Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


The Pineapple Thief

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

The Pineapple Thief 12 Stories Down album cover
2.58 | 68 ratings | 3 reviews | 9% 5 stars

Good, but non-essential

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2004

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Prey For Me (6:54)
2. It's You And Me (4:54)
3. The World I Always Dreamed Of (6:31)
4. Oblivion (3:40)
5. From Where You're Standing (4:02)
6. Slip Away (8:07)
7. Watch The World (Turn Grey) (3:40)
8. Clapham (4:30)
9. Catch The Jumping Fool (6:28)
10. Start Your Descent (3:49)
11. Take Our Hands (8:34)
12. The Answers (5:51)

Total time 67:05

Bonus Disc from 2004 SE - 8 Days Later:
1. 8 Days Later (58:28) :
- a) Sunday: Crash (6:24)
- b) Monday: Sleep (5:25)
- c) Tuesday: Haboob (9:08)
- d) Wednesday: The Snail Song (8:33)
- e) Thursday: Fifty Four (7:00)
- f) Friday: 5 Minutes (5:13)
- g) Saturday: Reverse (8:24)
- h)) Sunday: King Street (8:30)
2. Who Will Be There? (4:35)
3. Wretched Soul (5:05)
4. I Will Light Up Your Eyes (3:41)

Total time 71:59

Line-up / Musicians

- Bruce Soord / vocals, guitars, keyboards, arranger
- Wayne Higgins / guitars, backing vocals
- Matt O'Leary / keyboards, cowbell
- Jon Sykes / bass, backing vocals
- Keith Harrison / drums, cymbals, backing vocals

- Richard Hunt / violin (1,3,10,12)
- Libby Bramley / backing vocals (3,7,12)
- Wayne Duncan / drums (6)
- Will Tores / drone (9)
- Steve Brock / acoustic guitar (2.1a)
- Jim Brooks / acoustic guitar (2.1e)

Releases information

A limited edition of unmastered mixes of most of the songs that would appear on "10 Stories Down"

Artwork: Mark Davies

2xCD Cyclops ‎- CYCLUB 012 (2004, UK) Bonus disc "8 Days Later" ( recorded and mixed in 8 days, and use ambient sounds from in and around the studio)

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy THE PINEAPPLE THIEF 12 Stories Down Music

THE PINEAPPLE THIEF 12 Stories Down ratings distribution

(68 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(9%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(21%)
Good, but non-essential (49%)
Collectors/fans only (18%)
Poor. Only for completionists (4%)

THE PINEAPPLE THIEF 12 Stories Down reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by diddy
2 stars Maybe it was conceivable but I like to express my sincere condolences to the death of Pineapple Thief's last prog influences. The new Album "12 stories down" - which I pre ordered as a special edition because I was quite excited about it - features even less prog ingredients than it's antecessors, in actual fact not any. Even the mellotron is gone completely. Bruce Soord concentrates on, allowedly quite good, alternative/post rock riminiscent of former releases; with a pregnant discrepancy: he restricts to it. Whereas you could talk of slight prog influences on former releases such as "Variations on a dream" or "Abducting the unicorn" (some refused to look down on them as prog either, though) I eventually have to admit that "12 stories down" has no of these slight influences any longer.

But "12 stories down" is still a good album. Judged with different standpoints, ignoring prog, the album is absolutely felicitous. Something you like to listen to now and again, perfect for the car. I'd like to describe it with the term "slight fare"... I consider the bonus album "8 days later" to be even better. I would actually award the bonus album to be prog. It is much more diversified and provides explicitly more exciting compositions. "8 days later" is the second project of it's kind. The concept is that Bruce wrote it in just 8 days, just like "8 days", the first one.

I like to mention that I reviewed the limited edition which could be ordered at the homepage long before the official release. The official release will be remixed and contain less songs ( 4 in number) as you can read on the official homepage.

Two stars from the progressive point of view but definitely more in general. I like to add that I didn't incorporate the bonus album into my rating.

BTW - I wish you all the best for 2005!

Review by ZowieZiggy
2 stars This release is actually a collector item. The first CD is mostly represented with songs that are available on their ''10 Stories Down'' released a month later (some of them with another mix and different lyrics). This is why I will only describe the bonus CD as well as some tracks unavailable on their ''true'' effort.

As it is referenced to, this collector item is hardly impressive, unless you are a PTh frenetic. The second CD ''Eight Days Later'' was supposedly written, recorded and mixed in eight days just as the bonus disc ''Eight Days'' available on the special edition of ''Variations On A Dream''.

It mainly consists in instrumental and ambient music (''Monday August 9th'', ''Tuesday?) although the opener has more texture thanks to its vocal parts which offer a more classic PTh atmosphere while the acoustic and mellow ''Wednesday?'' is sweet, light and melancholic. But in the style, I far much prefer the nice rock ballad ''Friday?''. One of the best track IMO.

''Thursday'' starts with a harder angle, but ends up pretty much in the PT mood (I mean PT here). Repetitive riff, hypnotic beat before the last minute which is again full of wildness.

My favourite is the crescendo type ''Sunday?''. Since I quite like the crescendo structure, I am charmed by this track. Somewhat sad of course (but this a general remark for this work as a whole ? including ''12 Stories'').

The last three tracks from this CD are truly ''PTh'' compliant, especially ''Wretched Soul'' also present on their ''4 Stories Down'' EP. Actually, all these versions of this album makes it quite confusing. Too much is too much!

As an teaser, there is a cut-down version of ''Will Light Your Eyes'' as well. And to conclude, there are some unreleased tracks like ''Slip Away'', ''Watch The World'' or ''Catch The Jumping Fool''. Nothing from the other world, really. One good mention though for ''Take Our Hands''.

Two stars for this ultra long set.

Latest members reviews

1 stars Something has happened somewhere along the line to this band. I've enjoyed their work up to now immensely, I've liked their progressive / post rock / indie blendings on 137 and Variations On A Dream which were both great albums, but this time, they've stripped away almost all of the progress ... (read more)

Report this review (#47427) | Posted by | Tuesday, September 20, 2005 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of THE PINEAPPLE THIEF "12 Stories Down"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.