which are remixed in 5.1 surround and stereo by Steven Wilson.
- Flat transfers of the original LP mix at 96/24, and the quadraphonic version (with 2 bonus tracks) in 4.0.
- The Third Hoorah promo footage, and footage from a January 1974 photo session/press conference where the WarChild project was announced.
- An 80-page booklet featuring an extensive history of the project, a film script synopsis, track-by-track annotations by Ian Anderson, plus rare and unseen photographs.

Thanks to progfan1124 for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy JETHRO TULL War Child - The 40th Anniversary Theatre Edition Music

JETHRO TULL War Child - The 40th Anniversary Theatre Edition ratings distribution

(58 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(78%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(12%)
Good, but non-essential (7%)
Collectors/fans only (3%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

JETHRO TULL War Child - The 40th Anniversary Theatre Edition reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings
No collaborator/experts review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Latest members reviews

5 stars A much better representation of Tull in 1974 than the album suggests. Ian had the idea of making a soundtrack for a movie as well as being affected by critics comments of A passion play. This resulted in a more commercial sounding album which didn't feel like the usual Tull album. Some strong materi ... (read more)

Report this review (#1846823) | Posted by dr prog | Thursday, December 28, 2017 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of JETHRO TULL "War Child - The 40th Anniversary Theatre Edition"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.